We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience at Windigo”
Review of Le Village Windigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Village Windigo
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mont Laurier
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another great experience at Windigo”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We just returned from another great week at Windigo! What an amazing spot! If you are looking for a peaceful, restful & nature setting resort, this is the place to be. My husband and I love it there - I'm ready to head back tomorrow. We're already booked ourselves another week next summer! We stay in a condo (lake view). They are super well appointed...everything you could possibly need. Clean and the view is just amazing. The lake is beautiful and quiet. The beach is clean, sandy and no weeds. Plenty of lounge chairs and their comfortable too. We enjoyed the water sports that are available (at no charge). Plenty of kayak, canoe, paddle boats. And when on land, we like to take a mountain bike out for a spin (again no charge). The sunsets are amazing, a different one every night. All the staff are super great and friendly! Special thanks to Ben at the Reception for his amazing attention to detail & pleasant & helpful "way of being" from the moment we arrived till our farewell. Ben, we miss you already. L

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    60
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
95
86
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a great time at Windigo, but even with the snow we were disapointed not to have access to the skidoos. They told us that it was too early season and not enough people to have them brought over from a near village. Food was ok but not exceptionnal (uncooked potatoes..). One night, some teachers had a Christmas party, they were so loud we had to go back to the chalet to finish our meal, since we coud not hear our own thoughts.... We felt as if we were at the sugar shack... So not very romantic. They should avoid those kind of group or put them elsewhere.

The luxurious chalets are amazing with the big windows! I think the place is perfect for a small group (4 to 6) since you can rent a chalet with a spa on the balcony.

As for the spa, don't go, the towel I had in my face smelled of moisture and she did not even ask what kind of massage I wanted.. so very amateur.

At least the young lady at the desk was very helpful and so nice!!
Overall we had a nice time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterflies08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My family and I have been to Village Windigo twice and we only have nice things to say about this nice jewel in the forest. The owners have done a lot of improvements on their amenities and services. We have been this last month and the staff went above and beyond to satisfy our needs. The receptionists are very friendly, courteous and welcoming. There are a number of activities that kids can enjoy when it is raining outside like the games and the Wii room. Also, canoes and kayaks and free for anybody to enjoy. We always enjoy our forest walk in the morning.
They have also added one thing that we really liked during our last visit. Every condo had its own deck, chairs and table set and a BBQ. During our 2008 visit, we had to share 1 BBQ with all 4 condos.
Nature is absolutely fabulous and it is a well deserved relaxation time for those who love and enjoy outdoors. So, I am sending my salutations to those who are in charge of Village Windigo and please keep up the good work. We enjoy your place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturelover057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Let me start by saying that this place is amazing! Our company took us on a retreat here for three nights. we ate all of our meals in the restaurant. The food was excellent, but be prepared to have your meals last approx 2-3hrs long.

we stayed in the three bedroom, two bedroom, and single condos. Ben from windigo coordinated our whole stay and was amazing in accomodating us with any and all needs!

The cottages and condo's are beautiful! There is something magical about this place.

We all received massages at the spa - average.

The beach was very well kept and the grounds were very clean.

Cant wait to go back and bring my family!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessi_Nessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I will never return to this place as the phone receptionist was rude, the food was a disappointment, the rate is high for the quality and the way they dealt with the fees was dishonest. When I called to enquire about availability, the receptionist was impatient, when i felt ill they did not even allow change of date, then they overcharged us and failed to reimburse. The rooms were nice but unfortunately our experience was compromised by these unpleasant factors...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ayai155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voyageurinsolite, Propriétaire at Le Village Windigo, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear customer,
It is never a pleasure to read such an experience for an hotel owner.
Following the information that I can get, at the time of your booking, they were no beachside condo left. You made a booking for a forest side condo with an option for a beachside condo if one will become available . You asked to cancell your reservation but our cancell policy during Christmas and New Year holidays does not allowed such. As you request at your booking, we moved you to a beachside condo with a better view hoping to fullfill your request. The charge is of course different. And you criticize the overcharge.
I can understand that you might be upset because we refused your cancellation but it is definitely not a reason to criticize the service you get.

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a fabulous 2 night getaway at Le Village Windigo.
We had a lovely unit with a well equipped kitchen, including stove, microwave, dishwasher, large fridge and a washer/dryer. We had a wood burning fireplace that we enjoyed one rainy afternoon. There was a BBQ out back for our use as well, however, for breakfast and dinner, we chose to dine in the fabulous “Les Berges” restaurant. The cuisine in the evening was absolutely outstanding ! After an amazing home made chowder, followed by an appetizer, I had a salmon dish that was to die for while my wife chose the daily soup, escargots in a creamy brie sauce, followed by surf and turf. Dessert and coffee were also included in the table d’hote. We had a sweet waitress who served us so well. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choices.
We rented an RV right on the property and cruised the area for a couple of hours. There were 2 tennis courts, however, this trip did not have time to play.
The beach was beautiful with plenty of chairs and umbrellas for all as well as several boats (peddleboats, kayaks, canoes) to cruise the lovely waters of Baskatong Reservoir.
Although we had to come back to reality, we do look forward to heading back up for another stay at The Windigo for some more R & R.
Sincerely,
Sheldon & Linda Kagan

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheldonKagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This is a marvelous place!!
The condos are spacious, with big windows, and beautiful views, completely equipped (microwave, fridge, oven, all you want, even barbecue outside), super super clean. You have access to a beach that is well taken care of, and is full equipped with pedalos, kayak, canoe, etc...
I cannot tell you more... you need to go!!
Just one thing: take along tea or cereal or what you want to eat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont Laurier hotels
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Mont-Laurier
17.7 mi away
Super 8 Mont Laurier
Super 8 Mont Laurier
#3 of 7 in Mont Laurier
43 reviews
18.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Mont Laurier
Comfort Inn - Mont Laurier
#4 of 7 in Mont Laurier
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mont Laurier
Quality Inn Mont Laurier
#5 of 7 in Mont Laurier
30 reviews
18.5 mi away
Complexe DIX 80 Hotellerie Et Restaurant
17.7 mi away
Gite au Pied du Courant
Gite au Pied du Courant
#1 of 4 in Mont Laurier
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Village Windigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Village Windigo

Property: Le Village Windigo
Address: 548, Chemin du Windigo | Ferme-Neuve, Mont Laurier, Quebec J0W 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Mont Laurier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mont Laurier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Village Windigo 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Village Windigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village Windigo Hotel Mont Laurier
Le Village Windigo Mont Laurier, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing