We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't speak French? Don't stay here”
Review of Days Inn Montmagny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Montmagny
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Montmagny
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We’re just tired travelers, needing a comfortable bed to rest for the night. We booked this place because it said “pet friendly” online as we have our little 10 lb dog traveling with us.

After 8 long hours of driving back from Nova Scotia, my husband checks in and specifically told the receptionist that we have a dog with us, so could we please get a main level room. “Sorry, all booked”, he’s told. So she gave us a room on the 2nd floor – we carry our heavy luggage UP the stairs (no elevator), get settled in our rooms and find out our neighbours across the hall are Muslims, who do not like dogs. Oh yay. Then the Manager calls our room to tell us we have to move because “no dogs are allowed on the 2nd floor”!!! Hello? But we told you we had a dog when we checked in? Then by some miracle, a main level room is suddenly available! Pack up and move our big heavy suitcases down the stairs (get an elevator!)

Maybe the receptionist did not understand my husband’s English? There's no maybe about it, there is no doubt whatsoever that it was her inability to understand or speak ENGLISH – a major language of business worldwide – that inconvenienced and stressed us out horribly when we were exhausted (and starving!) from driving for so long.

This was a stress that neither me or my husband needed to experience during this long trip and it was all because the receptionist at Hotel Le Florimay could/would not speak/understand English.

If you are an international traveler who does not speak French, do not stay at this hotel. Pull over on the side of the road and sleep in your car instead. You’ll feel more welcome there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xina08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Montmagny
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at this lovely, conveniently located, reasonably priced ,hotel . The large fire place, Emanuel the friendly bilingual receptionist and love birds in the lobby made for a warm welcome.

Our clean, large room with two comfortable beds had a private bathroom air-conditioner (cool nights so not needed), Frig., coffee maker, hair dryer, ironing board/iron, desk/chair, TV/remote and refreshing bathroom toiletries. Entrance to room is from the hall or via the sliding doors that allow for sitting outside your room on the provided chairs. Parking and Wi-Fi were complimentary. A computer in the lobby was also available.

The front desk employees were so enthusiastic and answered all our questions, including calling for boat tour reservations for us because we do not speak French. No outside noise heard; this allowed for a great night’s sleep.

Continental breakfast was offered in a bright inviting room with the most pleasant, French speaking, smiling hard working young lady. She kept the area clean and food flowing. Delicious coffee a muffin for me and cereal for my spouse was exactly what we needed for a long drive ahead.

At the end of the day swimming in the outdoor, clean pool was so relaxing.

It is a short drive to town, restaurants and shopping.

I would stay here again when in the area and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the firs floor if carrying bags up stairs is an issue
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gershwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Room was clean but there was a big stain on the corridor carpet and then some weird yellow spots on the room wall. Bathroom ceiling was a little bit rusty.
Beds were Ok and the breakfast minimalistic.
Wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed there for two nights - Dec. 30th 2012 to the 1st of Jan. 2013. We skied at the Massif du Sud, which was cheaper staying at Le Florimay than renting one of the cottages near the mountain. Not expensive, cozy, nice rooms, very clean but carpets could be a little cleaner. They offer a continental breakfast near the lobby area which is a nice touch but could offer a little more. For someone with a larger appetite, there is a McD's, Tim Horton's and St-Hubert nearby ! I would recommend staying at this hotel, great friendly service, good value for your money !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natty_d77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here one night on our way to Rimouski. The hotel itself was alright but the room could use some updating. We had a room with a King bed which was nice.
There is a nice pool but it was unheated so too cool to swim at night. It would have been nice to have a hot tub but there was none.
We enjoyed having a free breakfast there the next morning and we ate at a little cafe in the town on the patio but it wasn't within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel is quite close to Rte 20, but not on a highway.The room was very comfortable, with two double beds, a fiberglass tub/shower combination, and generous furnishings. As a hotel, one enters through the lobby, and down one of two corridors to the rooms. We appreciated the patio doors from our ground floor room to a small tiled sitting area outside. The stone fireplace in the lobby was very nice. Although there was no microwave in the room, there was one in the dining room for guest use. The continental breakfast was served in a cheery dining froom. Tache Blvd is very close, with several restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right hand corridor (from the lobby) are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DScottRiverview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed two nights in mid-August at Hotel Le Florimay, which is in fact more a motel than a hotel. First let me start by stating the positives: Le Florimay is close to the town (perhaps not walking distance for some, but still doable), the unheated outdoor pool is very pleasant if the weather is warm, the king-sized bed in our room was very comfortable. (In our very spacious room, we found that the air conditioning unit could not cool the room adequately.)

As for the negatives: our room was not cheap ($130 plus taxes, for a total of $150 for two; the room was very spacious but the furniture was a bit dingy and the lighting was poor; and the continental breakfast, though a nice-to-have, was very basic and of poor quality. You won't find any multigrain bread, heart healthy cereals, yogurt or fruit. The breakfast buffet could use a major upgrade. A decent cup of coffee you be a good place to start.

Note: Staff is quick to send guests to the restaurant La Couvée just down the road; however, we found the restaurant reeked of chlorine because of the indoor pool in the hotel complex L'Oiselière. We opted for the patio at Chez Octave in the city core for dinner.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for one that does not overlook the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montmagny
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Oiseliere - Montmagny
0.9 mi away
Hotel Centre-Ville
Hotel Centre-Ville
#1 of 5 in Montmagny
111 reviews
17.1 mi away
Chateau Mont-Sainte-Anne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Quality Suites Mont Sainte Anne
Quality Suites Mont Sainte Anne
#1 of 7 in Sainte Anne de Beaupre
77 reviews
20.7 mi away
Le Faubourg
Le Faubourg
#3 of 3 in Saint Jean Port Joli
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 5 in Montmagny
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Montmagny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Montmagny

Address: 218 Chemin Des Poirier, Montmagny, Quebec G5V 4J9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Le Florimay)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Chaudiere-Appalaches > Montmagny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Montmagny
Price Range: $94 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Montmagny 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Days Inn Montmagny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Montmagny Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing