We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than anticipated based on reviews here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge du Lac Morency
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Hippolyte
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better than anticipated based on reviews here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent a week here before travelling on to visit relatives in Saskatchewan. After booking I'd read some pretty poor reviews on here and can only conclude some folk are unlucky or expect absolute perfection!

We had no complaints about service or attitude and enjoyed the peace and quiet at this beautiful spot.

We took the organised trip to Quebec City to avoid a long day of driving and although the guide could have been better informed, very much enjoyed the visit.

Only slight niggle was that we had to sign a waiver to confirm we would pay a fine if we smoked in the accommodation - we don't smoke so no problem there - but then found that others had obviously been smoking in our unit! We informed the staff so that we didn't incur someone else's fine and were immediately offered the chance to move but since we had unpacked after a late arrival, we stayed and left windows open. Why bother with the waiver when it obviously isn't enforced?

We appreciated the free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonJennywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    124
    52
    22
    18
See reviews for
104
138
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our one bedroom apartment was clean and equipped with a washer and dryer, which came in handy as we were already on the last leg of our 3 week road trip from Ottawa to New York and Vermont. The resort is generally well maintained and the staff at reception were courteous. The resort has organised tours to Montreal and Quebec City but it doesn't come cheap. The closest subway station to Montreal is about 40 mins drive from the resort, so you might as well drive into the city. Just be prepared for some traffic congestion. One place worth visiting is Mont Tremblant village, which is also about an hours drive. For those who like a quiet retreat and don't mind being far away from most places, Auberge Lac Morency is the place.

Room Tip: For those with walking difficulties, request for the ground floor units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just spent four days there and had a great experience. We were in the G unit which might be the most recently built. Very clean and comfortable. The staff was great. We would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: The G unit looked new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Although the scenery is nice, the hotel itself needs tlc. With the exception of Hugo and the activities attendant, the other staff members were not customer oriented.The food was very good but the menu a little confusing (additional charges ranging from one to six dollars are superfluos).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubba155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently returned from a vacation here and found our stay very relaxing. The accommodations were very good, and the scenery was spectacular. The resort is situated on Lac Morency where you can swim, paddle boat, canoe, or kayak. Rentals are included in the price of your stay. There is also an indoor pool with a Jacuzzi, and an outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi. If you just want to sit and relax, there are lounge chairs in different locations for this purpose. The hiking trails are fun, but fairly rugged (not smooth surfaces) and require hiking shoes or boots. We rented a two bedroom condo which was very well equipped and even included a clothes washer and dryer. The resort was situated on a hillside but there was a shuttle available for those who didn't wish to walk the hill. The prices in the dining room were reasonable for the area, but they offered a special deal. If you purchased four dinners the price was reduced from $38 per person to around $28 or $29. This included an appetizer or salad, main course, and a dessert. The quality of food was excellent and there was a good choice. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing the hill, condos situated in the higher buildings have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justgo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very rural but lots of activities for kids. Kitchenette in the studio was small and it did not have a dishwasher. Internet is free but drops frequently and is slow. There is no business center. The resort charges for printing and faxing each page. The lake was nice and activities staff are great!

Room Tip: Get the 1 BR vice Studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeshareUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed in a building up heart attack hill, the room and equipment was very nice, the bed comfortable. A broken screen was fixed within the hour. The outside was bothersome. The stairs were rickety, and had broken, wobbly PVC handrails. Pool was pleasant at times, the poor life guard had her hands full with rude parents and running brats. Staff was very helpful. The water was warm, shallow and more of a pond no muck but silty. A small beach area looked nice for small kids. Get there early, the beach area quickly fills up with chair hoarders. Overall an okay place, but not a luxury resort. Looks like they are trying to update. Bring a book and relax.

Room Tip: Upper area has a very steep hill, but have A/C. Rustic looking ones have spiral staircases to upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie may m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Hippolyte
7.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.7 mi away
Esterel Resort
Esterel Resort
#1 of 1 in Esterel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
6.1 mi away
Relais St. Denis
Relais St. Denis
#2 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Watel
Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
#6 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel St. Jerome
Best Western Hotel St. Jerome
#1 of 7 in Saint Jerome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Lac Morency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Lac Morency

Property: Auberge du Lac Morency
Address: 42, rue de la Chaumine, Saint Hippolyte, Quebec J8A 2N4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint Hippolyte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Hippolyte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Lac Morency 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St-Hippolyte’s Auberge du Lac Morency is nestled in a charming location in the heart of the Laurentians, just 50 minutes north of Montreal. Built in 1934 and completely renovated, this warm and inviting Inn is the soul of an international holiday resort.At the beginning of the 90s, 4 rooms had already been added to the 10 original, and since 2001, 26 new luxurious units have been built.Our Restaurant:The Auberge du Lac Morency’s restaurant staff is composed of gastronomy lovers… they appreciate textures, aromas and flavors.Both kitchen and dining room employees are proud to be able to allow our guests to live wonderful moments. Everything is taken into consideration in order to attain a high level of excellence that our clientele will no doubt appreciate.For example, our Director wanted to offer smoked meats and fish… a smoker was thus built which allows our chef to express his originality. Your visit to the Auberge du Lac Morency wouldn’t be complete without having tasted our smoked salmon! Why not try it with a glass of white wine chosen from the hundreds of choices present on our wine card.Early on Sunday mornings, at the chez Hippolyte restaurant, our entire team prepares to serve our delicious brunch. Brioches, croissants, fine cheeses, fruits, salads and cooked meats are on the menu and will make both young and old wish they could eat more.Our table d’hôte is changed regularly, usually as the seasons themselves do. Our chef chooses lighter foods for the warmer seasons and richer ingredients in the winter.Our Spa:We offer Swedish and hot volcanic rock massages. Esthetic and body wrap treatments are also available.Offer yourself this precious gift and you will find balance between your body and soul.Hope to see you all in the laurentians! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Lac Morency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Lac Morency Hotel Saint Hippolyte
Auberge Du Lac Morency Saint Hippolyte, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing