We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Du Defricheur

Maison Du Defricheur
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Rigaud
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hudson, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We've been back a dozen times with family and friends and have never been disappointed. We save it for special occasions - anniversary, Lobster Festival (three lobsters for $50!) and their fall mushroom festival (puffball soup) all interesting, unpretentious and in a cosy setting (we always try to reserve the back window corner). Someone tried to burn them down last week. Criminal fire at 5 a.m., could have killed good, hard-working, honest people who try hard and give value for dollar.
If you want pretentious, stay away. If you want to be coddled by people who care, give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hawkesbury, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a review deleted by Maison Du Defricheur ???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

After many years we finally visited this well recommended "fine cuisine française" restaurant, the ambiance is nice - country style - service friendly. Our dinner experience was mixed, my wife said ok - I was totally disappointed: first we were served an hors d'œvre, in a glass 2 small shrimps on salsa from a very cold fridge, which were soft and smelly and fishy tasting, my wife's salad was ok, her "escalope de veau aux shiitake et Marsala" had some very tough pieces - and this from apparently veal - , dessert very good.
My summary: the fishy tasting shrimps nearly ruined my appetite, smoked salmon ok, the "cobia fish" was tough and very very dry, profiterole dessert seemed to be prepared a couple of days ago - chewy and tough, too bad.....

Visited April 2013
2 of 5 stars Value
4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
4 of 5 stars Service
3 of 5 stars Food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gus943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the moment we drive I to the parking lot lightly snowing to ending the meal with an exquisite dessert, this restaurant is a must visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beauguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Foodgasm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was the best food experience that I've had in a long time. We went as a group of 14 and we were well received. The food was out of this world and it is reasonably price for fine cuisine, the atmosphere is chic and very welcome and the staff is extraordinary. There was moment during the meal that it was quiet, everyone was enjoying there meal. DEFINITELY WORTH THE DRIVE AND NEED TO BE ON YOUR LIST OF MUST TRY.

Bouffe orgasmique, super extraordinaire, on etait un group de 14 et nous avons été très bien reçu. Le manger est comme nul autre et c'est très raisonable pour la cuisine francais fine! il a des moments ou c'etait le silence total a notre table tellement que nous aimions notre bouffe!!! IL FAUT DEFINITEVEMENT L'ESSAYER :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesbury, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mixed experience at a well rated restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

After many years we finally visited this well recommended "fine cuisine française" restaurant, the ambiance is nice - country style - service friendly. Our dinner experience was mixed, my wife said ok - I was totally disappointed: first we were served an hors d'œvre, in a glass 2 small shrimps on salsa from a very cold fridge, which were soft and smelly and fishy tasting, my wife's salad was ok, her "escalope de veau aux shiitake et Marsala" had some very tough pieces - and this from apparently veal - , dessert very good.
My summary: the fishy tasting shrimps nearly ruined my appetite, smoked salmon ok, the "cobia fish" was tough and very very dry, profiterole dessert seemed to be prepared a couple of days ago - chewy and tough, too bad.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gus943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison Du Defricheur also viewed

 

Been to Maison Du Defricheur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing