We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of OrcaSound Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
OrcaSound Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rigaud
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Typical chain hotel located right beside a major highway (417) and in a cluster of gas stations and restaurants (primarily fast food) geared for people travelling on Highway 417. Room was certainly a good size. Clean. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Had problems getting our TV to work properly and the staff were there promptly to fix it. Also asked them for 2 wine glasses which they again promptly provided. Room rate included continental breakfast which was the normal fare. The AC is controlled from one central spot so if you want your room cooler (or warmer) than everyone else, good luck. We stayed here as we were on a cycling trip and they had secure space to keep our bikes at night. Nothing stood out about the hotel, but then nothing was wrong with it either.

Hint: Ask for a room away from the highway. Traffic noise, particularly transport trucks using engine brakes to slow down on the exit ramp can be quite annoying if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    10
    8
    21
See reviews for
18
13
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nothing spectacular, room cleaned but ordinary. A little expensive for what I got

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frabel-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were staying here for one week and our room was always pretty clean. All receptionists were very helpful and friendly and fulfilled any wish we ever had. The only thing to be negative was that we were not able to open the window (it was locked for security reasons) and the aircondition worked central by the staff. But all in all we felt comfortable and come again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modz47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay at the Howard Johnson Inn. We traveled to the area with our two dogs, for a dog training seminar. I'm very particular about cleanliness, especially with the dogs, and very concerned for their safety as you would be with any small child. 1st thing I always do in a hotel room is check under the furniture, around the edge of the furniture/walls for any thing that's been missed during the cleaning & vacuuming, such as someone else's prescription pills, bits of food or whatever that the dogs could find and try to eat. I can't tell you the filth, pills, & trash I've seen that has been missed by housekeeping staff at other hotels. Not the case here! This room was spotless! Not a speck on the floor, and the bed actually rolled a little on it's frame to check behind it for any sign of bed bugs, etc. The window opened for a little fresh air, something I always like, weather permitting. The continental breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent. The owner of the hotel was there the day I arrived in the afternoon, she was there at 7 a.m. and she was there when we'd return each evening at 7 p.m. She was friendly, accommodating, polite and so nice to the dogs. She was interested if everything was to our liking and very professional. We needed a small fridge, and she had one moved into our room first thing. The room had satellite tv with a full selection of Bell satellite channels like we have at home. The internet connection worked in the room and was nice & fast. The location of the hotel was really handy, right off the freeway and close to lots of restaurant choices, sharing the parking lot with a Horton's & Harvey's. I really like being able to get that Tim Horton's to-go, when I'm ready to head out for the morning! This place couldn't have been more convenient. Even with the drive-thru traffic on our side of the building, the room was really quiet. With the window closed you didn't hear a thing. We would go back there in a minute. It had every thing we needed and was far cleaner than many hotels we've stayed at with the same or higher prices. I don't speak fluent French and am always a little concerned when I travel to Quebec, but the owner & staff here were fully bilingual and very nice about speaking English, which I really appreciated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. If we go back to this same area, we will definitely hope to stay here.

Room Tip: Explain your needs when you book the room, these are very nice people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoreRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENISE D, General Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
\Thank you so much we appreciate you taking the time to review our facilities and letting new guest know that are hotel is nice ,clean ,cozy.safe
Thank you so much
Denise GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We chose this motel at the last moment due to an unsatisfactory motel elsewhere. They were able to meet our needs and were very friendly. They accommodated our special request for a fridge and microwave by bringing brand new ones to the room within an hour of checking in, but left them for us to arrange and find outlets for on our own. The room was one of their small ones, but the wall of windows and the 10' high ceiling made up for it. Room smelled very fresh and was clean. No air conditioning but the window cranked open about 6 inches and we felt secure sleeping with it open when needed. Thank you to Denise for all at her help

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8randini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISS-KITTY67, Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for the lovely words,much appreciated,Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stopped there after 10 hours of driving only to be greeted by a surly receptionist. And it got worse from there. The room was smelly and old. I could hear a baby crying in another room adn evrything else going on in the hallway. I could not find an ice machine. The restaurant was closed although, to their credit, a sign said that it would be re-opening in 2 days.
A huge sign on the side of the building announced to in-coming motorists that a free breakfast is included and is served starting at 6 a.m. Not true. The smileless one informed me that it would start at 7. So much for my very early start.
Only good thing about that place: central AC.
Not worth the price they charge at all!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essdeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISS-KITTY67, Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
never again.....Our rooms are not smelly and old.This hotel is only 10 years old and is kept very clean maybe you disagreed with the decor and you where very tired and found everything annoying. Babies are guest just like you and they do cry we can not do anything about that but you could have asked to change room to get away from the crying baby.The huge sign outside is written and I quote "BREAKFAST AS OF 6 AM WEEKLY" That is offered by the restaurant and not the hotel the restaurant is not run by the hotel all we offer is a continental breakfast weekdays starting at 6 am and week ends at 7 am this is clearly marked at the front desk .The surly receptionist does apologize for her bad behavior she as no recollection of being that way but she is sorry she behaved wrongly towards you, I do believe our prices are reasonable .
Denise ,Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rigaud hotels

ontario
Level Contributor
254 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

when arrivingin the afternoon we were greeted by denise who was very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the second floor which we were surprise to have to walk up the stairs with our luggage. This is okay if you are young but when you are older it can be difficult. The so called breakfast was pretty bad. I would suggest to the hotel not to offer any breakfast if this is the best they can do. The girl (did not get her name) in the morning was very rude and unfriendly. I hope the manager of this hotel reads this review as this had reflected badly on the hotel. This girl this should be repremanded or better yet fired as there are plently of people looking for a job

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justustravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigaud
4.4 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#1 of 3 in Rigaud
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
10.8 mi away
Chateau Vaudreuil
Chateau Vaudreuil
#1 of 9 in Vaudreuil-Dorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
5.6 mi away
Auberge des Gallant
Auberge des Gallant
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marthe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vaudreuil-Dorion
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vau...
#2 of 9 in Vaudreuil-Dorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Motel Belair
#2 of 3 in Rigaud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Hudson Inn
Le Hudson Inn
#3 of 3 in Rigaud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OrcaSound Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OrcaSound Hotel

Property: OrcaSound Hotel
Address: 93 Montee Lavigne, Rigaud, Quebec J0P 1P0, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Rigaud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rigaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — OrcaSound Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rigaud and residing next to St. Lazare, Hudson and Vaudreuil, Quebec. Just off of highway 40 on your way to Ottawa or Montreal.We offer seasonal packages, special event, ski, romantic couples, golf, Abraska, musical, weekend packages, and so much more.Come and dive into our world filled with comfort hospitality, welcome to orcaSound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your OrcaSound Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Rigaud Hotel Rigaud
Howard Johnson Rigaud
Rigaud Howard Johnson
OrcaSound Hotel Rigaud, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing