We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent a day and a night here for business. Thoroughly enjoyable. Beautiful location, beautiful buildings. Wonderful view over the river. Took their labrador for a walk on the local trails, wonderful. The heated outdoor pools were very relaxing and enjoyable,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LmrConcierge, Guest Service Supervisor at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Charlevoix . We are thrilled you had such a memorable stay and thank you for outlining our various service teams who work hard every day to make each and every guest feel special. We will make sure we share your great feedback with them.
We hope to see you again very soon!

Vincent Berube
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 2,480 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

i spent three wonderful nights at manoir richelieu . the manoir itself is gorgeous , very stylish especially the lobby . the room was spacious very comfortable & nicely furnished with a great view of the magnificent region of charlevoix. i wished i could move to charlevoix the scenery is one of the most beautiful i ever seen. back to manoir richelieu beautiful terrace where u can have your meal we also tried out the breakfast buffet that was perfect especially the smoked salmon i never tasted anything better we also tried the lunch buffet that was very good too wide variety i only wish they had more desserts ( comparing to frontenac ) & make sure while u r there to try some of their ice cream it is to die for .
the hotel offers u a ride in a horse carriage for free ,also at the lobby u can book a cruise to go whale watching ( found it very convenient )
housekeeping was pitch perfect especially marie pierre who was taking care of our room , she was a delight to chat with in the morning & our room was spotless .she even tidied up my daughter's play pen that goes to show you the staff's dedication & attention for details . little gestures like that show you they really care & are all about making your stay one of the most enjoyable.
the outdoor pools were magnificient & the hotel provides toys & floating devices for kids . my 3 year old daughter still asks us when we will be going back ( fairmont future customer :) )
i almost forgot about the bell boys they were so nice especially to my daughter calling her the princess of the manoir ( she almost believed it lol ) & upon leaving the chateau asked us when we will be back i assured them we will be back next summer since i got hooked on charlevoix & its beauty.
in the end i was sad to leave but hopefully will be back for a longer stay next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wissam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LmrConcierge, Guest Service Supervisor at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for sharing such great feedback of your recent stay at the Fairmont Le Manoir. It gives us great pride to know we were able to make your stay so memorable as this is what we work to achieve everyday!

Vincent Berube
Guest Services Supervisor
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Spent 3 nights here touring the region. The room was very cosy and countryish. Of the 7 nights we were away, even though it was the smallest room we had, we liked this one the most. The hotel is an impressive piece of architecture, outside and in. Location is a great base for sight seeing in the area. The Casino is right next to the hotel, it attracts a fair number of tour buses and visitors.The buffet dinner was good value. The buffet breakfast, which was the same price as dinner, left us wanting. We ate out for breakfast the last two mornings we stayed in La Malbaie. Considering the rate and the atmosphere, I expected some 'grandeur' on the service side. What we got: when we arrived, the doorman took our luggage and said it would be sent to our room after we checked in and were assigned a room. After 5 minutes in our room, bellboy arrived but with someone else's luggage. He returned in a few minutes with the correct luggage. Breakfast - rock hard bagel on Egg's benedict and hard crusty french toast is disappointing. But would I stay here again? Probably.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theteflonpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for one night on route to Quebec City. Beautiful hotel with fantastic views of the bay. Not cheap, but we had a dinner bed and breakfast package in a room overlooking St Lawrence which made it more reasonable. Food and service excellent. Decor of hotel very luxurious and every detail attended to. Staff very friendly and dpeak English well. A lovely treat.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After a magnificent 2+hour drive from Quebec City we arrived at this lovely property. Make sure you get a river view for your room. Room size is adequate. It was very clean and the staff was very willing to help either in person or on the phone. The only problem we had was when you go at this time of year (October) and it happens to be a warm day (in the 70's) the hotel does not allow each room to be controlled to go back and forth between heat and a/c.

It was already set to heat and the room was pretty warm. But we opened the window at night and they gladly brought up a floor fan which helped immensely. One other word of caution. This hotel has a few restaurants from high end to casual. We felt like casual until we saw this incredible line waiting to get in...as in waiting 30 min just to get seated.

When we asked if this was normal, we were told that the bus loads of gamblers at the casino next door all bring in the their dinner coupons to have dinner at the Fairmont. But again, they are so accommodating, that we were directed to a magnificent lounge (with a view to die for) where they had a full menu from the restaurant that had a line. And there was no one on the lounge. So it all worked out great.
We will gladly come back to this Fairmont. They truly understand the word service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived at the chateau Frontenac after a disappointing stay at the Manoir Richelieu. We mentioned some of our issues to lovely Doris at the reception and informed her that we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Doris tried to find us an upgrade but we were checking in early,so wasn't able to. No matter we had a nice room with not much of a view,but we were happy to have a king size bed. Once in the room,we had a bit of an issue with the headboard (fell down but not for the reason you are thinking). Anyway, I went back to the lobby and found Doris and explained our predicament. After a well placed "Mon Dieu",Doris moved us to a gorgeous,enormous suite in a tourett overlooking the river,no less (room 6152). We had the most amazing service for the next 3 days including a lovely gift to commemorate our anniversary. We were pleased to be staying at such a beautiful hotel,but the service made it even more enjoyable. The buffet breakfast was delicious,we had room-service one evening and everything arrived hot and with a lovely presentation. Thank you Chateau Frontenac for an amazing 25th anniversay. Thank you Doris.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caseylola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont for six nights in August 2012. We had an interesting experience at this hotel. Yes, the views are spectacular from the patio (our room looked upon a courtyard), and the food at the restaurant on the patio is actually really good and when we went kids ate free which was a very good deal. At night they have a bonfire which was wonderful and service at the front desk and restaurants was attentive. The main problem with the hotel is that for the price the rooms were older, wallpaper was peeling, the air conditioner didn't cool that well, and the carpet was faded and obviously had seen better days. At check in we requested a fridge and they wanted to charge us $30 a night which was ridiculous, but after emptying out the mini fridge it was able to keep what we needed cool, mini golf was also something you needed to pay for and the mini golf course was not that well maintained. The outside swimming pool was nice, but small and chairs were scarce.

The location if you want to go whale watching is really good, but ultimately be prepared to be nickled and dimed for everything.

Room Tip: If there are updated rooms, they are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LmrConcierge, Guest Service Supervisor at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you to for your comments, we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and please rest assured this wasn’t a representation of your mission at the Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu. We strive to offer consistent engaging service and unique memories to our guests. If at all possible, I would like to discuss further more about your experience. Please contact me by email at Vincent.Berube@fairmont.com or by phone at 418-665-8989. I look forward to your email or call.

Sincerely,

Vincent Berube
Guest Service Supervisor
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Malbaie
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
21.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Le Germain Charlevoix
1 mi away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Auberge des Falaises
Auberge des Falaises
#3 of 13 in La Malbaie
286 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge des Peupliers
Auberge des Peupliers
#8 of 13 in La Malbaie
259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manoir Charlevoix
Manoir Charlevoix
#11 of 13 in La Malbaie
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu

Address: 181 rue Richelieu, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range: $163 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entire team of Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu welcomes our guests to experience unique gastronomy, spectacular views and the abundance of activities available in the picturesque region of Charlevoix. Located only an hour and fifteen minute drive from Quebec City, nestled between mountains, forest and the scenic village of La Malbaie, our property, offering 405 rooms and 4 restaurants is the ideal retreat whether you are in need of a peaceful getaway or an active expedition. Our team’s mission is to make you feel at home and we will ensure everything runs smoothly from your arrival to your departure. Winter activities at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu include: snowmobile, dog sledding, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, as well as skiing in one of the nearby ski resorts, Le Massif or Mont Grand-Fonds. During the summer season, countless options are also available to you: whale watching, 27-holes world class golf course, mini golf, tennis, outdoor pools, hiking…to name a few! Since we care about the whole family’s well-being, children are invited to enjoy the exciting activities available within our children’s Beluga Club. The possibilities are endless at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, and our concierge will be delighted to assist you with any request you may have concerning the area activities, such as the Astronomical Observatory of Charlevoix, the Hautes-Gorges-de-la-Riviere-Malbaie national park, the trail of flavors and The Baie-Saint-Paul village. Located next to Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu is the Casino de Charlevoix, offering guests the opportunity to test their luck and experience the vibrant nightlife that is waiting right outside our doors. For a perfect afternoon escape, unwind at the Spa du Manoir and treat yourself to one of our signature treatments, complete with a dip in the Jacuzzi or the indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont La Malbaie
La Malbaie Fairmont
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing