We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We arrived after dark and as we drove in the hotel appeared to look like a typical 60's-70's Quebec motor court.
However, once there we realized it was all new and made to look like the original hotel. We were told that the old hotel burned a couple of years ago and replaced with this on. Excellent job I'd say.
I stayed in room 124 which had a king bed and double shower. The unit was large and comfortable with a flat screen TV and a small kitchenette. Even had a K-cup coffee maker.
Also, the hotel is located within walking distance of a number of fine restaurants.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EslovRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 190 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Charming front desk staff,thy could not have been more pleasant. I suspect none of them had much English, not a problem for us. Room was spacious, clean, had everything we needed. You can walk to several choice restaurants. Their continental breakfast choices were pretty meagre. Kraft cheese slices when the area is known for cheese! Guess we are spoiled after spending time in Europe. There are great place for breakfast in La Malbaie. Next time we will not take the $4 breakfast option and go elsewhere. For the mobility challenged, beware the breakfast room is on the second floor, great view but stairs. Our room was underneath part of the breakfast room. It sounded as if they were mopping the floor at 10:00 pm and moving all the chairs and tables on ceramic floor!

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank QR8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived in La Malbaie without out a reservation and opted for this hotel-motel. The very pleasant lady at reception only spoke a little English but with my little bit of French we managed quite well. She was very sweet.

The room was spacious and clean and conveniently located near a number of restaurants.

Our only complaint was the family on the second floor above us could be heard walking around (which they did quite extensively). Fortunately, they retired for the evening around 11:00 p.m. I do not really know if this is a problem with the sound proofing or if we simply encountered a heavy footed family staying above us. Over all our stay was good and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Low cost with nice rooms . Very close to 2 good restaurants ( 5 and 20 meters distance!). Free good wireless internet .Specially Chez Truchon . Lá Malbaie is the best city to visit all the surroundings including whale watching and Hautes Gorges Park !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JunichiroSadoJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was here a year ago (in the summer) but in a different room. I have a room without a kitchenette this time, but it does have a fridge. Nice and large, with a sofa and long desk; table and chairs. Internet is great and lots of storage space.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank netvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

As many have commented, this is a great value for the amount I paid, $60 per night. It is not a luxurious room, but it is certainly a big family room, and must importantly it is clean, decent, no smell...the bathroom is very clean. There is no elevator; so if you are carrying heavy and you are given a room in the upper floor, you may have difficulty. Also on the day of my booking, I was arriving rather late at 1115 pm and found that the front door reception was already closed. It was kind of eeriely quiet but the staff was rather courteous enough to leave a note at the door with her contact number. Although a French lady with minimal command of English, she was polite and patient enough to try to speak in English with me.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cksheng74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Don't be fooled by the ugly pinky-peachy color of the motel - visit a room before making a decision, which is what we did. We got a room on the second floor of one of the newer wing in the back. Room was big, clean, free wifi, and located just steps from a few good restaurants in the old village of Pointe-au-Pic, and about 5 min drive to the casino. The price was cheaper than expected, and very good continental breakfast is offered for $5C. For such a nice cheap hotel in such good location, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcsklabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Malbaie
1 mi away
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
#9 of 13 in La Malbaie
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Au Petit Berger
Hotel Au Petit Berger
#6 of 13 in La Malbaie
188 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge des Peupliers
Auberge des Peupliers
#8 of 13 in La Malbaie
265 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Le Germain Charlevoix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer

Address: 1125 Richelieu | Secteur Pointe-au-Pic, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2X8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range: $80 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the St. Lawrence River, less than a kilometre from the casino, 28 very spacious air conditioned rooms with a small refrigerator, private balcony and high-speed Internet connection. Huge terrace with a view of the river. Whether you are attracted by its fabulous location or incredible value for the dollar, let Le Castel de la Mer help make your next stay in Charlevoix the most pleasant and relaxing ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castel De La Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel De La Mer La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing