We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average; old rooms and installation: needs urgent modernization”
Review of Owl's Head

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mansonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Owl's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mansonville
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Below average; old rooms and installation: needs urgent modernization”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

1)Tried to cancel a few days after we did the reservation and a few days before the check-in date since we were not able to get ski lessons for our kids at the ski center. The Hotel refused to do it unless they kept our deposit. We were finally lucky to get very good ski lessons for our kids.
2)They asked for the payment of the room at the check-in. This is unusual since it this normally done at the check-out. (they just take a print of your credit card)
3)Rooms are very outdated (mid 80's), old carpet with stains, walls need to repainted
4)Kitchen (microwave, oven, floor...) were not clean. They don't pass the vacuum cleaner everyday.
5)Supposed to be non-smoking, but our room smell cigarette
6)They didn't tell about reservation for the Spa...The kids were very disapointed when we showed up and not allowed to go. When we finally got there, the Sauna was not working, and the place was not very clean anyway.
7)Well located for ski, just have to cross the street and you are on the slope.
8)Lost in the middle of nowhere. There is nothing to do, no CD or DVD in the room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tetrault001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We just came back from Owl's Head. We stayed at the slopeside Apartment/Hotel. It was a fabulous trip. The skiing had something for everyone (we have intermediate to expert skiiers in our family). The accomodation was very large and was fully stocked. It was really convenient to the hill. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. There was a hot tub and sauna in a seperate spa area. It was by reservation so when it's your turn, you have it all to yourselves. Only two slight negatives were: the beds were a bit too firm and the sauna didn't work some of the time. It's definitely a family holiday - - we mostly just stayed in and played games. We brought our own DVD player and some movies as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed at the Owl's Head "Apartment-Hotel", which is not to be confused with the accommodations above the ski lodge.

The front desk staff were quite friendly, although we were surprised that one staff member was unaware that you can cross-country ski on the Owl's Head golf course (should one want to do that in addition to the great downhill skiing on offer).

Onto the accommodations: We were immediately impressed that our condo had a foyer (as opposed to our front door opening directly into the kitchen or living room, for example). However, this didn't quite offer the additional privacy that one would expect, as the foyer included another door that could access an adjoining condo; if we had rented two side-by-side condos, this door would have been a nice touch, but in our case all it did was diminish the sound isolation between rooms.

More important than that door, though, was the bedroom (an entirely separate room), which was spacious and clean, like the rest of the condo. Across the hall was the bathroom, which, like the bedroom, was straightforward in its layout.

The kitchenette, with bar counter, and lots of counter space in general, was perfect for us. All of the necessary cooking-and-eating gear was supplied, and was clean.

On the other side of the bar was the dining room. No frills, but nice enough.

Part of the open-concept kitchen and dining room was the living room. One of the chairs was in desperate need of reupholstering, but that was quickly forgotten about once we lit up the fully-stocked wood fireplace.

The only letdown was the hot tub, which was situated in the corner of a seemingly undesigned, tiled room in the basement. Zero ambience there, and judging by our burning eyes, a bit too much chlorine might have been added to the tub's water.

If you're looking for a ski-in/ski-out at Owl's Head, it's hard to imagine a better choice than the "Apartment-Hotel".

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exploring-Our-Planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

This is our 4th trip to Owl's Head in 6 years. We keep coming back because of the reasonable price, the ski instructions, the friendliness of the staff and the excellent skiing.

The apartment/hotel is basic accommodations, nothing fancy, but clean. The kitchen has the bare necessities. During the week, Owl's Head is empty, you will have the place to yourself. The weekends are busy. But even on a Saturday, you never have to wait on a lift line for long.

My children enjoy the lessons and the Thursday "races". The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The downside is teenagers could get bored. After skiing, there is not much to do and you are far away from any action. If you are bringing a teen, bring a friend and lots of stuff to do at night (we even bring our own VCR since there is none in the rooms).

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank KADConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2006

First you will have to escuse my english, it is not my first langage !
We went to Owl's head during the 'ontario' march break (different from the Quebec one), we did not have a nice weather (it rained 3 days on 5)but noone could change it !!!
We rented a condo for 2, and it was really confortable and spacious (with a pull out bed in extra for guests). The kitchen was fully equiped (big fridge and oven), the cleaning service is changing the towels,garbage every day.
In every condo there is a 'real' wood cheminey and they provide you the wood.
The resort is direct on the tracks, and you do not have to take your car to access. Just go out and put your skies on, here you are.
The tracks are very well groomed. We never had to wait on the chair lifts.
The people are very nice, and in case somebody get sick, they reimbourse you the lift ticket for the day.
They have special packages for the sunday to friday really interesting . The ski lessons are at a really good price.
We are used to ski in Europe and we were really surprise of the good conditions we encounted.
We aready booked for next year. See you there !

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansonville
14.0 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
13.9 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
16.8 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sutton
31 reviews
15.7 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
14.1 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owl's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl's Head

Property: Owl's Head
Address: 40 Chemin du Mont Owl's Head, Mansonville, Quebec J0E 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Mansonville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mansonville
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Owl`s Head Hotel Mansonville
Owl's Head Mansonville, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing