We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Camp Explora on the hill, in the woods, drive with an electric ATV””

Camp Explora Electric ATV Adventures
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Montebello
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventures on a quiet Electric all-terrain vehicle in Montebello, Quebec. With our cutting-edge electric vehicles, you will be hunting and solving riddles on Mont Wescott in Montebello (Quebec). You will also discover its fascinating history, enchanting architecture, and natural splendour. Families, couples of all ages and groups of all kinds can embark in this truly unique game adventure. Closed for winter. Opens on May 1.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Erfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
““Camp Explora on the hill, in the woods, drive with an electric ATV””
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are a couple from Germany & did the trip in the woods on the electric ATV. It is a good way to travel through the woods with less noise and no gas smell. And no bothering the residents in the area. Just ensure that the person operating the computer can give clear instructions. The computers are programmed in both French and English. We both could handle it in English. As you arrive at each destination, the computer pops up information about the location that you are in, displays photographs and presents you with a clue for the puzzle. One thing that I will suggest is that people bring clothes for windy weather & driving in the shadow. The training before you are in the vehicle will take about 10 minutes, the two courses are each 90 minutes and you may expect to take a further 10 minutes following your trip to complete the puzzle. We can recommend this for: - business events - couples - solo - friends - families.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampExplora, Owner at Camp Explora Electric ATV Adventures, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you Sina and Marko for your nice review. Hope you're still enjoying your time in Canada. Best regards,
Rémi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    12
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Quebec city, Quebec
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must see and do!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We saw this place on a TV show and tought that it sounded interesting and after doing it, it sure is!

The hosts are really passionate the ATV's are brand new and Eco-conscious (100% electric)

We did the safari #1 which is a bit more technical and you do get to so some nice rock crawling stuff!

It's a nice blend of outdoors, tech-savvy stuff (the enigmas are on an iPad mini) and history (you get to learn about Montebello)

I'd really recommend doing this, it's great fun for all ages!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampExplora, Owner at Camp Explora Electric ATV Adventures, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our mystery safaris on electric ATVs. We are working on a third safari, which will have more trails to ride on. We hope we'll have the pleasure seeing you again.
Best regards,
Rémi Tremblay
President
Camp Explora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
1 review
“Experience to live”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

There is so many thing to do in our life but if one thing needs to be put on the top of the list, this is it! Their approach is unique and the way they treat their guess is simply amazing. You won't be disappointed by going at the Explora camp on a nice sunny day but let's imagine what the experience could be on a rainy day....simply a total different challenge. You would be amazed to see how quiet these quads are and honestly, in the middle of Mother Nature, that's what we want, connected with nature. Really, two thumbs up!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampExplora, Owner at Camp Explora Electric ATV Adventures, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you, Phil, for your very positive review. It was truly a pleasure for us to have your family at Camp Explora. Kind regards, Rémi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to explore the woods without the noise of gas engines”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We (couple) went out on a sunny day having booked for a trip in the woods on the new electric ATVs. I've never gone on the ATVs before as they are gas powered but these ATVs are electric and silent. It is a good way to travel through the woods with minimum noise pollution and smell, meaning that you get out of your trip with your hearing and nose intact! Not to mention not bothering the residents in the area given that the ATVs are quieter than cars on the road.

There were two different types of ATVs available, two seater and four seater models. Remi explained that roofs for the few ATVs without are on back order but most have the roof. I would suggest that it is best to plan for having two persons per ATV unless there are members of the family who are too young to drive. However, children will find that they will be able to operate the GPS linked computer so can be easily involved in the fun and giving the driver directions. Just ensure that the person operating the computer can give clear directions / instructions!

The computers are programmed in both French and English. If you require other languages, it may be important to check with Remi or Alain to see if further translations are now available.

Remi carefully explained how to operate the ATVs, the two way radio and the GPS linked computers in each vehicle. The computers are preprogrammed with two courses and pop up instructions on how to complete the course that you choose. As you arrive at each destination, the computer pops up information about the location that you are in, displays photographs and presents you with a clue for the puzzle.

One thing that I will suggest is that people bring layered clothing. We were dressed for sunshine but the wind was cool during the faster parts, especially when we were traveling through the shade. Also, given we were in the woods, the bug spray that the operator kindly put in each ATV was appreciated.

Following the time in the woods, we retired to the museum and cafe for a warm drink (Alain makes a great espresso!) We completed the puzzle for the monthly draw while sipping our drinks and looking over the artifacts in the museum.

Camp Explora is located at the top of the hill so it is important to pay attention to the sign posts during the last few kilometres. I recommend using the booking system on their website - we called and missed the confirmation email with the information about layered clothing.

The training before you are in the vehicle will take about 10-20 minutes, the two courses are each 90 minutes and you may expect to take a further 20 minutes following your trip to complete the puzzle. In all, this adventure will take about 2 hours, 15 minutes. Travel from downtown Ottawa or Hull is about 1 hour one way or from Montreal is 1.5 hours one way. As a result, you may expect to spend about 4.5 hours if traveling from Ottawa or 5.5 hours if traveling from Montreal. You may also wish to book the bed and breakfast at Farview Chalet which is the headquarters of Camp Explora and complete both courses over two days.

This is highly recommended for:
- Business Team Building
- Couples
- Solo
- Friends
- Family activity (children aged six and older)
- Mature teen activity (they will be driving a full motor vehicle on roads)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampExplora, Owner at Camp Explora Electric ATV Adventures, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks Tim for your detailed review. I'm sure it will be much appreciated by other readers. I just wanted to make a little correction; we no longer have overnight accommodation on location. But there are some great hotels and B&Bs in Montebello. We hope to see you again to try out our other Mystery Safaris. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingen am Rhein, Germany
1 review
“Amazing combination of history, nature and action!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a nice trip through the forest on an ATV together with my girlfriend. Liked the way the history of the seniority club is combined with technology, nature and action! We learned a lot and the tour was quite fun. Strongly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gemeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampExplora, Owner at Camp Explora Electric ATV Adventures, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks Mario for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again later this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp Explora Electric ATV Adventures also viewed

Montebello, Outaouais Region
Montebello, Outaouais Region
 
Montebello, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Camp Explora Electric ATV Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing