We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
36
11
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
36
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house chantal pillows breakfast charlevoix view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Lovely Inn with nice proprietor (Lise). Good recommendations for close by excellent dining. Accomodations comfortable with jetted tub in the room opening to a quiet garden. Breakfast as advertised,a simple continental with multigrain bread for toast ,hard boiled eggs,yogurt,fruit,cereal,coffee and juice. Only 1 small recommendation......amenities such as high quality bar soap. Often people don't carry this on vacation.
Our stay was relaxed and thoroughly enjoyable. Location gives easy access to National Park and easy access to quaint Charlevoix river towns

Room tip: Nice to have a room with river view but the garden was quiet and pretty. Reserve early
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasPaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

The hôtess was quite nice. The place is really well situated and the house is beautiful, unfortunately some area, as the spa, need a good clean up and up grade. The room we had was way Below expectation for the Price. Maybe because we reserved at the last minute and got the last one. But à room with a gray industrial, not so clean, carpet doesn't fit with this type of old house. Room no 11 i believe dont book this one.
Breakfast was way bellow what you should expect, with no hot meal. Only what you would normally do before going to work not more.
It's a new management hopfully it Will improve because the site and house are wonderfull

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Philippe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantal L, Propriétaire at Auberge sur la Cote, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Hi. It was nice meeting you. We take all our customers input in consideration as we strive to improve our clients' experience with us, and some upgrades to the flooring in the room you occupied are planned for the Fall .

As for the breakfast, we advertise a continental plan, and as such, I believe the variety of breads, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cheese etc. more than satisfies our stated engagement to our clients. I am sorry you did not find it to your satisfaction.

Thank you for taking the time to write!
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

I was fortunate to have stayed here with work colleagues during the month of June 2018

Chantel and Ed are the most fantastic hosts.
Due to our flights and transportation the last part of our group arrive at 2am
Chantel was up and got us settled as she knew we would be tired

The n cat morning she was up to greet us and had a fantastic breakfast prepared before we headed out as this was a working trip

Our rooms were always clean and impeccable. We would come back to find treats on our pillows or small little messages that would make us smile.

We were always made to feel at home as if we were part of the family.

I would highly recommend this places as the place to stay if one is fortunate to be in La Malbaie where it be for business or pleasure.

I know our whole team enjoyed it
Merci Chantal and Ed as you made our stay perfect.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank bear1002016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantal L, Propriétaire at Auberge sur la Cote, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Thank you so much, it was such a great experience to have you guys...we miss you a lot and yes you will be in my heart forever...xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Lovely old house, respectfully renovated, with awesome view over gardens to the St. Lawrence River. Best hostess ever, terrific breakfast in sunny garden room, great comfy but spacious bedroom with water view. We walked into town to great restaurants: Charlevoix is full of things to do, but come home to this place! Hope the dining room opens again for dinner, too.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 923bethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantal L, Propriétaire at Auberge sur la Cote, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Ahhh thanks a lot. Maybe one day we will open the restaurant again...we never know ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

Meeting Chantal was worth the price of the room! We so thoroughly enjoyed our stay with this total gem of a proprietress. The BnB is lovely; a beautiful view of the St. Lawrence with a large backyard seating area. Our room was very large, clean and with a good size shower in the bathroom. The shared living spaces are great-- a big living room and a glassed in porch. Wifi was strong and fast. Chantal's breakfasts were made with care and were delicious. Walking distance or a very short drive to town and restaurants. Chantal is a gem--she is so interesting, warm and helpful. We loved speaking with her about Canada and her adventures. She speaks French and English. We didn't want to leave but had a plane to catch. We want to return!

Room tip: Miss Lavoie was a very good choice- faces the river and is quite large.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantal L, Propriétaire at Auberge sur la Cote, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you so much to you guys...was nice to have you around! Really appreciate your comment, it s nice to know my guess love the place. In a hope to see you again one day I wish you a good summer and return xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews