We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful concept, and impeccable execution” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vices Versa

Vices Versa
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in La Malbaie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $56
Cuisines: French, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful concept, and impeccable execution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently had dinner at Vices Versa during a winter stay in La Malbaie. The idea of having two different menus to choose from, that use the same base dishes but with a very different treatment from each Chef, makes for a fascinating dinner experience. We recommend choosing at least a couple of dishes from each, and comparing notes.
The food was extremely good. This restaurant could be in Montreal, New York or Paris and hold its own amongst the best. It is this good. The ingredients were fresh, the exectuion imaginative and, above all, the sauces were consistently outstanding.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere and decor are modern.
Very Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    10
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We ate in 4 restaurants while in La Malbaie and this was was definitely #1!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The setting was very modern, which we loved. It could belong in Toronto's King West. The service was lovely. The food was great. Three courses, each with surprises for the taste buds, very carefully crafted. The amuse bouche were also a happy surprise. We would return many times if we could, but our vacation is over!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonpetitcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

My fiancé and I had a wonderful meal. Portions were big and flavorful, and service was very good. One of our best meals during the trip by far. The only thing that would have made this dinner even better would have been to meet the husband and wife duo. We got to experience both styles and their personalities in their food, so we kind of felt a little incomplete by not getting to talk to them after the meal. Definitely a place to go! Highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Champ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

What can I say that hasn't been repeated in all the other reviews...

Every dish we ordered was amazing.
The menu includes an amuse-bouche, 3 courses plus dessert for 65$ per person. This is extremely reasonable considering the quality of the food.

Do yourself a favour and eat here!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank boomboompowww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a truly great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

this restaurant is owned and operated by a husband and wife team...both chefs and I believe French.Hence the name... there is his version and hers of everything on the menu which changes with the seasons. We were there with my brother in law and my wife's sister.There is a gourmet menu at $65. which includes 3 choices among at least a half dozen items and dessert.There are also some grilled meats such as veal chop,steak and rack of venison and these are also interchangeable with the gourmet menu. The meal starts with a little hot and cold hors- d'oeuvre and a basket of homemade bread. I chose the tartare of salmon, a dish of pan seared cod and my third choice was the sweatbreds. All were outstanding. The others made different choices and all were great.The wine list is good and desserts were excellent. The sevice was friendly and informative and the succession of plates came at just at the right speed. It's obviously a high end restaurant but I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a truly outstanding culinary experience.The're starting their 8th year of operation.Nicely decorated.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrealCanuck065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vices Versa also viewed

 

Been to Vices Versa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing