We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the $$” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the $$”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Huge disappointment! Our $300/night was below ground level with windows at ceiling level, TV,lamp, coffee maker did not work.Staff was very friendly and food was mediocre at best considering the price of our meals.Although lobby and restaurant were stunning the whole place needs a facelift and complete updating

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you julie p for your review,

I do appreciate your feedback regarding the room, and it does tell me that it is very important to attribute the right room type for our guests. We do have 7 Jacuzzi suites that are located on the lower part of the building, almost in the basement. Those suites are as you have probably noticed, very large, but with smaller windows, it is not appeal to everyone. We do explain that over phone reservation so I would truly appreciate to learn how you did proceed to reserve, either on-line or over the phone, as I want to ensure that we better explain those particular suites. There are many guests that only want those suites, and others prefer our corner suite, brighter and aboveground level.

Please feel free to let me know those details via e-mail at genevieve.dumas@fairmont.com.

I thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback, and I will also follow-up on your other points to my team. Sincerely,

Geneviève
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    507
    237
    101
    48
See reviews for
598
768
26
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A lovely hotel with lots of winter activities. The hotel is quite spectacular (but showing its age in a lot of places). Our room was small and quaint. Bathroom was tiny, but nice toiletries and clean.
We went snowmobiling and I would recommend it! We had a great guide and enjoyed it! Also loved the skeet shooting. The extra activities were expensive but worth it.
Food was good. Especially loved the maple crepes.
The tubing was only open on weekends so it was crowded and we had to wait in line. Would have been better if it had been available on a Friday at least!
Also the parking lot was very snowy. I was surprised that they didn't clear it at all when we were there.
And we were only allowed to swim in half the pool? That was really strange. That half pool got full quickly.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. Would enjoy it more without the 3 quirks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mispig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you mispig for your review! I am glad you had a great time here at the Château. I took good notes of your comments, and I am glad to tell you that we have already solved the snowy parking lot issue: this Spring, we changed the entire parking design and the lanes are now aligned the opposite way, ensuring we can clear the snow by pushing it all in the field, so we will not have the same issue next winter.

As for the pool, I simply want to add they we do have the largest hotel pool in North America, and the rules to have our full pool open are pretty strict, and we would need way too much lifeguards to be compliant with the law, so we separate the pool in half to ensure our lifeguards have always a clear view of the swimmers within their view.

Since your visit, we are also in the process of completely renovating our main dining room, and we have an ongoing renovation program for our entire hotel to ensure it is always up to date.
We always do all we can to improve our services so all your comments are well noted!

Thank you very much and looking forward seeing you soon!

Geneviève
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Chateau Montebello for a long weekend, looking for some quiet from the city hustle..
The Hotel staff were VERY friendly, from the bell boys to the reception and restaurant crew.
The rooms are old style (therefore not huge), and are beautifully decorated to give you that "cottage" feel. The lobby is big and very nice with the beautiful big fireplace in the middle.
Food at breakfast was good and tasty, but quite expensive!, around 90$ for 2 adults and 2 kids for breakfast is a steal..
They have a huge swimming pool and 2 jacuzzies that my kids just loved!
Would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saltman347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you Saltman347 for your lovely review!

It is always with great pleasure that we read our guests comments. We look forward seing you again at the Château !

Sincerely,

Geneviève
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

1st time there on a romantic weekend - very homey and rustic atmosphere with 1st class service and food. Tried the horseback riding available on site - it was fun and relaxing. Only complaint is the clorine smell was so strong in the pool area we decided to not go swimming.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy - this is a wooden structure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear afm00,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us! I will gladly share your feedback with our team.

I have also passed your comment about the chlorine smell to our team at the pool to ensure that they look into it. We do have an automatic chlorine system so it is always perfectly balanced, so maybe it could have come from the whirlpools since those are balanced manually, but it should not provide a smell like that.

We gladly appreciate your feedback which ensures that we constantly look into those details!

See you soon, sincerely,

Geneviève
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, ON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and even upgraded our room at no additional cost. We arrived at 11:30am and they accommodated an early check in.

The afternoon we arrived we ventured out on the Ottawa River on a platoon boat. The tour lasted an hour. Our boat captain was nice and knowledgable about the island and region.

The gardens and amenities were well-worth the trip. We had lunch and supper at the hotel. We had to order room service for lunch because we missed the last seating. Room service was quick and the food was fresh. For supper, we had the buffet. The selections were diverse and very fresh. The waiters were welcoming to the two toddlers dining with us. Brie cheese and fresh figs were an added bonus on the supper buffet!

Room Tip: Garden or water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear TravellerCO,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us! I am very glad you enjoyed your stay as well as the pontoon tour and the gardens. Our team takes great pride in ensuring our guests are having a great experience with us, and I will share your feedback with them.

Thank you and looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Geneviève
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were disappointed by this hotel, as a Fairmont we expected great things but didn't get that. The hotel is all looking somewhat jaded, rooms are OK but dated though I must say the bed was very comfortable. Staff were pleasant and the sevrice was good but the prices of everything was ridiculous for the quality. When paying so much for a room to then have to pay for wi-fi access, access to music and worst of all to pay for parking is outrageous!!! To get there without a car would be extremely difficult, there is masses of space for parking and so to charge guests to park on a rough bit off ground really is unacceptable.
All this said though the activties were great, we went dog sledging, ice skating, cross country ski-ing and walking. So we had a good time but wouldn't return.
There was a great good value store in the village and a lovely restaurant where we had dinner one night. I can't rember the name but turn right out of the hotel and it was on the left, much better than the hotel - food, atmosphere and price all much better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luebeck
Level Contributor
217 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The impression of the outside is good, the interior boasts a cabin ambience and somewhat morbid charm. You can really feel the spirit of the 1930s. The breakfast is quite expensive ($ 25), but one of the best that we have ever had in North America. We recommend the crepes with maple syrup and melted butter. Breakfast on the internal index (Royal Meridien Hamburg excellent 10 points / Tim Horton Western Ave Augusta atrocious 1 point) the hotel gets 8 points. In the afternoon you should have the real good dessert bufet, for 7,50 $ a good value. The state of the laundry is very good. Internet in the room only for a fee. You can really relax there for a few days, but it’s relatively expensive. In the off season you have to expect numerous groups and events, which lowers the standards (behavior, noise level).

Der Eindruck der Anlage außen ist gut, das Innere besticht durch das Blockhausambiente und den etwas morbiden Charme der Ausstattung. Den Geist der 1930er Jahre kann man gut nachvollziehen. Das Frühstück ist relativ teuer (25 $), aber eines der besten, welches wir in Nordamerika je hatten. Zu empfehlen sind die Crepes in Ahornsyrup und ausgelassener Butter. Auf dem internen Frühstücksindex (Royal Meridien Hamburg exzellent 10 Punkte / Tim Horton Augusta Western Ave grauenhaft 1 Punkt) bekommt das Hotel 8 Punkte. Ein wirklich gutes Schnäppchen ist das Desertbufet am Nachmittag für 7,50 $, noch kein besseres in Nordamerika gesehen. Der Zustand der Wäsche ist sehr gut. Internet ist grundsätzlich nur gegen Geld verfügbar. Man kann dort gut ein paar Tage relaxen, allerdings nicht billig. In der Nebensaison muss man mit zahlreichen Gruppen und Veranstaltungen rechnen, deren Publikum das Niveau drückt (Benehmen, Lautstärke).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haushaltungsvorstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
17.0 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
24.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
0.8 mi away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Au Parfum des Saisons
Au Parfum des Saisons
#2 of 5 in Montebello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
17.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Property: Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Address: 392 Rue Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the ordinary and experience a delightful retreat at Fairmont Le Château Montebello, the world's largest log cabin! Nestled in the heart of the scenic Montebello village, surrounded by nature, the hotel is famed for its rustic yet luxurious accommodations, excellent service and refined gastronomy. Historically founded as a private club in 1930, Fairmont Le Château Montebello has had the privilege of hosting many political figures, royalty and other celebrities. The resort is now an ideal destination both for leisure and business travelers. Entertainment, local cuisine, relaxation and a warm welcome is what you will come to expect as we want your experience to be truly unforgettable. Beautiful surroundings and year-round activities offer our guests countless possibilities of adventures, including golf, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, curling, tennis, squash as well as Canada's only Land Rover Off-Road Driving Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing