We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Au Diable Vert
Nearby Hotels
Auberge Sutton Brouerie(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Montagnard(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$240
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
61
42
22
32
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
42
22
32
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighland cattlecamping experiencefire pitbring your owntheir websitegreat trailsenjoy naturetreehousecampsitecowskayakingdogforestpodfoggearwinter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 179 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed in a mountain view suite in the fall. The suite had 2 bedrooms, a small living room and kitchen area. The kitchen area was decorated with taxidermy (a squirrel) and a moldy skull of a cow right over the stove. Not appetizing to say the least. There was no fireplace, no t.v. no bathtub, no radio and one of the bedrooms lacked curtains. The floor of the shower was not solid near the drain (i.e. rotting).

The owner was not particularly friendly, the parking area had huge potholes and the turnoff to the property is not paved and quite steep. We will not stay there again.

However, we loved the view and the surrounding area. They keep Highland cows on site which is interesting and there are lots of nature trails to explore for those who like to hike and those who bring their dogs. Better to camp there than rent a suite!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lottie543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuDiableVert, General Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Lottie543,

Thank you for taking the time to review our place. We are sorry to hear that you were missing amenities in your suite. The Jay Peak suite in which you stayed does only have a shower in the bathroom, but is preferred by our customers on their longer stays as it includes a washer and a dryer in the bathroom. both bedrooms do have sheers, but maybe you were lacking the heavier curtains that block out all light. The Jay Peak (as all other suites) does not have an open fireplace , but rather each is equipped with what they call a "foyer" which is essentially a wood or propane stove with a glass pane/door that allows you to enjoy the flames visually as well as the warmth. Jay Peak is the unit with a "foyer au propane" preferred by many guests who are a little allergic to wood fires.
As for the taxidermy, being a hunting and fishing lodge we do have rather a lot of it. The skull is actually moss covered (not moldy) and since its very old and dry there isn't really anything left to mold on it. Some people hate it - some people love it. Actually most of our taxidermy has a local wife banning it to the garage or attic and the proud owner bringing it to us for a more glorious second life.
Yes, no TV, no phone. We actually want you to leave it all behind and come and relax it our beautiful mountain domain. For those who absolutely cannot live without a connection to their busy lives, we do provide wireless internet. If you do bring your laptop and feel like a movie, just ask at reception for a list of our free rental DVDs.

So we hope we haven't put you off with our taxidermy and that you'll come back to enjoy the site again.....we'll be happy to treat you to a free SPA visit at SPA Bolton (spoil yourself a little).
and shhh! don't tell yet, but we are planning to put in an infinity pool next year exclusive use suites only.

Your Au Diable Vert team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Endroit paisible avec une vue sur les montagnes.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews