We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lieu historique national du Canada du Manoir-Papineau
Ranked #5 of 11 things to do in Montebello
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Upon arriving, we sensed that it would be a great experience. Not unlike a great-house. After a long and somewhat pleasant walk through the woods, we finally arrived at the main manor only to notice a tour entering the house. We find out inside the office that we needed to arrive early to join the tour and, even though they had just started, the person in the office would not let us join that tour and that we would have to wait over one hour (no self guided tours allowed).

Unless you call ahead, good luck getting to see the main house. If you speak only English... Tough luck. There are only 2 tours available per day. The staff working the office is less than friendly and not very helpful.

Also BEWARE of tons of poisin ivy along the path leading up to the house. Parks Canada did not bother removing these but rather erected a sign. Nice effort guys.

The other houses that we could visit ourselves were ok... But basic.

So much more could be done here. I recommend that you visit elsewhere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth_pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    32
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Interesting, but not fully restored yet.”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Manor is officially owned by the Chateau Montebello and is on their grounds. Despite this, the site is managed and maintained by Parks Canada. The tour was great and staff is knowledgeable. The only disappointment is that only the main floor of the estate has been restored. The basement (kitchen and coal room) had been destroyed by previous owners. The second floor of the estate had not been restored either and was therefore off limits.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik_of_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting. peaceful and relaxing surroundings”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

It is loacated in the middle of forest and looking over the river. It used be residence of Papineau's family. This manoir consists of many building in large complex. There are two way to get there. One is from street of 500 Rue Notre Dame and stroll about 500 meters among the forest. The other entrance is from Fairmont le Chateau Montebello Hotel. This peaceful place exudes an air of beauty. It adorns the fine architecture of the manor house and estate's landscaping.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eunwoo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had a wonderful tour at this museum, and we learned so much about the history of the area.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank 8achan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Elegant”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

A simple walk, easy to view building and grounds.
A short stroll from Le Chateau Montebello.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lieu historique national du Canada du Manoir-Papineau also viewed

Montebello, Outaouais Region
Montebello, Outaouais Region
 
Montebello, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Lieu historique national du Canada du Manoir-Papineau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing