We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auberge des Falaises is a window on the Charlevoix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge des Falaises
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Our family of five - two adults, two college-aged kids and one younger teen - loved visiting the Charlevoix, and our stay at the Auberge des Falaises was a big part of the success of the trip. Our two rooms, with fireplaces and balconies overlooking the St. Lawrence, were spacious, clean and well-appointed. The breakfasts were almost too large and delicious. The breakfast room had a marvelous view of the river and beyond. Our hosts, M. and Mme. Cloutier, and their staff were very welcoming and service-oriented. Afer a day of hiking the Hautes Gorges or the Grand Jardins, the swimming pool, hot tub and sauna are not to be missed. Unless you need the amenities of a large resort hotel, I would make the Auberge des Falaises a first choice for the Charlevoix region.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattski0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 286 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

Recently got back from a wonderful stay at Auberge des falaises. We stayed in the Auberge section on the third floor and were treated with beautiful views of the bay and river. The room was very clean and cosy. Restaurant food was exquisite, and especially enjoyed the very large breakfast options (8-9 à la carte options, plus access to the buffet with lots of fresh fruit, cheese, cereals and pastries).
On the negative side, felt that the bed wasn't the most comfortable and that the black out drapes didn't quite do the trick to black out the light streaming in the morning. That said, the balcony and views certainly made up for it! The room is on the small side but feels like your in a bedroom at home with your ensuite bathroom.
The pool is heated (good, because it was a bit chilly during our stay) and the spa was wonderful. Didn't try the sauna or cold pool.
Overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachloverottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Have stayed here on 3 occasions and do not understand others complaints. Stayed in the deluxe room with beautiful view of the St. Lawrence - peaceful, well kept. Slept with the balcony doors open. Amazing food and service. Great deal for the price which included room, breakfast & dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

After a few days in Quebec city, we drove up to Charlevoix with another couple who had heard about the region, it’s beauty and its reputation for fine dining and lodging. We had no itinerary. Like explorers, we wanted to discover the area before settling down. We were looking for something special, out of the beaten path. When we arrived in Pointe-au-Pic, we took a drive on “Chemin des Falaises”, the historic part of town where the old summer mansions built by wealthy Americans in the past century are to be found. Along the way, our attention was caught by a sign at the bottom of a very steep driveway “Auberge de Falaises”.
A hotel? Here?
“falaises means cliff”, said my friend looking through her dictionary.
“And what does lost translate to?” said her husband. I must admit, this auberge was more “off the beaten path” than we expected.

Our curiosity led us to drive up the steep hill to check out the “falaises”. I’d rather do it in the summer than in the winter. When we arrived up the hill, we stepped out of the car and were drawn to a magnificent stone terrace in front of the main building. A few steps later, all four of us stood there in silence, stunned and amazed. This was one of the most spectacular panorama we’d seen on this trip. All we could see was this amazing body of water which is the St-Lawrence seaway, a series of mountains that seemed to have grown out of it, and a narrow horizon line indicating land at a distance. All we could hear was the wind blowing through a forest of cedars below us, and the beating of our hearts that confirmed without a doubt that we had found the place we were looking for.
One of us had to break the silence.
“Wow! This is how Christophe Columbus must have felt like when he discovered the new world”
After inquiring about availability, the young lady at the front desk informed us that only one room was available at this time due to a cancellation. The problem was, we needed two rooms. She invited us to sit on the patio and offered us coffee. “Let me see what I can do”, she said. We walked around the old mansion, discovering its charms, its authenticity, screening the dinner menu, and enjoying the peace that surrounded us. Our desire to stay there was growing by the minute.
A few minutes later, the young lady came back to inform us that she could accommodate us with two rooms but only for one night. “Unfortunately, the rooms are not next to each other” she said.
Could this be the only catch? Located in another building next to the mansion, both rooms were junior suites with a living room area, fireplace, a large balcony with that same spectacular view that hit us in the first place. No cars at sight, no traffic noise… Only mountains and sea! So peaceful!
That night, we enjoyed the most amazing dinner. The menu combined local products, international flavors, and the personal artistic flair of the chef. This wasn’t a meal, this was an experience which surpassed all our expectations. We sat there for hours enjoying the food, the wine, the view, the service and the friendliness. No fuss here, just authenticity!
We didn’t conquered the place, it conquered us! Our stay at Auberge des Falaises was too short, but regardless, it was the highlight of our trip. We now know where to find our own piece of paradise in Charlevoix.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YVRtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The web-site said "all rooms face the St. Lawrence". This is not true, because our room, in the main building (room 7) faced the driveway, and had no view whatsoever. Such false statements on a hotel's web-site should not be permitted. Instead of central air conditioning, the room had an extremely noisy wall air conditioner blowing on our heads while we tried, unsuccessfully, to sleep. We tried keeping the AC off and the windows open, but because we were over the kitchen, it became very noisy beginning at 4 a.m. The room also lacked things one typically finds in hotels: ironing board, plastic bag for laundry, small refrigerator. The shower was also very problematic: you could set the water temperature and be in the shower, but then it suddenly changed temperature to either freezing cold or scalding hot periodically throughout the shower. It happened every time we showered. The carpets in the stairway were very worn (no elevator to second or third floors so be prepared to carry luggage up the stairs).
On the positive side: the staff was kind and friendly, some spoke english, and the dining room was lovely. The food was delicious: we had the dinner one evening, which was a multi-course and wonderful experience, and our waiter was excellent. The breakfasts were truly fantastic, and again, the wait staff was wonderful. The swimming pool had a beautiful view of the St. Lawrence, was heated and clean.
I think if you were to stay here, you should be very certain to get a better room than the one we had. Our impression was that it is a destination for vacationers from Quebec, and travelers from the US weren't much of their business. Maybe the Quebecers knew to request a better room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MassTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I have just returned from heaven that is Pointe-au-Pic, Charlevoix County in the province of Quebec and I hurry to share my wonderful experence with you. This has to be one of the loveliest places I have ever been to and I have traveled a lot. L'Auberge des Falaises far exceeded my expectations. The rooms are exquisite, the food succulent and originally presented (I especially loved the pear apple and vanilla jam at breakfast. The jams are made on the premises) The view from the inn is spectacular. The staff is ever so pleasant. You have to meet David. He is so sweet and Oh so handsome! My only regret is that I didn't plan for a longer stay. I didn't want to leave and I will certainly return. Definitely the best value for your money. Also not to be missed is the city of Quebec

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianePierrefonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Very disappointed. Room needed major renovating. The web site can be very misleading. We were not staying in the main building. Instead we were in a motel look alike building next to the main one. Way overpriced. Dinner service was very ordinary. Two o'oclock in the afternoon our room had not been cleaned. Auberge de la Pionsonniere will give you a lot more for your money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alainlebrun70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Malbaie
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Auberge des Peupliers
Auberge des Peupliers
#8 of 13 in La Malbaie
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Au Petit Berger
Hotel Au Petit Berger
#5 of 13 in La Malbaie
187 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Le Germain Charlevoix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Falaises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Falaises

Address: 250 Chemin des Falaises, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2V2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range: $109 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge des Falaises 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the St-Lawrence river, our inn offers comfortable rooms, with a river view and most with a sitting area, fireplace, whirlpool bath, and private balcony. Combined with our renowned cuisine, pool, and panoramic restaurant, your stay will be a feast for both the eyes and palate! Whether you want to relax in the comfort of your room, lounge beside our panoramic pool or savour our delightful food, charm, beauty, fine dining and romance are combined with excellence to offer you a fabulous feast for your eyes and your palate. We just added a magnificient spa, next to the pool. Nested in a restfull space surroundded by trees and flowers, it is yours to relax and enjoy this brand new equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge des Falaises reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Falaises La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing