We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RATE SCAM - Charging extra for a more peaceful night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint Hyacinthe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hudson, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“RATE SCAM - Charging extra for a more peaceful night.”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I keep coming back to this page to check out the various comments Management keeps leaving.. Most of them say "We are working really hard to improve the noise". My response to that is, which is easier to move.. the Building, or Highway 20? neither have legs.

I checked in and I must say the staff is very friendly. English is a bit shaky for Americans, but I'm bilingual so it does not bother me. Breakfast was great, and this hotel was well on its way to getting 5 stars.

Here's were stuff got sour: I booked through the Iphone app and chose a standard room. once inside my room, I looked up online rates, And low and behold, to get a room facing the CITY SIDE (no noise) costs 10, 15 $ more. What a load of crap. That is perhaps the biggest admission that the hotel has a noise problem is when you charge 15$ more per night for a "City side room" I hate Rate scams. Anyone who follows my reviews knows the Comfort inn in Kanata pulled the same stunt, and will have forever lost my business.

I went down to address this issue with management in the morning, and as per usual, there was none on site. couldn't even produce a quasi-manager from the back.

So be warned, even though you read here... "We're working on a solution".. it seems like the solution is to charge a premium for the less noisy rooms rather then deal with the issue at hand. Avoid. Like I will from this point on. There's another hotel down the street

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_Ilaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristopher W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Kevin_Ilaqua

While we welcome all comments, I do believe that the term rate scam is somewhat harsh and unjust. While we do not deny that the highway side of our property is not best suited for very light sleepers, the number of great sleeps had in these rooms far outweighs the number of guests who did not have a comfortable night.

We do charge a 5.00$ premium for a city view room (added to our variable daily rate) as it also offers a more pleasant view and especially well suited for travellers spending long days working from their rooms and so on...

After verification, your booking did come in as a standard room and was upgraded to a business class room including the full glass shower, bathrobe and extra amenities, at a discounted AAA rate.

As previously mentioned, we continue to work towards finding the proper solution.

Thank you again for your comments and your business.


Kristopher Wekarchuk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    88
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
77
46
9
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and kids for one night while visiting the Granby Zoo (July 20th). The hotel is very nice and clean, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is the typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast. Other reviewers complained about the highway noise (and I had a room that faced the highway), however with the AC unit on all night I didn't hear the road noise at all.

This hotel is about a 35 minute drive from the Zoo, so keep that in mind if you're booking this hotel to visit the zoo.

The hotel is located next to a strip mall that has a couple of family restaurants including Scores. The hotel is also a 5 minute drive from grocery stores, restaurants and a shopping mall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRichOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nice looking and clean but the road noise if horrible, if you can't get a room facing away from the highway you're in for a bad night. You'll hear every truck/car/motorcycle driving up and down the 20. The white noise machine they have in the room doesn't drown it out either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear J D,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is disappointing you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience the highway noise caused you. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we are currently working on solutions to help our lighter-sleeping guests have a restful night with us. Your feedback is important to us, as it is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Level Contributor
454 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Convenient to major highway however extremely noisy. HI Express are generally located near major routes and we have never noticed the highway noise as we did at this hotel. There was a "white noise" machine near the bed - selection of ocean waves, bubbly brook etc so the noise is obviously an issue. Like many travelers, we were in transit so we only spent one night. Hotel is well located next to several restaurants and take out establishments within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Request room facing the parking lot rather than at the back facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hello HappyCanadian13!

A quick thank you for your comments - we appreciate all constructive critisism!

Fear not as we are currently working on solutions to help our lighter-sleeping guests have a restful night with us!

This being said, we are glad you nonetheless enjoyed our hotel and surronding facilities.

We hope to see you again!

Kristopher Wekarchuk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We recently had the chance to stay at this hotel the May long weekend. Amzing is the best way to describe it. The Halways were wide the rooms, a suite was excellent. My biggest fear was the language barrier. However this was not an issue at all. Although most of the staff spoke broken english they attempted to communicate with us and were very pleasant about it. Same goes for the Restaurants directly next door. THe only issue was that the kids had left some certificates that were earned in a tournament in the hotel. We did call the hotel the next day and they were able to find theM...However we were told that the policy was not to mail out anything to guests. THis was a littrle disappointing as the certificates we special to the kids.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

3 of us stayed at this well-appointed and immaculate hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. After a long day of travel, it was nice to be able to have a choice of several restaurants within walking distance. A full breakfast, including scrambled eggs and omelettes, was provided the next morning. We did ask for rooms on the front - away from the highway - as suggested by other reviewers. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the front of the hotel - not the back, which has noise from the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavaliermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristopher W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hello Cavaliermom!

A quick note to thank you for your comments; we really strive to meet all our customers needs and offer the best accomodations in our area!

We look forward to greeting you again!


Kristopher Wekarchuk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Room and hallway is really clean and quite. Outside area is secured with cameras. Friendliness reception and free breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristopher W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Hello Subiee!

Thank you for your comments; we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

Kristopher Wekarchuk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Hyacinthe
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Dauphin Saint-Hyacinthe
Hotel Le Dauphin Saint-Hyacinthe
#2 of 3 in Saint Hyacinthe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel Castel & Spa Confort
19.3 mi away
Hotel Econolodge Granby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hotel Mortagne
Hotel Mortagne
#1 of 3 in Boucherville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
21.2 mi away
Le St-Christophe - Hotel & Spa
11.8 mi away
Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Auberge Handfield Et Spa
#1 of 2 in Saint Marc sur Richelieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe
Address: 1500 Johnson Street East, Saint Hyacinthe, Quebec J2S 8W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint Hyacinthe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint Hyacinthe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010, our property is a state-of-the-art hotel. Our high quality rooms are among the nicest the region has to offer and also offer the best value. We are proud that we are soon to be one of the first hotels to be LEED certified in the province (Pro-environment). Enjoy our close to hypoallergenic rooms with wood floors, bamboo fiber mattresses and HEPA filter in the air circulation system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe Hotel Saint Hyacinthe
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Saint-Hyacinthe
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe Saint Hyacinthe, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing