We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow ~ What a Beautiful Spot ~ Wonderful Accomodation, Food & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge des Falaises
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow ~ What a Beautiful Spot ~ Wonderful Accomodation, Food & Service”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My husband and I spent a weekend at this lovely auberge. We reserved a delux room on the third floor with 2 meals per day for 2 days. What a beautiful room! The view was incredible. I can not remember lodging so lovely. Previous reviews have mention "dated" but the bathroom was very new, the paint fresh. The staff attentive, and so pleasant. The food exceptional. Good weather was a bonus. Just a lovely spot - yes, quiet but so relaxing. Pool has an incredible view and is clean. Free wifi. And again, the view from the rooms and dining room was just breath taking. I would recommend this auberge and we look forward to returning again. The museum at the bottom of the hill is very worthwhile, and only about an hour to take in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrealCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    79
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
191
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
laval
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed at the Auberge Des falaises for 2 days the past weekend with my wife. I had a room with no view wich was ok because it was a bit cheaper. My problem is that we had no privacy at all, there is 3 windows with small blinds that do not cover the window completely so anybody could see directly in the room and also n the bathroom samething. Also, water from shower would go from way too hot to really cold (not just a small variation). Food was exellent ( one of the best meal I had in my life) specially at dinner but you pay the price and I was told that tip was included but in fact they charge it to you when you check out on you bill.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzz22_qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Auberge des Falaises was a bit of a dissapointment; It did not live up to our expectations of a 4* property. We stayed in the annex. The rooms were large but had no charm and needed re-decorating/new carpeting. ...more like a standard motel. However, the views of the Saint Lawrenece River from the balcony were magnificent. The bathroom was a good size, but needed remodeling/updating. The breakfasts were excellent. We did not eat dinner there. I believe that for the price, one can probably find places with more charm.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Motel type rooms/no charm.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpertTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Enjoyed a spacious "junior suite" with a view from high atop a cliff of the St. Lawrence in a building separate from the inn proper. Our end unit was on the third floor with an interior stairwell - first impression was of peeling paint in the hall. Furnishings were very comfortable and amenities of good quality but the overall sense was that the carpets and bathroom simply needed to be updated. Housekeeping was meticulous and the property is non-smoking but it just didn't seem pristine. The balcony was inviting but the patio screen had holes.

Welcome bottle of bubbly, tray of chocolate and maple treats, and a fruit basket were nice touches. Never did get the wireless access to work and may have been too far from the base station.

Our gourmand package included dinners and breakfasts. The food was exceptional, the service kind and attentive, and the view superb. Make sure you are seated in the pink room by the window. It's lovely!

Highly recommed the Charlevoix Museum for a rainy day - its Painters of the North exhibit was superb!

  • Liked — Great view! Superb food!
  • Disliked — Seemed dated and needs some maintenance
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DebandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester Glos
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

A great Auberge if you are looking for an "away from it all" location. It is about 2km from La Malbaie - but La Malbaie does not really have anything to offer at all! - other than being a good base for visiting Charlevoix.
Auberge itself was good - very clean comfortable room (we had a junior suite - great view), excellent restaurant- and the breakfast was superb. Good swimming pool. Front desk staff could have been a bit more "enthusiastic" - did at times feel that you were in a chain hotel with 800 rooms!! - other than that no complaints at all.

  • Liked — Room with a view!
  • Disliked — The town it is in
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2pards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

Very little information on hotels in this area on this website. Did receive some helpful advice regarding the hotel on one of the forums.
Auberges des Falaises is as beautiful as it looks on their website.
There are 2 buildings- one which has rooms which are one bedroom suites. These rooms are large spacious rooms with a Queen bed, jacuzzi tub, sunken living room with fireplace, and private balcony overlooking the St. Lawrence river. (It is not however a separate bedroom.)
The other building is the main lodge. We had a beautifully decorated corner room in the main lodge, which was spacious, had 2 walls of windows, and access to a shared balcony. Each room in the main building however is different, and we had friends who had booked a room which was pretty, but very small, and they then paid the upgrade fee to be in one of the suites.
The hotel sits high on a hill with spectacular views. There is a fenced in pool at an upper level, but weather was not warm enough to use it during our stay.
We had breakfast included, which was one of the best breakfasts we've ever had. Buffet table with danishes, croissants, fresh fruit, etc. You can, in addition, order one of about 12 egg or crepe dishes off a menu. Food is not only tasty, but is presented beautifully and creatively on the plate.
Dining room has 2 parts- one is more casual, and one is more formal. There is also an outside patio with (an electric) fire going in a fire pit, and an outside covered area with wicker furniture with cushions where you can gather for a drink. We used this area, while waiting for preparation of our desserts.
Dinner is fantastic. 5 course meal (table-d'hote). We liked it so much that we chose to eat here a second time during our 3 night stay. Would recommend this restaurant even if you are staying at a different hotel in the area.
Hotel is run by a family, and service is friendly and warm. Very helpful in giving advice regarding and booking activities.

For those who visit the area, we recomment the following:
1.Baie St. Paul- artist colony with lots of galleries, restaurants
2.Iisle aux Courdres- take free ferry across. Rent bicycles- tour the island in about 2 hours.
3. Hautes-Gorges Provincial Park- hiking, biking, kayaking and canoeing on the Malbaie river, boat tour
4. Whale watching (amazing- saw tons of whales!) out of Baie St. Catherine (about 45 minutes away)
5. Magnificent golf course overlooking the river


This is a beautiful area of Quebec, only 4 hours from Montreal.

  • Liked — service, cleaniness, views from room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
québec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We've been there on last summer for a two nights stay. The rooms are really well-decorated, with large baywindow overlooking the river (incredible view!!), the one we had (in the pavillon) has also balcony, whirpool bath, dvd and cd players, fireplace. Well! evrything to have a confortable stay.

The food was also great with many diffrent choices on the menu. Our package included only one dinner and we finally decided to eat there on the second evening. Staff is young and really helpfull! They booked the whale-watching cruise and gave us a lot of informations on the area, and we felt they were really pleased to take care of us.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank couplelavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Malbaie hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Auberge des Peupliers
Auberge des Peupliers
#6 of 13 in La Malbaie
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Au Petit Berger
Hotel Au Petit Berger
#7 of 13 in La Malbaie
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manoir Charlevoix
Manoir Charlevoix
#9 of 13 in La Malbaie
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Falaises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Falaises

Property: Auberge des Falaises
Address: 250 Chemin des Falaises, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge des Falaises 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the St-Lawrence river, our inn offers comfortable rooms, with a river view and most with a sitting area, fireplace, whirlpool bath, and private balcony. Combined with our renowned cuisine, pool, and panoramic restaurant, your stay will be a feast for both the eyes and palate! Whether you want to relax in the comfort of your room, lounge beside our panoramic pool or savour our delightful food, charm, beauty, fine dining and romance are combined with excellence to offer you a fabulous feast for your eyes and your palate. We just added a magnificient spa, next to the pool. Nested in a restfull space surroundded by trees and flowers, it is yours to relax and enjoy this brand new equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge des Falaises reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Falaises La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing