We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Manoir Richelieu is simply beautiful. The location by the St-Lawrence River is magnificent. We were there for the Thanksgiving weekend. Casino is a nice place to spend some fun times. Visited Baie St-Paul which is 30 minutes away. Great place, but expensive for what you get. You really pay for the "cachet". Hotel rooms are very small, but beds extremely comfortable. Bathroom would need a little bit of an upgrade. Bath was old.
Nice place for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Fleuve St-Laurent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxamillion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LmrConcierge, Guest Service Supervisor at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Charlevoix . We are thrilled you had such a memorable stay and thank you for outlining our various service teams who work hard every day to make each and every guest feel special. We will make sure we share your great feedback with them.
We hope to see you again very soon!

Vincent Berube
Guest Services Supervisor
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    507
    215
    82
    38
See reviews for
489
1,037
29
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
modesto
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent two nights at the Manoir Richelieu recently and had a wonderful time all around. Our room overlooked the St Lawrence which is the only way to go in my books. The windows open for access to Charlevoix fresh air while you sleep. Bed was supremely comfortable; shower excellent. Nespresso coffee maker and fixings are right in the room. Service is accommodating. While there, my partner played golf on the Manoir's outstanding resort course. I indulged in a massage that was expensive but worth it after a full day of whale watching at Tadoussac. We dropped into the casino which was fun if not profitable. Highly recommend this great property in beautiful Charlevoix.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunamoonModesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LmrConcierge, Guest Service Supervisor at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing such great feedback of your recent stay at the Fairmont Le Manoir. It gives us great pride to know we were able to make your stay so memorable as this is what we work to achieve everyday!

Vincent Berube
Guest Services Supervisor
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Spent 2 nights with my husband and our dogs, had a corner room and a beautiful view. The grounds are very large, can hike the trails, golf, most outdoor activities. had a wonderful time. From the hotel there are many villages and day trips to enjoy.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent a day and a night here for business. Thoroughly enjoyable. Beautiful location, beautiful buildings. Wonderful view over the river. Took their labrador for a walk on the local trails, wonderful. The heated outdoor pools were very relaxing and enjoyable,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LmrConcierge, Guest Service Supervisor at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Charlevoix . We are thrilled you had such a memorable stay and thank you for outlining our various service teams who work hard every day to make each and every guest feel special. We will make sure we share your great feedback with them.
We hope to see you again very soon!

Vincent Berube
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

i spent three wonderful nights at manoir richelieu . the manoir itself is gorgeous , very stylish especially the lobby . the room was spacious very comfortable & nicely furnished with a great view of the magnificent region of charlevoix. i wished i could move to charlevoix the scenery is one of the most beautiful i ever seen. back to manoir richelieu beautiful terrace where u can have your meal we also tried out the breakfast buffet that was perfect especially the smoked salmon i never tasted anything better we also tried the lunch buffet that was very good too wide variety i only wish they had more desserts ( comparing to frontenac ) & make sure while u r there to try some of their ice cream it is to die for .
the hotel offers u a ride in a horse carriage for free ,also at the lobby u can book a cruise to go whale watching ( found it very convenient )
housekeeping was pitch perfect especially marie pierre who was taking care of our room , she was a delight to chat with in the morning & our room was spotless .she even tidied up my daughter's play pen that goes to show you the staff's dedication & attention for details . little gestures like that show you they really care & are all about making your stay one of the most enjoyable.
the outdoor pools were magnificient & the hotel provides toys & floating devices for kids . my 3 year old daughter still asks us when we will be going back ( fairmont future customer :) )
i almost forgot about the bell boys they were so nice especially to my daughter calling her the princess of the manoir ( she almost believed it lol ) & upon leaving the chateau asked us when we will be back i assured them we will be back next summer since i got hooked on charlevoix & its beauty.
in the end i was sad to leave but hopefully will be back for a longer stay next summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wissam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LmrConcierge, Guest Service Supervisor at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing such great feedback of your recent stay at the Fairmont Le Manoir. It gives us great pride to know we were able to make your stay so memorable as this is what we work to achieve everyday!

Vincent Berube
Guest Services Supervisor
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Spent 3 nights here touring the region. The room was very cosy and countryish. Of the 7 nights we were away, even though it was the smallest room we had, we liked this one the most. The hotel is an impressive piece of architecture, outside and in. Location is a great base for sight seeing in the area. The Casino is right next to the hotel, it attracts a fair number of tour buses and visitors.The buffet dinner was good value. The buffet breakfast, which was the same price as dinner, left us wanting. We ate out for breakfast the last two mornings we stayed in La Malbaie. Considering the rate and the atmosphere, I expected some 'grandeur' on the service side. What we got: when we arrived, the doorman took our luggage and said it would be sent to our room after we checked in and were assigned a room. After 5 minutes in our room, bellboy arrived but with someone else's luggage. He returned in a few minutes with the correct luggage. Breakfast - rock hard bagel on Egg's benedict and hard crusty french toast is disappointing. But would I stay here again? Probably.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theteflonpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for one night on route to Quebec City. Beautiful hotel with fantastic views of the bay. Not cheap, but we had a dinner bed and breakfast package in a room overlooking St Lawrence which made it more reasonable. Food and service excellent. Decor of hotel very luxurious and every detail attended to. Staff very friendly and dpeak English well. A lovely treat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Malbaie
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
1.1 mi away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
#1 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Au Petit Berger
Hotel Au Petit Berger
#5 of 13 in La Malbaie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge des Falaises
Auberge des Falaises
#3 of 13 in La Malbaie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
#11 of 13 in La Malbaie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu

Property: Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Address: 181 rue Richelieu, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entire team of Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu welcomes our guests to experience unique gastronomy, spectacular views and the abundance of activities available in the picturesque region of Charlevoix. Located only an hour and fifteen minute drive from Quebec City, nestled between mountains, forest and the scenic village of La Malbaie, our property, offering 405 rooms and 4 restaurants is the ideal retreat whether you are in need of a peaceful getaway or an active expedition. Our team’s mission is to make you feel at home and we will ensure everything runs smoothly from your arrival to your departure. Winter activities at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu include: snowmobile, dog sledding, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, as well as skiing in one of the nearby ski resorts, Le Massif or Mont Grand-Fonds. During the summer season, countless options are also available to you: whale watching, 27-holes world class golf course, mini golf, tennis, outdoor pools, hiking…to name a few! Since we care about the whole family’s well-being, children are invited to enjoy the exciting activities available within our children’s Beluga Club. The possibilities are endless at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, and our concierge will be delighted to assist you with any request you may have concerning the area activities, such as the Astronomical Observatory of Charlevoix, the Hautes-Gorges-de-la-Riviere-Malbaie national park, the trail of flavors and The Baie-Saint-Paul village. Located next to Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu is the Casino de Charlevoix, offering guests the opportunity to test their luck and experience the vibrant nightlife that is waiting right outside our doors. For a perfect afternoon escape, unwind at the Spa du Manoir and treat yourself to one of our signature treatments, complete with a dip in the Jacuzzi or the indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont La Malbaie
La Malbaie Fairmont
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing