We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Fall retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice Fall retreat”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A cozy and relaxing place. The food was excellent as was the service ( at spa, restaurant, and reception). Our room on the top floor had quite an awkward layout with slanted ceilings and a very tiny bathroom. The premises and facilities were expansive and not at all crowded. It seems a great place for families with plenty for children to do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wherenext_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear wherenext_10,

I sincerely apprecitae your feedback regarding your visit at our property! We indeed have a very cozy place, and with our 3700 acres surrounding the property, there is a lot of space for all.

Our rooms on the 4th floor are differently shaped due to the roofing architecture, and most will find those rooms charming, eventhough the bathrooms are indeed smaller.

Hope to see you soon!

Geneviève
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    545
    250
    106
    51
See reviews for
641
813
27
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights in september. lovely resort, impressive with good facilities. our room was fine and we enjoyed the walks and pool.Ate in the restaurant first night-food no more than average, service poor-our waitress spent two 15 minutes sessions chatting to a couple with her back to the rest of us, who were ignored-of the maitre d-who should have stopped it, he was noticeableonly by his complete abscence. When you are paying two hundred dollars for a meal it is not very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedfordHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
BedfordHarry, thank you for taking the time to let us know about the experience at our property. We read all of our guest feedback and it is important that we are made aware of any issues. I have shared your comment with our Director of Food & Beverage and he will discuss with the individuals in question, so thank you for sharing.

I can assure you that your comments will not go unnoticed! Thank you again,

Geneviève
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Prairie, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is known as the largest log structure in the world and it lives up to its name ! The central atrium is just huge with an incredible view. Our room was large with a comfy king size bed and all the amenities. The meal we had that evening was amazing, the size of the 'cote de boeuf' was 2 inches thick! Service was impeccable ! The next day we played golf at the Chateau golf course and had a great time. Had breakfast at the golf course and the young lady that served us was very nice. The weather was perfect sunny and 17. Next time we go we will plan on staying longer !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyM770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you WendyM770 for sharing with us!

We sure look forward seing you again, and for a longer vacation!

Sincerely,

Geneviève
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Arrived early at this giant log structure (biggest in the world). The hotel kindly checked us in early to an upgraded room with a view of the river, though we had to switch to a room with a lesser view for the second night.

The facility is really extraordinary, with a central atrium that is wonderful to relax in. We enjoyed singing with the piano player, and sipping cocktails at the atrium bar. Although we were there in the summer, I imagine hanging around the many-sided fireplace in colder weather would be delightful.

Our rooms were comfortable if a little dowdy. As others have mentioned, the rooms are a bit tight, and the bathrooms quite small, but we understand that there are limitations to what can be done in such a historic structure. Still, the rooms could probably use a little freshening up.

During our time there, the indoor pool was closed, but we had been warned about this when making the reservation. As it was summer, my son, my wife and I had lots of fun in the outdoor pool. The views of the Ottawa River from the pool were a pleasure to enjoy. The zumba classes in the pool looked enjoyable, although we didn't participate.

The grounds of the hotel are quite nice. We enjoyed walking along the river and also doing the exercise ramble -- a walk through the lovely woods with exercise stations along the way. The hotel set up fishing for us one day at one of the local lakes, which was greatly appreciated. The restaurants at the hotel are very good, and are reviewed separately. I had an excellent massage at the terrific (if somewhat expensive) spa. Overall, the service staff is friendly and helpful and overall excellent.

We had a terrific time at the hotel and would warmly recommend it to those who want to relax in the Canadian woods and rivers.

Room Tip: Get a river view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you andrew l for your review! I am so glad that your family had a great time at our property. Mission accomplished!

Summer is a great time of the year to enjoy the resort, but I can confirm that sitting down in front of the magnificent fireplace in the winter is absolutely fabulous! Especially after a day of outdoor activity, as there are so many during the winter.

We sure hope to see you again!

Geneviève
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-hubert, Qc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went to the Chateau Montebello for business in February 2013. During my free time, I was hanging out near the fireplace in the lobby and it was so relaxing. The local food is great. They have numerous outdoor activities like dog sled and curling. I would go back with my family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you Annick G for your review! Your family would love our hotel and all it has to offer, winter or Summer!

Hope to welcome you back again!

Genevi'eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As always a lovely spot.
The staf were A 1- and everything was presented and prepared as requested.
The room was ready with all requests and the chef came to speak personally about diet restriction options.
The staff was smiling and helpful to all, no matter how look it took.
The cog is a great addition for families.
Close to so much, yet removed and quiet

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandtourgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear grandtourgirls, thank you for sending us your feedback! Always love to hear what our guests have to say! I have been searching for the meaning of our "cog" addition: I guess you were talking about our "dog" Monte? If not, just let me know what it means so I can know what it is!

Thank you, Genevi'eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids stayed here for 1 night in August. We got a good rate with a jaunt of about $160 that included tickets to Parc Omega. The hotel and grounds are very impressive. Our room was on the main level. The 2 double bedroom was small and dark. The bathroom was tiny. The parking was inconvenient and I don’t know why they don’t just include the parking charge in the room price. It was annoying. There were long lines to check in and check out.

We had the Barbeque dinner. It was good but extremely expensive.

We enjoyed the outdoor pool but were disappointed that it closed at 6 pm. We had fun discovering the tunnel to the indoor pool. The campfire was lame.

We liked our stay but I don’t think we would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear PCbailey, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay!

Our next room renovations will include to lighten rooms & corridors, so it will address exactly what you are referring to.

Our parking fees have been introduced to eliminate a resort fee charge and it is what supports the maintenance of our 3700 acres of nature surrounding the hotel, including the activities and trails. I hope you have been able to appreciate the outdoors, and I am sorry that you felt this was an inconvenience.

Again, thank you for sharing,

Genevieve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
17.1 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
20 reviews
24.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
21.4 mi away
Hotel Lac Carling
Hotel Lac Carling
#2 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#5 of 5 in Montebello
71 reviews
17.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawkesbury
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Property: Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Address: 392 Rue Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the ordinary and experience a delightful retreat at Fairmont Le Château Montebello, the world's largest log cabin! Nestled in the heart of the scenic Montebello village, surrounded by nature, the hotel is famed for its rustic yet luxurious accommodations, excellent service and refined gastronomy. Historically founded as a private club in 1930, Fairmont Le Château Montebello has had the privilege of hosting many political figures, royalty and other celebrities. The resort is now an ideal destination both for leisure and business travelers. Entertainment, local cuisine, relaxation and a warm welcome is what you will come to expect as we want your experience to be truly unforgettable. Beautiful surroundings and year-round activities offer our guests countless possibilities of adventures, including golf, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, curling, tennis, squash as well as Canada's only Land Rover Off-Road Driving Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing