We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better”

Sucrerie De la Montagne Inc
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Rigaud
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Our sugar shack, la Sucrerie de la Montagne, has as a mission to make you discover Quebec's traditions; a traditional menu awaits you which included : homemade bread, ham, sausage, meat pie, pancakes with maple syrup and maple taffy on snow. We have singer-musicians who will entertain the halls in our sugar bush.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I have been to a couple of these cabane a sucre. I guess I would consider this one above average for the location and surroundings, about average for the quality of the food, below average for the quantity of food, below average for music (the guy wasn't bad, but it was just one guy with a guitar and a pre-recorded backing track), service was about average (ie, not that good - but the waitress was in traditional dress), and the cost was much higher than average:$40)

The biggest benefit of going to this place is that it's open all year round. I would go back, but I wouldn't hesitate to try somewhere else.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank rick_clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    46
    33
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Magical visit, amazing food, will go again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We came to this place on a whim, having just come from Omega Park (about an hour away) we decided we would have one last sugaring off experience before it was too warm. We called before to ask if they would be open, and they took our names down and told us they would be happy to accommodate.

The grounds are spectacular! Maple trees as far as the eye can see, quaint buildings, a very rustic and warm feeling. The inside of the main house is beautiful, absolutely beautiful. It was the best looking sugaring off cabins I've ever been too, and as a native from quebec, I've been to quite a few!

The food was so good, mashed potatoes, oreilles de crises (really crispy delicious bacon), meat tarts, sugar tarts, ham, sausages, pea soup, as much as we can eat! We definitely enjoyed 3 servings before finally succumbing to a food coma.

Then, came the best part of the visit, the maple syrup on the ice. The girl serving it was such a doll, giving generous portions (and trust me, in some sugaring off cabins, you would be lucky to get even a third of what this girl was dishing out) and also allowed you to come back for more.

Overall, we would highly recommend. We went after 5 on a sunday, so there were not that many people there and we also paid 30$ a person. All those things considered made this the perfect ending to our already perfect day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Airvixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good experience but not great value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I spent the afternoon here as part of a group of 11, including 4 kids; we had reservations for lunch, and whilst we were seated after a short wait we found the service to be more than a little lacking; there were large pauses in between courses, leaving the kids to get bored and a stack of dirty dishes on our table, whilst many other servers wandered around with nothing to do, because we weren't in their designated section. Starter was pea soup, with maple syrup infused sasuages, bacon, beans and traditional meat pie for the main course, all of which were edible but not particularly exciting. Pancakes and sugar pie were served for dessert, but we were first presented with merely 4 pancakes at our table of 11, and had a ten minute wait for more to arrive.

We were able to make some taffy at the stand set up with some 'snow,' the demonstration as to how maple syrup is made was very interesting; the kids also enjoyed the horse drawn carriage ride, but in general I imagine the grounds are much more attractive with snow on the ground, and when maple syrup is being actively collected from the trees.

It was a nice afternoon out but not worth $40 for lunch and a short walk around at this time of year.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelqueenNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sugar Shack 101”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you want to learn everything about sugar shack and maple syrup, go there. It's a very nice set-up. The food is good but not excellent. If you don't like big crowds, avoid the week-ends. Also, it's a bit expensive. We brought friends for Germany and they were pleased with their visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppalerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vankleek Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

visited on sunday april 20.4 people cost over $174.00 building and surrounding are very good but the food was very ordinary.will have to lower price if we are going to go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank raytheman396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sucrerie De la Montagne Inc also viewed

 

Been to Sucrerie De la Montagne Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing