We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the 3 points chalet”
Review of Kenauk Nature

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montebello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenauk Nature
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved the 3 points chalet”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at the 3 points cabin which we LOVED. Very secluded, didn't see a single person the whole time we were there. The lake was quite small, great for swimming with the kids and kayaking around the lake-there were 2 kayaks, 2 row boats and a canoe! The cabin was really nice although as one other reviewer mentioned the beds need upgrading-not very uncomfortable as well as the pillows but fortunately we brought our own pillows with us. I like to cook and found some of the utensils were not very good.
There is an awesome outdoor grill, firepit with all the wood you could ever need and kindling, paper-they made it really easy to start a fire.
Inside full appliances run by solar/propane. Everything was in good working order.
Note: it takes about 45 min to get to the from gate from this cabin and very rocky rough drive last 3 km to cabin. Saw lots of wildlife-a moose, beaver, loons, deer and water snakes which are harmless we found out after we asked at the front desk:)
We plan on making this an annual trip,This is one of the best trips we've had!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Claude P, administrative assistante at Kenauk Nature, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Fairmont Kenauk.

We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the tranquility of the surroundings and facilities.

Thank you again for your feedback. Customer reviews are valuable tools to highlight areas where praise is deserved and necessary improvements.

Concerning the mattresses, they are not the same as those found in the hotels due to the type of beds found in the chalets, but all the double mattresses have been replaced in the last two years and there is a project to replace the single mattresses over the next years.

We look forward to welcome you again at Fairmont Kenauk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
19
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We just got back from Kenauk, stayed in the Green cabin. Green was 1 hour away from gate and very secluded. It was clean, no mice and had room for 8 people to sleep in. Sleep however was uncomforable, few pillows and they had no fluff in them and the beds were so so. It has hot at night, and we had trouble sleeping on coily beds. We all thought solar powered ceiling fans would have helped us sleep better during the warmer nights.
Overall it was nice but definitely not meeting the fairmont standard. We did enjoy the kayaks and canoe and found the trip relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedLeaf2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to Kenauk for almost 15 years now, always the same early fall week, and hope to keep doing so as long as we have the strength to paddle a canoe. A magical place, I can't get enough of. Great staff, isolation, beaver, bears and Loons and stars and trees and just everything you could possibly want.

Sure the beds could have more springs and there are occasional mice who join you in the cabin, but come on moaners ... these are the backwoods. Get over it. As for the fellow whose son wrecked a motor hitting rocks, let me give you a tip - look at the lie of the land and go slowly if in doubt, it's not hard to avoid these things.

Excellent kitchens and amenities, canoes, kayaks and motor boats. All you could want. I simply cannot recommend the place too highly and we look forward to returning every year. September cannot come soon enough. Five stars at least.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sparroworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Pay for an upgraded room and I get a view of the staff serving tables on the patio
Sunday Brunch way to overpriced and no service
The BarBQ standards have gone down and service by the cooks are very long
I really used to love this place but after spending 1400$ for a two day stay I feel ripped off

Please save your money and go elsewhere

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our second stay at Fairmont Kenauk at one of the cottages on small private lake. The cottage and location was superb and the amenities overall were excellent. This is real cottage living with peace and quiet as well as having all the required comforts needed for your stay. Overall our experience was excellent with one exception. Like the previous review, the beds were totally uncomfortable and need replacing. Unfortunately this took away from our overall satisfaction of our two-day remote retreat because it was very difficult to have a comfortable nights sleep in spite of the tranquility and wonderful sounds of loons to lull you to sleep.

Fairmont management, please take these comments to heart and urgently replace bed matresses at the Kenauk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_Que
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We just returned from a family vacation at the Sugarbush Chalet in early July. Overall it was a positive trip, but there were some negatives. So let's start with the positives. It's remote, and it's private. We saw no one else near our little lake. There were 3 row boats, 2 kayaks, and one canoe, all with paddles, all in excellent condition. I managed to do some fishing and caught a few rainbow trout for my trouble, though were not there for a "fishing" trip. Lots of wildlife to see. There were 2 loons on the lake most of the time. We could here moose first thing in the mornings, and the bullfrogs at night. And there were several other species of birds hanging around, a hare, groundhogs, chipmunks, racoons, and we also saw more than a few whitetail deer, and 2 fawns. The cabin itself was more than spacious enough for the 6 of us.(sugarbush will sleep 8)There was a fireplace to take the chill off in the morning... and a firepit outside for campires at night. A solar powered refrigerator, and hot water system. We never had a problem with having hot water. The propane lights were all in working order as well as 3 different electric lights using solar power that could be turned on using a 15 minute timer. The kitchen was stocked with pots and pans, and enough dishes and silverware for everyone. Also a decent BBQ on the deck.
So the negatives... The BBQ tank was empty. And when we called on the CB/2 way radio provided, no one answered. Luckily there was actually intermittent cell service and we managed to get that fixed. Also the BBQ grill was completely rusted, and in need of changing. I cleaned it myself, and managed to get the rust off but the metal was still all pitted underneath. But as a group our largest complaint.... were the beds. The beds were just bad. The mattresses on the double beds were just old... you could feel the springs, there was no padding left. It was 3 nights of really bad sleep. The mattresses that were on the top bunks for single beds were just ok. I still wouldn't say they were comfortable though.
We also had mice in the cabin. Maybe to be expected because you're in the middle of nature, but who wants to be cleaning mouse turds off the counter every morning. There were also sugar ants... another annoying little pest. But there were ant traps provided.
Did i mention how bad the beds were?
Also just to mention, there was no sharp filet knife to use. So if you're fishing you'd better bring your own, though i did notice that where you check in there is an abundance of fishing gear and tackle for sale, and it's reasonably priced. Also, i read that ATV's are not allowed on the property, but we could here them going back and forth, and i actually saw one while we were out for a walk.
Overall, as a family vacay spot, it's a little lacking in the comfort department, but if you're there for a hunting/fishing trip (which this place is designed for) I would guess the crappy beds are still better than sleeping on the ground.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

It will be helpful to have a macho vehicle when visiting Kenauk although some cabins are easily accessible by car. We have 4 wheel drive so were able to rent the most remote of them all. You should be well equipped w/ gear(warm clothes, fishing gear, etc) and food for your stay. No rushing out to the corner store from here! Arriving, we heard a plop, plop noise. Our lone cabin on a private pond had so many trout in it that they were actually splashing at feeding time! Man, did I have fun catching a few and cooking them up. If you are a lover of nature and serenity, this is perfection. How to put into words the sounds, sights and smells one can only experience in this setting? I can't ...you must go. We went in autumn at peak foliage. After leaving our cabin, it was an easy drive to visit Mt. Tremblant and environs. If you are a kayak or canoe person, paddle Le Diable river. As I say, I am talking about the remote Kenauk cabins. There are also larger ones along a paved and gravel road that are suitable for families and folks less inclined to rough it completely. Our cabin was beautifully appointed yet not overdone, and finding indoor plumbing in such a setting was a rare treat. For the nature lover, a real "don't miss". The photos I see posted do not really do the experience justice. It is memorable, indeed. Select your cabin according to your needs and you will have a joyful experience.

Room Tip: Carefully review cabin locations to insure your privacy if this is paramount. There are cabins for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastCoastAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
12.5 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
18 reviews
4.9 mi away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
69 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel Lac Carling
Hotel Lac Carling
#2 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
10 reviews
4.7 mi away
Au Parfum des Saisons
Au Parfum des Saisons
#1 of 5 in Montebello
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenauk Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenauk Nature

Property: Kenauk Nature
Address: 1000 chemin Kenauk, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Kenauk at Le Chateau Montebello)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Montebello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kenauk Nature 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenauk Nature is a vast 265 km2 (65,000 acre) private landscape established in the 19th century to conserve and protect wildlife habitat. Our magnificent hardwood forest encompasses 65 lakes, 25 of them designated for fishing a wide variety of fish, including rainbow, speckled and lake trout, large-mouth and small-mouth bass and northern pike. For guests to fully experience the wilderness, we offer secluded first-class chalets, with one to six bedrooms. Each private cabin comes equipped with propane lights, fully equipped kitchen, outside barbecue, furnace and hot water tank provided by propane gas, complete bathroom for your comfort and spacious screened porch or a large balcony. All cabins are off the electrical grid so solar panels power the high efficiency refrigerator and water pump. Kenauk Nature is proud to be a partner with the Nature Conservancy of Canada whose reputation for protecting wild places is outstanding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kenauk At Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing