We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view and old style grace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular view and old style grace”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Overlooking the mostly frozen St Lawrence River from the cozy but high-windowed lounge of this Canadian Pacific style hotel was a beautiful experience. The recently renovated hotel has all the style and grandeur one would expect and plenty to do even in -6 F weather. There are skating rinks, a casino (separate building and not my gig but...) sports complex with an outdoor pool which is open (and was in use) all winter, sleigh rides (Derek was great in his big furry coat with his awesome horse Prince), a couple of restaurants, one of which is very nice but a bit pricey and plenty of history to roam through along with boutiques and a spectacular setting. Just the property would have made this worth the visit but the hotel itself is a great character.

Room Tip: Definitely get a river view. It's amazing. If you're above the lobby, make sure you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your last stay at Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu! We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed our many hotel facilities and winter activities. We will gladly share your feedback with our entire team. We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you in the summer time as well, or to have you stay with us again in the winter time!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    516
    217
    84
    40
See reviews for
495
1,054
30
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is our winter getaway every year for spring break. Full of activities for the younger kids at the hotel but it's a MUST GO for the outdoor pool and spa. You want it to be snowing or freezing cold outside to enjoy it the most. All that accompanied by the Fairmont staff, which our exceptionnal. People even recognize us when we go back.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building because the elevators in the Multi-Sport section are SLOW
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie9757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
How wonderful to know that we get to welcome you every year during Spring Break! We are very grateful that you took the time to share your comments with us and we thank you for being such loyal guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon to Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was our second visit, both in winter, and we will definitely return. Love the views, the atmosphere and the holiday decorations. My husband surprised me with an upgraded room with a great view of the St. Lawrence and a luxurious bathroom almost as big as the bedroom. Lunch was an okay version of fish and chips and dinner was veal medallions for me and braised veal cheeks for him. Both very good. The heated outdoor pool and hot tub are a must-do and blackjack players will be happy that the casino has Blackjack Switch-em.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMB7522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
How wonderful to read your comments regarding your stay at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu! We're delighted to know you enjoyed your last visit. It will be a pleasure to share your feedback with our entire team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful region of Charlevoix!

Sincerely,

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I checked-out feeling robbed. And this has rarely happened in my life.

Location: Ideally located within metres of the Casino with a scenic view on the St. Lawrence.

Rooms: We paid for a suite. It was stuffy, smelly and old -- although the view (via the two miniature windows) was stunning. Perhaps not renovated within the past 30 years. Awfully decorated and the bathroom was outdated. Sleep quality was average -- mattress need to be changed too.

Installations: Outdated, except for the fitness room.

Service: Just poor. The ratio of staff to guests is simply too low. Room service was slow and not responsive. Immense queue for check-out (even for preferred guests). Restaurants (except Le Charlevoix) were understaffed too.

It is just not worth the money -- there are simply better hotels at similar prices within a walking distance in La Malbaie.

Anecdote: I paid $8 for a latté. This was perhaps one of the most expensive yet disgusting coffees in my life. I won't mince my words: management needs to revamp this place asap.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the St. Lawrence river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We are truly sorry to hear the details of your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for not providing you with the hotel experience you expected and we thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. Please rest assured we have shared your comments with our entire team as this is certainly not in keeping with our high standard of service. We would also like to specify that our hotel is currently undergoing a renovation phase which will certainly enhance our guests’ experience. We deeply regret this unfortunate experience and we most definitely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, and have you live the Fairmont experience as promised.

Sincerely,

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have been to this special family place since age 16 (now 49) so many times, but a first in Winter; well, if you desire to go, go on Friday, Saturday or Sunday (weekends), otherwise, you find yourself in a Chateau with limited activities, especially restoration (1 restaurant / 4, the rest of the village, mostly closed), thus more a 3 than a 5 stars in Winter (maybe weekends are more attended and exciting ! the staff is doing its best); P.S. access to the skating rink is problematic from the hotel with no benches around to sit and put skates-on. Price was high considering what was offered.

Room Tip: go via CAA or other sites and not directly to Fairmont website; other members of the family paid les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very sorry that your past hotel experience left you disappointed. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our entire team. Thank you again for bringing these concerns to our attention and we sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu.

Kind regards,

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent new years there and had great time. The party on new years eve was really good and music had everyone dancing, band knew how to work the crowd. Left the maid a tip and she wrote a nice and thoughtful thank you note. would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
How wonderful to read your recent comments regarding your stay at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu! We're delighted to know you enjoyed your visit and the festivities we had organized for New Year’s Eve! Please know that your feedback has already been shared with the all our team as this type of recognition is very important to them. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I stay at the Manoir at least. 3 times a year. This is definitely one of my favorite Fairmont Hotel. Our last visit was during the Christmas holidays and we always take the jacuzzi suite which faces the St Laurent. The view from our room was spectular. The Christmas decorations inside and outside made it feel so magical.
The outdoor heated pool and hot tub in the evening is so romantic.
A day at the spa getting a massage or pedicure is also a must do.
Casino is always fun and entertaining.
There is so any activities there inside and out, you will never get bored. There is something for the whole family ie skating, snow shoeing, snowmobile, sliding.
The only disappointment I have is that I have a gluten intolerance and when eating at the buffet restaurant there really is not much of a selection of GF food , therefore I found the buffet expensive for what I ate. I m surprised that a fine establishment like this does not prepare more GF meals.

Looking forward yo booking again there soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanda450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay at Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu! We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our many facilities. We also wanted to let you know that every restaurant within Fairmont Hotels offer a special menu called Fairmont Lifestyle Cuisine Plus which offers a variety of dishes for guests with specific dietary needs. During your next visit, do not hesitate to let us know of any special requests you may have and it will be our pleasure to do the follow up. All of our team is looking forward to welcoming you again to Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Malbaie
1.0 mi away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
1.1 mi away
Auberge des Falaises
Auberge des Falaises
#3 of 13 in La Malbaie
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Le Germain Charlevoix
1.3 mi away
Manoir Charlevoix
Manoir Charlevoix
#9 of 13 in La Malbaie
192 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge des Peupliers
Auberge des Peupliers
#6 of 13 in La Malbaie
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu

Property: Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Address: 181 rue Richelieu, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entire team of Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu welcomes our guests to experience unique gastronomy, spectacular views and the abundance of activities available in the picturesque region of Charlevoix. Located only an hour and fifteen minute drive from Quebec City, nestled between mountains, forest and the scenic village of La Malbaie, our property, offering 405 rooms and 4 restaurants is the ideal retreat whether you are in need of a peaceful getaway or an active expedition. Our team’s mission is to make you feel at home and we will ensure everything runs smoothly from your arrival to your departure. Winter activities at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu include: snowmobile, dog sledding, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, as well as skiing in one of the nearby ski resorts, Le Massif or Mont Grand-Fonds. During the summer season, countless options are also available to you: whale watching, 27-holes world class golf course, mini golf, tennis, outdoor pools, hiking…to name a few! Since we care about the whole family’s well-being, children are invited to enjoy the exciting activities available within our children’s Beluga Club. The possibilities are endless at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, and our concierge will be delighted to assist you with any request you may have concerning the area activities, such as the Astronomical Observatory of Charlevoix, the Hautes-Gorges-de-la-Riviere-Malbaie national park, the trail of flavors and The Baie-Saint-Paul village. Located next to Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu is the Casino de Charlevoix, offering guests the opportunity to test their luck and experience the vibrant nightlife that is waiting right outside our doors. For a perfect afternoon escape, unwind at the Spa du Manoir and treat yourself to one of our signature treatments, complete with a dip in the Jacuzzi or the indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont La Malbaie
La Malbaie Fairmont
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing