We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Outstanding”
Review of Capitaine Pouf

Capitaine Pouf
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not Outstanding”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We visited Capitaine Pouf recently and had the fish and chips. The meal was ok but not outstanding. The batter on the fish was a bit tasteless and greasy. The chips were cut too thinly and seemed soggy. As I say the food was ok but I have had better.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grumpytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    84
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SouthShore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly Summer Restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Food and service is OK - Live music is very good - Outdoor seating - Well located near the water

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthShore10-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST.Jean-sur-Richelieu
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you have had fish n chips in England. Then don't even think of going here. My wife and I went the chips were over cooked and cold and the fish was burnt. But it is always full of people. I guess quebecers think we english eat that crap they serve.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mellisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Jean sur Richelieu
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok Fish and chips”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Not a real traditional fish and chip place. A real fish and chip shop offers the original, halibut but they cook Haddock a fishy tasting lower quality substitute. They do not even offer Halibut!!!! Yes Halibut is more expensive but I have paid as much for it as this place does.The batter is not bad a little hard not as tasty as some beer battered ones. As I am spoiled being from Ontario where there are some of the best, that offer a choice it is palatable. Haven't been able to find a good one.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank greg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food, would recommend”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Good food, good service. We ate outside on the patio, with view of the river. Fish and chips were very good. Good beer!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XineF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitaine Pouf also viewed

Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec
 
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec
 
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec
 

Been to Capitaine Pouf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing