We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No other place like it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Le Chateau Montebello July 22 to the 25th--had a great time. It didn't hurt that the weather was absolutely perfect.

This is such a unique property--the world's largest log structure, built on the banks of the Ottawa River.

The service was impeccable, the property itself very nicely maintained--the grounds so easy to wander around on. I got up every morning, grabbed a cup of coffee from the dining room, picked up the daily paper from the lobby and read it on a chaise lounge on the back lawn--just a few feet from the river.

Yes, I have read other reviews. This place is not perfect and there are some things people would like to see changed. Uhuh, the bathrooms are small. Some of the floors creak. Perhaps the parking lot needs to be re-paved. And it's not cheap to stay here. Just keep in mind; this is a unique and historic treasure--a mammoth hotel, made from logs over 80 years ago. If it were built 5 years ago, the bathrooms would probably be bigger. There would be more sound-proofing. But if the bars and restaurants cut their prices in half--and if it only costs $59.00 a day to stay here, it wouldn't be the same experience. If you want that kind of experience, you can find that at a Holiday Inn.

My advice, go stay at this place. Appreciate it for what it is--the only place on earth like it. Spend a few moments in the lobby. They must have the biggest fireplace on earth! Take a minute or two to study how they built the lobby. I promise you'll be amazed. And if you happen to be around on Sunday morning--do the Brunch!

My wife and I definately plan to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inglz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at Chateau Montebello at the beginning of July. It is a gorgeous log hotel. The hotel has a two pools indoor and outdoor and lovely lawns which reach the river equipped with Muskoka chairs and some foot rests where you can enjoy the beverage of your choice (there is an outdoor bar). The crown jewel is the lobby where one can relax on an assortment of couches and chairs while gazing at the enormous stone fireplace -- of course, it wasn't in use in July, but I still couldn't keep my eyes off of it. The lobby bar is a nice place to select a signature cocktail and listen to the fabulous pianist who indulged me by playing several of my requests. There are nice shops in the lobby as well. The dining is amazing and you can eat at several locations...from a lunchtime BBQ outdoors to their famous Sunday brunch. We chose the buffet for lunch in the diningroom and it had an interesting selection and was very good. The mussels and rabbit were quite nice. Supper we enjoyed out doors and there again we had a buffet style BBQ with lots of choices of all sorts: all kinds of fish, lamb, beef, chicken and on and on. The staff were wonderful from check in until check out. We had a corner room which I would highly recommend as they are bigger and more private than the average rooms. I absolutely loved the woodsy decor (a bear lamp!), the bed was REALLY comfortable and the windows opened onto the lovely grounds that surround the hotel. There are some art deco touches in the room and bathroom and a lovely big TV. The meals are rather expensive, but if you're looking for a hotel that seems to have come right out of a movie made in the 1930's or 40's where you'll feel like a movie star lounging at the piano with your lemon drop coctail, well, this is the place for you. It's also perfect for anyone who likes nature as there are biking and walking trails as well as horse back riding. Many families with kids, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolannewolkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Since Fairmont took over they have made some much needed changes, Our friends were impressed and awed by the beauty of this rustic hotel and so were we to see so may changes. We used to go for years for a day trip or to spend several days. The service is wonderful. You always feel special wether you are aguest of the hotel or in just for day. What is nice, is that most people don't know they can go and spend the day. If you go swimming in their outdoor/indoor pools it's $15.00 per person with towels included. Some activities are free like Horsehoes, putting, Badmington is $5.00 per person, per hour. You can bike, horseback riding, hiking, go on a pantoon, golf,. They have a large Marina.
Their Sunday Bunch is to die for. Pricy $44.00 per person, but worth it. We tasted Rabbit pate, smoked duck, an assortment of unsual salads. Tere is alot to choose from, decisions, decisions. It all lokks and tastes so good. If you choose to go outside and spend less on your meals, they several outside areas with a huge sidewalk canape for the guests to eat at a more afordable price. E.G. Sandwiches, burgersetc $5.00 to 12.00, or a more sumptious dinner on the terrace. You can bring your own lunch/pic-nic. If you choose not to do any actviies, you can sit under their massive trees or sit on a bench facing the Ottawa River, Read, sleep, do whatever pleases you. If it rains you can go inside. The view is magnificent. There are several balconnies to sit on beatiful couches or play games at their tables. The pool has a connecting tunnel to the inside pool. No reason not to enjoy. We all enjoyed a wonderful day of relaxation. May your day be as exceptional as ours. P.S.-- Even after not being there for many years, some of the staff we knew back them remembered us, All in a great place to go. They even having winter activies. look them up, on their web. If, itell you anymore, I may write a book. Ha! HA1 Then to end our Day visit. We drove for an hour to Lac-Lemay Casino. in Gatineau from the hotel. Sometimes we neglect our own place we live in to do things.

Room Tip: When booking be always as nice as you can be, don't be demanding. Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sixteen066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauM0ntebell0, Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

I thank you for writing this review following your day at Fairmont Le château Montebello. It is always gratifying to know that we have met the expectations of our guests.

Please note that all visitors are welcome in the hotel but unfortunatly picnics are not allowed on the site.
The outdoor pool is reserved for resident guests of the hotel. Non resident guest have access to the indoor pool only and fees apply.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

It is an old creaky wooden building, very nice to look at but not ideal to live in. Most of the staff also look like they have worked there most of their very long lives, especially in the dining room and the reception. Don't look to them to get out of their away if you are asking for something special.
The biggest disapointment is over the lack of recreational activities. You would think that a big hotel, off there in the woods, by the river, would have lots to offer in recreational activities, well, no they don't.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy-Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauM0ntebell0, Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us at Fairmont Le Château Montebello.

Your comment regarding the lack of activities is not usual for us has we are a family oriented hotel and we are proud to offer more than 20 activities during the summer season. We also have an activity program placed in the room and we have all kind of activities organized by our activity team such as beach volleyball, tai chi lesson, aquafitness, mini-olympics, golf clinic free of charge for our guest.We are sorry to hear that you did not find activity to your liking.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We booked our stay with a Travel Zoo package that included golf and kayak rental for slightly less than the regular rate for just one night stay. Otherwise this is a property we likely never would bother to visit (out of our budget for just hotel). The hotel and property were beautiful! We had hoped to be able to check in a bit early, as we had a tee time for 1:50, but when we arrived around 12:30 our room was not ready so they stored our bags for us and we went on to golf. The staff is VERY friendly and extremely helpful in telling us about the hotel amenities, where to find things etc. When we returned to check in the bellman from earlier remembered us and had our bags ready and waiting before we had even finished checking in!
We didn't eat on the property, although we would have liked to try the BBQ on the terrace, the price per person was just more than we could justify. We went into Montebello and had a nice dinner on a patio before returning to the hotel for a soak in the hot tub. The pool was about to close so there was one other family there and that was it. The staff at the pool was also very friendly and did not make us feel as though we needed to get out (although we made sure to leave before the scheduled closing time).
The rooms are very cozy and beautiful, very comfortable bed, bathrobes on our room and we had a nice view of the river. I loved the decor of the hotel. Being summer we didn’t spend much time inside, but the lobby was beautiful and I can see why it is such an attraction in the fall and winter.
The kayaking we went on was at their nearby property Fairmont Kenauk. Neither of us are avid kayakers, but found it to be a waste of time, besides refreshing our paddling skills (been about 13 years since I was last in a kayak). The lake where the kayaking and canoeing is very small, and not much to see. It was a clear sunny, calm day and most of the time we had the whole lake to ourselves (doesn’t appear to be any motorized boats allowed on this particular lake which was nice). We enjoyed ourselves, but had expected to spend 2 hours or so paddling around and had made it around half the lake in less than half an hour. Oh well, we’ll skip it next time. We did consider buying another one of these packages to go again in the fall; I would not hesitate to book another similar type thing that includes some type of activity with the stay.

One tip, besides the town of Montebello, if you head west past the hotel on hwy 148 there is another town Papineauville less than 10 min away. Here there are more options for food and most importantly GAS. There is one gas station in Montebello, and the price was over 5 cents more than just up the road in Papineauville when we were leaving to head to Ottawa.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This hotel was recommended to us through a user on Tripadvisor and I have to say I’m so pleased we stopped off for a night here. When you walk into the hotel reception you can’t help but to be impressed with the giant chimney stack in the centre of the floor and the way the each floor has a wrap around balcony the looks down into the lobby area, it really is something else. The room was old fashioned but in a good (log cabin) kind of way and very spacious and the famously huge and comfy Fairmont bed did not disappoint.

I think if I was to make on criticism it would be that the bathroom is pretty small and quite dated, I was a little disappointed considering this was a Fairmont.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

beautifull hotel, but if you are looking for rest forget about the rooms on main floor. I stayed 2 nights and both nights could hear people walking above my head, came back home exhausted! Beds were not great either, matress was confortable but my husband had to use the second double bed since the box spring was really low quality and everytime one of us moved the other git shaken up like in a water bed, awfull!
a liitle pricey for no sleep, and carpet a little in need of vacuuming as ell in commun areas.
One good thing to say, this is a beautiful hotel, food was avearge and pricey as well.
Staff was really welcoming
We came back late on saturday and the band playing downstairs really rocked, don t know if the drinks were rocky pricing as well!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franny2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauM0ntebell0, Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your stay with us.
I note that you were not entirely satisfied with all aspects of your visit and you may rest assured that your comments have been brought to the attention of all concerned.
It is only through the valuable feedback that you have provided that we can implement corrective actions that will ensure that we can maintain and develop its high standards of quality for all our guests.
Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
17.1 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
23 reviews
24.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
0.8 mi away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Chateau
Le Petit Chateau
#3 of 5 in Montebello
9 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Lac Carling
Hotel Lac Carling
#2 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Address: 392 Rue Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Price Range: $189 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the ordinary and experience a delightful retreat at Fairmont Le Château Montebello, the world's largest log cabin! Nestled in the heart of the scenic Montebello village, surrounded by nature, the hotel is famed for its rustic yet luxurious accommodations, excellent service and refined gastronomy. Historically founded as a private club in 1930, Fairmont Le Château Montebello has had the privilege of hosting many political figures, royalty and other celebrities. The resort is now an ideal destination both for leisure and business travelers. Entertainment, local cuisine, relaxation and a warm welcome is what you will come to expect as we want your experience to be truly unforgettable. Beautiful surroundings and year-round activities offer our guests countless possibilities of adventures, including golf, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, curling, tennis, squash as well as Canada's only Land Rover Off-Road Driving Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing