We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only semi-affordable hockey tournament option”
Review of Motel Bel Eau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel Bel Eau
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Only semi-affordable hockey tournament option”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This hotel is in St. Andre d'Avellin, not in Montebello.

We stayed here for a hockey tournament in early December. One night for 3 people cost $140 for two queen size beds. Pluses - clean, walking distance to the local bistro, safe area, small fridge. Minuses - thin covers, extra-thin pillows. The only other option we knew of was Chateau Montebello which is easily $200+ a night. I was almost happy that our team lost their game so that I wouldn't have to spend another night at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CriCriFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Motel Bel Eau, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear CriCriFischer, thank you for your review. Our motel is in the heart of Montebello (600 Notre-Dame, Motebello), not St. Andre-d'Avelin, which is 20kms away.

Please note that we did not charge you $140 for one night. This is in fact for two nights. We gave your a special price of $94.95+tx per night for 3 people. The fact that your team has lost and you cancelled the second night at the last minute left us no choice to charge you cancellation fee. Please note that our cancellation policy actually states that the full amount of the night will be charge for cancellations with less than 48 hours of notice. We only charged you $30. We are very sorry that your team has lost but we just wanted to clarify our pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
28
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montebello, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Whilst travelling from Quebec to Toronto we came upon this motel. Having stayed in four or five others during the last 10 days, this is the best one so far. Though our room was right on the road we were not disturbed. The room had a kitchen/diner, fully equiped, seperate bedroom and bathroom with bath/shower. We initially only intended a nights stay but decided to prolong our stay. Though the manager is oriental, we had no dificulties comunicating. I'd recomend this motel to anyone and all for $75.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed at BelEau for a hockey tournament.
Owners are Asian and both do not speak well French or English. They were hard to understand and to communicate with.
Our room (#4) was non smoking but because of air vents set up we were getting the smoke from all other rooms and/or from smokers on the outside.
The refrigerator was very noisy and had to be turned off in the middle of the night.
The beds were very hard and pillows were flat.
I was told by other members staying that they were told they needed to pay an extra 20$ to get water in a regular room bath.
Up side, the room was very clean.
For a "Special deal" of $140, I will not return and I will not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qic013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Motel Bel Eau, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Qic013, thank you for your review. We have verified that the air vent is shut off and the fridge has been replaced. Please rest assured that we do not charge $20 extra for water in a regular bath. We charge a small premium for rooms with whirlpools only.

Please note that we did not charge you $140 for one night. This was in fact for two nights. We gave your a special price of $94.95+tx per night for 3 people. The fact you cancelled the second night at the last minute left us with no choice but to charge you cancellation fee. Please note that our cancellation policy actually states that the full amount of the night will be charge for cancellations with less than 48 hours of notice. We only charged you $30. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but we wanted to clarify our pricing info.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, TX
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

After sightseeing for most of the day in Ottawa we needed an overnight stay somewhere on the way to Montreal. Traveling through Montebello we found this small motel. Receptionist couldn't speak much English yet we managed to secure 3 rooms for the 6 of us (all couples) at $86/night. This was high priced yet better than the other alternatives: The Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello at $199/night. There are other motels in the area but we chose Motel Bel Eau.

This is a older two story motel with typical motel rooms with older furnishings and slight musty odor. You do not receive a breakfast with the nightly rate, however they do provide coffee in the lobby. My brother and I had to start the coffee maker since the morning receptionist hadn't made it to the hotel yet. You are given a key to the lobby coffee area when you check in.

There is a grocery store across the street and a cafe nearby. We opted for pastries for breakfast from the grocery store eating outside the motel watching the geese fly by. If you just need a place to stop for the night near Montebello then this is an okay alternative.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasCatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
16.5 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
22 reviews
24.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
74 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel Lac Carling
Hotel Lac Carling
#2 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Au Parfum des Saisons
Au Parfum des Saisons
#2 of 5 in Montebello
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Bel Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Bel Eau

Property: Motel Bel Eau
Address: 600 Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Bel Eau 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel Bel Eau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing