We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like summer camp for adults”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

At first we hesitated to go in the winter but it turns out there are plenty of activities to keep you busy, both indoors and out. Curling, hockey, tennis, billiards, ping pong, snow shoeing, and more. It was a great romantic getaway, even if there were a lot of kids around.

We dined for 2 nights and found the smaller bistro to have better food, and at a fraction of the cost.
** take note that if your package includes breakfast brunch, make sure it is not confused with the "special" Sunday brunch that they offer at a rediculous cost. We got mixed up in that BUT they did make it right.

The spa is very nice. We had a couples massage in their special room included in our package. Very nice. Their treatments are a bit pricy but they do give receipts for insurance claims. You just have to ask them to provide this for you.

All in all it was a wonderful 3 day getaway. And being only 1 1/2 hours from Montreal made it worth the drive.

Room Tip: it is much more convenient to stay on the first floor, although it might have been quieter one or tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Gary R, thank you for your comments about your stay with us! We always love to hear from our guests... I will pass-on your comments to our culinary team.

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,242 - 1,248 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We celebrated the last weekend of March break at this destination hotel with our two 12 year old boys and 16 year old son. Fun was had by all! Curling, tennis, swimming all went over great. The arcade is a hit too - but OMG upgrade it already! The arcade is old the machines stole the kids tokens, the paint is peeling off the walls, it is super small - for a 5 star luxury hotel that claims to be family friendly their tiny little games room needs a MAKEOVER.

Although we all had fun and the hotel itself is a sight to see, the value is average to poor, the expense does not equal the offering and the food and service in the restaurant is very poor.

The rooms are small like all the Fairmont historic locations but they are clean (well a bit of mold around the bathroom tub) and have all the modern ammenities. Great service at the front desk, and bell captain, actually great service throughout - other than servers in the restaurants. Note that parking is an extra fee, adjoining rooms is an extra fee and every activity is astronimcally priced. Seriously - $48 for one hour of tennis??? And no one is using these activities because they are way overpriced. Curling is $30 for 30 minutes for one sheet of ice. Dogsledding was $33 per person, it goes on and on.

The food is expensive and unfortunately not good. I don't think any of the 5 of us had a single thing to eat that we would recommend (oh wait the boys like the hot chocolate and I enjoyed the coffee). They don't even offer Poutine! Their kids buffet is terrible - our kids had trouble finding something to eat it was a bust.

We were there for 24 hours and dropped a thousand dollars.

Pro's - its close to Ottawa, the pool is warm, there are lots of indoor activities for teenage boys after a long winter. The coffee in the restaurant is great. The lobby bar with massive firepace is a great place to hang out.

Unfortunately, or fortunately we have been before and we will likely be back. With only an hour commute to Ottawa it is close and has activites other hotels don't. But if you are on a budget don't go - its not cheap - and don't expect traditional 5 star - it is far from that.

Room Tip: Watch for a hidden charge of $40 for adjoining rooms. We had them remove it from the bill. And ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarryCari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

GarryCari, thank you for your honnest feedback! I have to admit that the arcade is on my list of room to be upgraded! I will also pass-on your comments about the choice of machine to our supplier. It might be good to upgrade as well! And I hope that you requested the tokens to be reimbursed at front desk as this is what we do if ever such things happen, as well as contacting our supplier immediately to look into the machines at fault.

I will also pass your comments to our culinary team for their follow-up, as we usually receive raving reviews about our food. It is important that we receive all feedback regarding our food offering.

PS: I hope you did enjoy with your family all of our complimentary activities we offer during the winter, from skating, snoeshoeing and cross contry trails, the activity room with ping-pong, chess, backgammon, etc. and tennis court in the winter is 30$ per hour due to the intense heating it requires.

Sincerely, Geneviève.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Montebello for one night with my wife and two young kids. On the positive side, I found the rooms to be nice, comfortable and very clean. The service was pretty good but not the best I have had. The hotel itself had a great atmosphere and we had a good time. However, we found the food to be very average for the price and they literally charge for everything. For example, why a hotel in the middle of no where feels justified charging its hotel guests $10 a day for outdoor, non-valet parking beats me. For this reason, while I found the hotel nice, I would not go back. Perhaps Fairmont should think about some good value package deals (better than what they offer already) which don't require the guests to pull out their wallet every five seconds when staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingAustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you WanderingAustralian for your valued feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and eventhough it might seem pricy to charge for the parking, this 10$ provides us the ability to maintain and ensure our 3700 acres of land right on property is always maintained in great condition, 365 days, and offers tons of things to do, like snoeshoeing, cross-country skiing, walking, jogging, or simply enjoy nature's at its best, and all of that at no extra cost.

I will gladly share your feedback with our team and I hope that despite this charge you will enjoy the benefits it brings to all of our guests!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you've ever wanted to stay in a place that will feel like a winter wonderland, Chateau Montebello delivers 100%! The rooms are all created like log cabins, and there is a rustic feeling and charm throughout the hotel. The hotel welcomes families, and even has a resident dog in the lobby. We went during March break for 2 days and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The kids loved swimming in the very big indoor swimming pool, and since there is a lifeguard on duty I was able to sneak in a great workout in the fitness centre [which is conveniently housed right next to the pool] while my son and his friends had a blast swimming. Each room has terry cloth bathrobes, and an empty fridge which comes in very handy when you're travelling with children. During March break there are many activities with families in mind on the premises to keep you and your kids busy. We tried dogsledding [couldn't help feeling kinda terrible for the dogs they looked skinny and tired], then we went tubing on a small hill next to the hotel. If you're used to tubing at big places you'll get bored quickly by the tubing set up here, there's only one lane and I'd say it was very low key, best for if you have very young children.... anyone over 12 will give you an eyeroll :) It should be noted that the tubing closes at 4pm something the activity desk neglected to tell us when we purchased all of our tickets at 1:45pm [we'd also purchased the dog sledding tickets and you have to wait in line in order to get on a sled] so by the time we finished dog sledding and walked all the way over to where the tubing was, we only had 35mins left which isn't a whole heck of a lot of time to do tubing. Had we known we would have gone for tubing first then made our way to the dog sledding, or just done one activity in the afternoon instead of two, so do keep that in mind when you purchase tickets for activities! We had lunch at the hotel restaurant and this was the most disappointing part of our stay. The food was just so/so and not very good. I felt that the rooms were in need of updating, and that the toiletries were not very good quality for a fairmont hotel. Another odd thing is that the heating in the room was suffocating! It was so hot in the middle of the night that I had to get up and actually open up the windows and leave them open for a while, even though I had turned off the heat in the room when we arrived. All in all we had a wonderful time, the beds are super cozy and a nice touch is the friendly convivial atmosphere in the lobby. We spent loads of time in the lobby just lounging by the fireplace, enjoying a cocktail, with the kids drinking hot cocoa and hanging out, very nice!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadinehnadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We can't say enough great things about our stay at Chateau Montebello. Received a very warm welcome from the time we pulled up to unload our luggage. Service was superb at all times. The lobby is magnificent and we loved sitting by the huge fireplace with our drinks and playing card games or just relaxing and soaking it all in. The food was to die for!! So yummy and well worth the hefty prices. We originally planned to eat in the village but decided to eat at the hotel once we had tried the food. The Bistro Bar was our main choice for most meals but we enjoyed the breakfast a few mornings in the main dining room. The activities were plentiful with lots to do. We loved the dogsledding, the pool, tennis, curling and the sleigh ride. We were not disappointed with this hotel and would definitely return in the future!

Room Tip: Try to get the second floor so you do not hear footsteps of people running above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortPerry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you PortPerry2013 for your great feedback! We love to hear such comments, and it is exactly what we strive for on a daily basis!! I will gladly share with my team!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stopped here recently for brunch on our way to Mont Tremblant.

I have had brunch here before and have always been pleased, so expected a really nice experience. I was not disappointed - Montebello does brunch better than most! Huge quantity and variety, and all excellent quality. And of course, in a resort that is superb and unique in many ways.

If you are in Montreal or Ottawa and/or surrounding areas, find an excuse to go!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottawatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you ottawatraveler_11 for your feedback!

We are constantly working on ensuring we are providing our guests with the best Brunch! Our team is very good in ensuring they are delivering fresh, nicely presented and food of excellent quality, so it is great to hear such feedback!

Looking forward to seing you again! With the new highway 50, we are indeed closer than ever from Ottawa and Montreal...

Thank you!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Arriving without a reservation in the midst of a snow storm, we were welcomed warmly and soon found ourselves in a very nice room, with a historical account provided by the porter. The rooms are the original size as built in 1930, but have been re-decorated recently and are very comfortable. But the piece de resistance of the hotel is the main lobby: the massive six-sided firepace, surrounded by sofas, and surmounted by a wonderful teepee shaped roof. The dining room provides a wide vaiety of great selections and a huge wine list.

The only down-side is a tacky "sugar shack" they have erected inn the main lounge which is an absolute desecration of the classic 1930s architecture. Hopefully it will soon be gone.

The hotel offers a host of winter sports - everything but downhill skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross-Siobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear RossLToronto,

Thank you for choosing Le Château Montebello while in the midst of a snowstorm! We are glad you stopped and enjoyed a stay with us!

I appreciate your honnesty, and can understand how the Sugar Shack can be impressive in the middle of our lobby. We put it up only for the March break period and it is a real must with all, but I am taking good notes to seek a better location for it now!

Hoping to see you again, sincerely,

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
17.1 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
23 reviews
24.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
21.6 mi away
Hotel Lac Carling
Hotel Lac Carling
#2 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Chateau
Le Petit Chateau
#3 of 5 in Montebello
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Address: 392 Rue Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Price Range: $200 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the ordinary and experience a delightful retreat at Fairmont Le Château Montebello, the world's largest log cabin! Nestled in the heart of the scenic Montebello village, surrounded by nature, the hotel is famed for its rustic yet luxurious accommodations, excellent service and refined gastronomy. Historically founded as a private club in 1930, Fairmont Le Château Montebello has had the privilege of hosting many political figures, royalty and other celebrities. The resort is now an ideal destination both for leisure and business travelers. Entertainment, local cuisine, relaxation and a warm welcome is what you will come to expect as we want your experience to be truly unforgettable. Beautiful surroundings and year-round activities offer our guests countless possibilities of adventures, including golf, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, curling, tennis, squash as well as Canada's only Land Rover Off-Road Driving Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing