We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Hotel”
Review of Auberge Montebello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Montebello
Ranked #5 of 5 Montebello B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rustic Hotel”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed one night to attend a wedding down the street, so I did not have the opportunity to use all the amenities on site. Please note that taxi service is extremely limited in this town so plan WELL ahead or be prepared to walk/drive. The hotel is charming and the staff were great in both english and french (my french is a little rusty). The breakfast was good: bananas, cereal, juices, and make your own waffles. The room was a good size, the air conditioner in the room was a life saver, bed was comfortable, bathroom was in good condition and everything was clean. This is not a huge chain hotel, it is a local character hotel. All in all, I'm a happy customer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellow15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    13
    14
    18
See reviews for
19
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went there for our anniversary, had to pay up front, was told that there was breakfast served between 8 -11. The breakfast was stale cereals, a choice between toast (which you made) or cinnamon bagels, something that looked like a waffle mix (that you cook), 6 overly ripe bananas and cold hard boiled eggs. There is no bathrobes and we saw no cleaning person. We had a 2 night stay, so we had to go and ask for clean face clothes and towels. We were unable to take a shower since it did not work, only baths. I would not recommend this place except for a quick stop on your way somewhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montebello hotels

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family and I have been clients for a few years of this hotel. and fairly recent changes in the management of this hotel has brought massive improvements. Of course bear in mind that this is an "auberge", not a 5 star hotel, that being said the staff in particular will bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable and ensure you will be taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The location is absolutely wonderful, it is a very peaceful place. The staff is exceptionally friendly and very caring. They will do whatever it takes to make sure you are completely satisfied. The rooms are lovely. They are spacious and very clean. There is a good variety of foods to eat in the continental breakfast. The eating area and utensils are very clean aswell. The lobby has a very unique look to it. Overhall, it was a great experience staying here and I highly recommend it because it is very affordable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are very nice and they have a patio door that show a great view of the Outa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

No water to take shower, water in room taste horrible, they put ice bucket in room and there is no ice machine to be found. The breasfast is the cheapest on I ever saw.
If you can get a room elsewhere be my guess, one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at in my entire life. Not Recommended.
This hotel should be a 0 star.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PierreForget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Location is all they could offer! The blind was broken in two rooms that we asked to view. The towels could almost qualify as see though! Breakfast was terrible, some bread? Missing a ton of the nice to have items. They could lose the oil table cloths as wel. Building needs an entire makeover if they want to be a contender in Montebello. Forboding as you approachh, crumbling walkway etc. The artwork around the building was straight from a paint by numbers kit. Spikers over the bed were gross!.
Not going back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucinda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

As diehard motorcycle riders, we are always looking for places where we would "stay again" just in case our path takes us back to a certain locale. The Auberge Montebello is such a spot. We were received in a most friendly and welcoming fashion; the lady apologized that her best rooms were already taken, and still gave us a charming room with a river view. This converted school overlooks the Ottawa River and provides splendid views from its rooftop terrace. We did not use the pool or spa, but both looked fine to us. We enjoyed the charm of the decor and had a fine glass of wine at the front bar, served by another charming local lady. We decided to forego the on-site dining and ate in the town, but we heard other guests remarking very favourably on the house's cuisine. We slept comfortably in a nice, clean room with a powerful air conditioner (it was 32C when we arrived) and enjoyed the included continental breakfast the next morning before continuing our tour of the Northern Shore of Quebec. We would definitely use the Auberge Montebello again should we pass this way.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
16.3 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
20 reviews
24.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Au Parfum des Saisons
Au Parfum des Saisons
#2 of 5 in Montebello
36 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Lac Carling
Hotel Lac Carling
#2 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Montebello

Property: Auberge Montebello
Address: 676 Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montebello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Montebello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the old world charm of the Auberge Montebello, an elegant Victorian mansion whose inner doors open into a modern extension, complete with exercise room, rooftop sauna, garden, swimming pool, and full service spa. Welcome to the Auberge Montebello, a hotel with a difference. The Auberge Montebello is the ideal getaway. For those special “spoil me” occasions. For the business “road warrior” at the end of a busy day or for that important meeting with business colleagues. For travelers who prefer a more relaxed pace. Our doors are open to you. Once you enter the Auberge Montebello you will discover our unique approach to personal service. You will find fine dining in our elegant and licensed Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing