We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World's best hotel lobby?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We spent two nights at the world's biggest log cabin on the occasion of our daughter's wedding. Loved the rustic building and rooms. The bathroom was fine, but is kind of one-person-at-a-time. The hotel is pricey, but the price is commensurate with the facilities and excellent service; in fact, it's probably a bargain. Those guests that arrived on Friday tried their hand at curling in the evening; there was food and drink on hand in the curling club. On Saturday afternoon, wedding guests played hockey, went on a group sleigh ride, or went cross-country skiing. Some just went to the pool and then relaxed in the lobby, sitting in front of one of the fireplaces with a hot drink. The wedding was perfect, the Banquet/Events staff is extremely well organized, everything went off without a hitch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruceandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, Director of Sales at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello. It is always gratifying to know that we have met the needs and expectation of our guests. Comments such as yours confirm to us that we are maintaning consistently high standarts of services.

We look foward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello on your next visit to Montebello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,404 - 1,410 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

A true beautiful winter wonderland! My husband and I came for the weekend and enjoyed many of the great activities offered at the Château. Here are a few tips we would like to share:
1. The rooms near the lobby are noisy. We stayed in the Lacombe wing and enjoyed a quiet night.
2. The food is excellent! Make sure to reserve a table for dinner at the Chantiolles. We recommend the beef and the crème brûlée.
3. The cost of wine is ridiculous. Bring your own and enjoy it in your room. There is a SAQ within a 10 minute drive. While you are at the SAQ pick up a bottle of Sortilège, a maple flavoured whiskey.
4. Cross-country skiing is a must! You can rent skis for 15$. There is an easy 5 km trial the takes you around the entire property.
5. Bring your bathing suit. There is a very large pool and two hot tubs.
6. Bring a book and sit around the majestic six-faced fireplace.
7. The breakfast buffet is delicious! If staying on the weekend i wouldn't bother spending the extra 20$ per person for the Sunday brunch.

The only drawback to this place is the cost. There are many interesting activities (horse sleigh rides, curling, snowmobiling) but all are very pricy.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantal_less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, Director of Sales at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments following your stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope that we will have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future

Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont Le Château Montebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Visitors to Canada always seem to make their way to the Rocky Mountains to take in the stunning scenery. So they should. They should also not overlook a few gems in Eastern Canada such as the sheer comfort offered by the Chateau Montebello. This great wooden Valhalla (largest log cabin in the world) situated on the Ottawa River between Ottawa and Montreal should be a must for anyone who enjoys a winter getaway. You will feel the spirit of the cour de bois when you sit by the massive fireplace in the main hall after a cross country ski adventure. While the hotel is historic, and the rooms not that modern the ability to enjoy winter sports, excellent cuisine and true Quebecois hospitality will no doubt be the pinnacle of any visit to the Eastern half of Canada. Drinks are a bit expensive so be sure to bring a bottle or two of your favourite warm up.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, Director of Sales at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your last stay at Fairmont Le Château Montebello

It is always gratifying to know that we have met the needs and expectations of our guests. I have taken the liberty of passing along your comments to our colleagues, and I know that it will go a long way in making them feel that their efforts are worthwhile.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon to our beautiful hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Our stay at the Chateau Montebello was an excellent one. We stayed in a Jacquzzi suite and it was worth the extra expense! There were lots of activities available during the day, from cross country skiing to skating and snowshoeing. The spa was a great way to spend a cold afternoon! The facial was amazing!

The food at the main, formal restaurant (Aux Chantignoles) was fantastic!

Little did I know that I was going to leave Montebello as a bride-to-be! What I didn't realize at the time (and know now!) was JUST how wonderful the staff were there. When we arrived, chocolate covered strawberries arrived in our room. (Should have been my first clue!). The Maitre 'D masterfully organized, with my now-fiance, the engagement, arranging for a special dessert to arrive after dinner, with the ring on top!

The next evening, we just went to the other restaurant, La Seigneurie Bistro. Somehow, they found out that we were the 'engaged couple' and to BOTH of our surprise, they came out with a complimentary dessert, the words "Congratulations" scrolled in chocolate!

I still remember this trip and will forever remember my engagement! Thank you to the Chateau staff for going above and beyond!
:)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, Director of Sales at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to to take this oppotunity to thank you for the kind and generous comments.

We would like to congratulate you for your proposal. The Chateau Montebello is offering many wedding packages, and we would be really happy to help you plan your wedding.

We look foward to welcoming you back to the Le Chateau Montebello on your next visit to Montebello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

As my title says the main room is amazing, great history in building. rooms were very average, maybe even below average. 2 lights in my room didn't work, the bathroom door would not stayed closed in our room as well as the tv remote didn't work. the pool was great, skating, tennis, horse riding all fantastic. The man running curling was extremely rude, we were extremely offended, also had many issues with staff making errors and embarrassing our company host. very unprofessional staff, however the greeter was fantastic as well as the admission staff and sleigh host. overall decent but not really worth the money. my spouse and i considered coming back for our anniversary but decided against it after our stay.
Not recommended as they are very disorganized.

Room Tip: All of our guests had double size beds on the main floor, they were not comfortable. would not recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gorablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, Director of Sales at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us at Fairmont Le Château Montebello
While, we are very pleased that you liked our main lobby, your comments regarding our service are very unusual.
Rest assured we will do a follow up with the department concerned. We continually seek to improve our service and facilities and your feedback will assist us in these efforts.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to our beautiful hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The best place in the world to spend a winter day is the lobby of the Montebello in front of the huge six sided fireplace sipping hot chocolate and reading with your family. Lots of outdoor activities are available in a beautiful winter wonderland. The indoor pool was 84F and the atmosphere is right out of the Golden Age of The Canadian Pacific Railroad Hotels, a feeling that has not been lost and must be experienced to be appreciated. Our sixth visit here and will return as many times as we can. The staff is one of the most helpful and friendly of any resort that we have visited.

Room Tip: A view of the Ottawa River is a excellent choice. Rooms are rustic and charming, would not change a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livsworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Don't be mistaken, this is a nice place, but I thought it would be more better, The rooms are old and dusty, carpet needed to be cleaned, had allergies all night. It is a lovely place with a lot of charm, but I would not have stayed there a week.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank decibelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, Director of Sales at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your last stay with us at Fairmont Le Château Montebello
Guest comments are very important to our operation and are taken very seriously. Your constructive comments regarding our rooms are very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Montebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
17.1 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
25 reviews
24.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
0.8 mi away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hotel Lac Carling
Hotel Lac Carling
#2 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Chateau
Le Petit Chateau
#3 of 5 in Montebello
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Address: 392 Rue Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Price Range: $188 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the ordinary and experience a delightful retreat at Fairmont Le Château Montebello, the world's largest log cabin! Nestled in the heart of the scenic Montebello village, surrounded by nature, the hotel is famed for its rustic yet luxurious accommodations, excellent service and refined gastronomy. Historically founded as a private club in 1930, Fairmont Le Château Montebello has had the privilege of hosting many political figures, royalty and other celebrities. The resort is now an ideal destination both for leisure and business travelers. Entertainment, local cuisine, relaxation and a warm welcome is what you will come to expect as we want your experience to be truly unforgettable. Beautiful surroundings and year-round activities offer our guests countless possibilities of adventures, including golf, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, curling, tennis, squash as well as Canada's only Land Rover Off-Road Driving Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing