We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was purely our pleasure and luck finding this B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Dufour & Bouchard
Ranked #10 of 40 La Malbaie B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was purely our pleasure and luck finding this B&B”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I have been to many B&Bs and this one is, by far, sitting on top of the list for exceptional hosting, quality delicious breakfast, and very satisfactory rooms. Micheline and Bernard are gracious and very warm hosts and happy to introduce their hometown Charlevoix. Being foodies, we were beyond ecstatic by the spread of warm, fresh, healthy, yet delicious food in front of us every morning. Everything was homemade from the jams to the Quebec cretons (pork pate) to the spiced bread and grandma's souffle recipes. You could taste the love and the passion behind everything that was prepared by Micheline, and she used only local products (the Charlevoix region has fertile soil and an abundant amount of farms for cattles and milk products). We still salivate when thinking of her homemade maple crunch muesli (made with dates, grapes, granola, oats, thick yogurt and cream, topped with mint leaf), as it truly made an impression on us, we never thought muesli could be SO good. She was the pioneer behind this type of breakfast in the region years ago, and it's good to know we came to the source. There is a separate access stairs to your bedrooms upstairs, and you have your own kitchen and lounging area to prepare for your picnics if necessary. The showerheads (room 3) was so powerful and hot, I loved it after a long day of kayaking/hiking.
If you are a food lover and want to meet some very nice and warm people in Charlevoix, we highly recommend you visit La Maison Dufour & Bouchard

Room Tip: Choose room #3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed a one night stay at this B&B. The hosts were generous, gracious and accommodating. The breakfast was beyond our expectations and we ended up staying past our departure time just to do justice to the many delicious courses. We started with a delicious smoothy and ended with delicate French cookies with several courses in between. All were served in their nicely appointed dining room.
Elaine K

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wwayfarer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this B&B and I have to say, this is by far, one of the best stay ever experienced in all the B&Bs we've been to. Our hosts were very nice, always there to help, guide or suggest things to do. They know the area very well and are very accomodating. The bed was cushy and very confortable with many layers of bed sheets. Very clean and the jaccuzi in the beutiful backyard was a nice addition to what we were used to in other B&Bs. Last but certainly not least, the 4 course breakfast are to die for, in an amazingly good way. Freshly made smoothy, a nice "verrine", jam made from scratch, home made cookie or pastry, main dish is accompanied with croissant, toast and other good stuff all made fresh and cheese from La Malbaie. All these elements are made fresh everyday and all these are different everyday. We have never eaten the same thing twice. La recette de beurre de pomme est excellente, Merci encore pour la recette. Nous esperons que vous avez aimer le fromage...:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascain, France
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent 4 nights with a friend in this property and the only thing i want to say is that it worths to be experimented ! The 4 course breakfast is just the best i've ever savored ! Micheline is very attentive and proud to present and explain her own breakfast preparations, while Bernard is still listening and ready to help you. Actually it is more than a breakfast, it is a culinary experience ! The rest of the amenities is just perfect, the room is clean, not that big but enough to rest and sleep when it's time to do, there's a small kitchenette just out the rooms, where you can cook a quick stuff for evening. Also there is a computer and internet in the boudoir, and lots of touristic informations about la malbaie and the area. You can enter the room by the rear of the house, without going through the house, which gives you maximum autonomy. It's clear that the owners love what they do, it's the perfect exemple of good alchemy between good business and hospitality. This place is just a "must-go", you just have to try it out to make your own idea !
Nous avons passé 4 nuits avec un ami dans cet établissement et la seule chose que je veux dire, c'est que ça vaut d'être expérimenté! Le petit déjeuner 4 plats est tout simplement le meilleur que j'ai jamais savouré! Micheline est très attentionnée et fier de présenter et d'expliquer ses préparations de petit déjeuner, alors que Bernard est toujours à l'écoute et prêt à vous aider. En fait, c'est plus qu'un petit déjeuner, c'est une expérience culinaire ! Le reste des équipements est tout simplement parfait, la chambre est propre, pas très grande mais assez pour se reposer et dormir quand c'est le moment, il y a une petite kitchenette juste à l'extérieur des chambres, où vous pouvez cuisiner un truc rapide pour le soir. Il y a aussi un ordinateur e Internet dans le boudoir, et de nombreuses informations touristiques sur La Malbaie et la région. Vous pouvez entrer dans la chambre par l'arrière de la maison, sans passer par la maison, ce qui vous donne un maximum d'autonomie. Il est clair que les propriétaires aiment ce qu'ils font, c'est le parfait exemple de l'alchimie entre une bonne affaire et une bonne hospitalité. Cet endroit est tout simplement un "must-go", il vous suffit de l'essayer pour faire votre propre idée!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The 3 course breakfast was worth the stay by itself but everything else about this charming bed and breakfast was fantastic too. Nice room, super comfortable bed, and the owners we're super nice and very helpful. We had a great weekend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flakfizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Malbaie hotels
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
0.9 mi away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#3 of 13 in La Malbaie
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge des Falaises
Auberge des Falaises
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
#11 of 13 in La Malbaie
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Au Petit Berger
Hotel Au Petit Berger
#6 of 13 in La Malbaie
173 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Dufour & Bouchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Dufour & Bouchard

Property: Maison Dufour & Bouchard
Address: 18, rue Laure-Conan, Appt#1 | Charlevoix, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in La Malbaie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Dufour & Bouchard 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison Dufour & Bouchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Dufour & Bouchard La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing