We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, wonderful food, 5* service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here with my kids in July 2013 for one night as we bought the Tuango deal. It was a great stay. This hotel, you can't quite compare to the other Fairmont hotels. It is not as luxurious and fancy. It really is an old massive cabin with a lot of history. It is beautiful and warm for what it is. The service overall at this hotel is worthy of the name Fairmont. 5 stars.

When you first come in, you get an odd smell but that is the smell of the old wood structure and you quickly get used to it and stop noticing it. Monte, the hotel dog, has his nice bed and dog house in the lobby. A very well behaved dog considering all the kids were all over him non stop. You can even reserve a walk with Monte on the hotel grounds at the front desk.

Check-in was good, I had requested early check-in and arrived at the hotel at 12:30 but my room was not ready until 2pm. Not a problem, they took our bags and told us to enjoy the grounds and they would call me when ready. The grounds here are beautiful and well maintained. This big log cabin is situated right on the river and has a marina, many trails, beautiful greenery and flower beds, benches along the river, a few gazebos, a very nice outdoor pool and indoor pool, etc. Many activities offered on thr grounds such as crocket, mini
golf, electronic cars relay, tennis, pools, zoomba at the pool, horseback riding, bicycle rental, kids structure, etc. The kids structure and mini golf are quite old and should be updated honestly but the kids still had fun with them.

We spent 1/2 day at the outdoor pool. They give you nice towels at the cabana near the entrance and have a cold water distributor and glasses there as well. The lounges have numbered flags you can raise on them to get drinks and food service. They have very nice waiters going around and taking your order and bringing it right to your lounger. They make fabulous mango daiquiris! The pool has a lifeguard on duty during pool opening hours. Lots of noodles, surf boards, beach balls to play in the pool. The deeper end is 2m.

The food is very good. There were different options. We could make reservation to the outdoor BBQ or the dining room for dinner or eat at the bistro. The BBQ have themes and it was Europe that evening. Everything on the menu looked good but my kids are quite picky so we decided to have dinner in the dining room. I had the 4 services meal and my kids decidedon the kids buffet. WE ate like kings and queens. There was a wonderful dessert buffet as well that both my kids and I were entitled to. Service by our waitress named Katia was top notch.

The buffet breakfast was sooo delicious in the main dining room. July was kids month at the hotel and their buffet was free if the adults had the buffet as well. Freshly sqeezed orange juice and many others too. Smoke salmon, eggs station, sausages, bacon, selection of bread, muffins, bagels, danishes, pastries, croissants, cheeses, yogurts, compotes, crepes, fruits and so much more.

Lunch was available at the bistro, the main dining room and outside at the igloo snack bar. We opted to go to town to a casse-croute. The food was not overly pricey here considering the quality and service and that it is Fairmont.

Rooms were good. Again, it is an old log home so the doors didn't close well and it was abit dark but that is part of the charm of this place. We were very comfortable in our room but the we had the unfortunate luck to be located beside a family with a baby that screamed all night long. It was loud so the walls seemed to be paper thin. Bring ear plugs.

Service all over the hotel was top notch with the exception of the waiter at the morning breakfast that never cleared our table so we had quite a bit of empty plates staked up by the end of the meal. It was not very busy either but he was occupied chatting with another client most of our meal. I think though that the staff at the entrance and valet parking guys were excellent and went over and beyond. Always with a smile.

Thanks for a very pleasant stay! I will mot definitely return next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Nadma, simply... Wow! Thank you for your kind feedback! You describe so well all that Montebello has to offer. It is a real pleasure to read!

We sure look forward seeing you again next year! Sincerely,

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Eight children (ages 2/12-10yrs) along with seven parents and a grandmother decided to enjoy a luxury overnight here. And enjoy we did! This beautiful log hotel is so unique and magnificent.We had 3 deluxe rooms overlooking the St. Lawrence River for each family of 5 and one room for Gramma Jane.The rooms were spacious and clean; the food was delicious beyond belief. The BBQ well worth the price which included discounts from our package as well as no charge for under 6yrs as well as -50% for 12 and under.The activities were many for the little ones including croquet (nc)and miniput small charge.Tennis was free with small charge for racquet rentals if needed.The grounds were magnificent and provided lots of room for the children to run.The outdoor and indoor pools are spectacular!We also had a horseback ride with the little ones being led around the paddock. Great picture time!
I cannot say enough about this historic and beautiful property.PS They even have 'Monty' there to greet you. I won't tell you who Monty is..you will have to visit and find out for yourself!

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the ground floor near the exit to the outside. Easy access for families to exit an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammajane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you grammajane2013 for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! This is exactly what we love to hear!

I hope to see you and your family again, sincerely,

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went there to visit friends who were staying at the hotel. We had a lunch and a dinner at the bistro buffet restaurant. The food was average if not below but the service was much below average. We had the buffet salad lunch inside. You could have as much as in any Chinese buffet in Quebec for more than triple the price. The dinner in the open area was worse and more expensive for what we ate. Flies were everywhere, on our plates and around our head. We asked the waiter to bring a repellent candle; the answer was he didn't know if they had some in stock! He came back with one when we had finished our dinner. To pay the bill, I had to get up and whisper in his ear after waiting for 20 minutes seeing him chat with clients sitting at another table. Wine prices are four times the price of same wine at SAQ plus 30% tax and tips.

Room Tip: Simply don't eat there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank boroushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just came back from the chateau montebello and this was a like being in a cabin in the middle of the woods but super chic. We had a room facing the garden and close to the pool and the marina. Went to read on some lounging chairs on the terrace close to the pool. It was awesome. Also, went to the pool and after, we went to dry our bathing suits sitting in front of the river, in the breeze. Couldn't be better.

Don't forget Monte the retriever dog of the hotel! He is so nice and you can see with the concierge to go out with the dog! He walks around freely in the hotel and comes to see everybody. Real cool.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the Champlain corridor, second floor. The pool is at the end of that corridor and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdelrahman E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you Abdelrahman E for your review! Always a pleasure to hear great feedback from our guests!

Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Château!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have traveled all over the world. Hands down... This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Everything about this place is exceptional. We were so sad to leave.... My wife and 2 year old son could not have been happier or felt more welcomed, relaxed, appreciated and respected. Just a great experience through and through.

We look forward to going back and are already making our plans for next year.

Room Tip: We actually booked 2 adjoining rooms because my son is a very light sleeper. We also extended our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Eric S, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! We are delighted that you, your wife and son enjoyed your stay with us! We always work so hard to ensure that all of our guests are having a wonderful time while staying with us, so I feel it is a ''mission accomplished!''.

We sure hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

we have been going to Chateau Montebello for the past 20 years. Each time it surprises us, either with strawberries covered in chocolate in our room awaiting our arrival or a special meal. This last visit did not disappoint at all. My husband became friends with the chef at the main dining room in Chateau Montebello, he gave his instructions to let him know when we would be visiting. Alas he was on vacation, but the chef at the restaurant met with us, and said he would make us a very special meal. Chef Daniel did just that. The meal he prepared was unreal. We have never had such an amazing meal and the service to boot and the wine sommelier worked his magic as well. This weekend adventure will remain in our minds and on our palates for a long time. A very special thanks to Chef Daniel and the sommelier Julien.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

EileenS181, Thank you for sharing those comments! Our culinary team is so proud of being able to do special meals for our guests that such a comment is the biggest thank you you can do for them! Chef Daniel and team were so proud to read your comments!

We look very much forward welcoming you again!

Sincerely, Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A perfect weather day by the pool. Went to the adjacent Igloo bar to order lunch. Simple hamburger for me, kid's grilled cheese sandwich. I'm sure the order got lost -it took just under an hour to get the food and that was with the intervention of server Michele who came to our rescue and tracked down the order. Then they ran out of hamburger patties and had to wait for some to come out from he main lodge. On top of that, they overcharged for the kid's meal. When we finally got our teeth into the meals, they were good. Later soaked up the aggregation in the pool with a delightful swim. Will the poor service ever end?

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Phil036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Phil036, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. Your feedback is very valuable for us to correct such situation in the future. I have to admit that some days in early July, our Igloo service area has been a bit more challenging, and since we have just opened this new meal service area this year, we had to make a few adjustments.

I am sorry about this incident and I again thank you for your feedback!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
17.1 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
25 reviews
24.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
21.6 mi away
Hotel Lac Carling
Hotel Lac Carling
#2 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Chateau
Le Petit Chateau
#3 of 5 in Montebello
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Address: 392 Rue Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Price Range: $197 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the ordinary and experience a delightful retreat at Fairmont Le Château Montebello, the world's largest log cabin! Nestled in the heart of the scenic Montebello village, surrounded by nature, the hotel is famed for its rustic yet luxurious accommodations, excellent service and refined gastronomy. Historically founded as a private club in 1930, Fairmont Le Château Montebello has had the privilege of hosting many political figures, royalty and other celebrities. The resort is now an ideal destination both for leisure and business travelers. Entertainment, local cuisine, relaxation and a warm welcome is what you will come to expect as we want your experience to be truly unforgettable. Beautiful surroundings and year-round activities offer our guests countless possibilities of adventures, including golf, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, curling, tennis, squash as well as Canada's only Land Rover Off-Road Driving Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing