We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Quatre Vents Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge des Eaux Vives
Ranked #1 of 40 La Malbaie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mt. Cobb, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
385 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great Location for Quatre Vents Visit”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed two nights for a tour of Quatre Vents. Our host, Sylvain, was the best (we never got to meet his wife and co-host, Johanne). Our view of the St. Lawrence was fantastic. The breakfasts were very tasty. Our room was immaculate. We stayed in the Le Brunante room. It is exactly as pictured on the website. Exactly, so be prepared ... the bed is very low. Sylvain offers free wi-fi should you need it. This auberge is close to the gardens and downtown La Malbaie. There are many good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrayBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
290
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

First of all, Sylvain is a wonderful host! My wife and I couldn't have been happier and definitely did not want to leave after our short 2 night stay. The entire place is clean and welcoming. Our room was cozy and had a wonderful view of the St. Lawrence river. From our room we could hear the waterfall from across the street...it was a room designed for a good nights rest and relaxing. Our breakfasts were extremely tasty, fulfilling and relaxing from the tables on the deck. Sylvain also helped suggest places we should visit during our day trips. He knows the area well and was a huge help. We want to go back this winter for some nordic skiing and relaxing! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful setting. Johanne and Sylvain were so welcoming, we were made to feel very comfortable in the house, relaxing in the warm living room overlooking the St Lawrence. We found it so good that we changed our trip to stay a third night. The room was immaculate and even the bathroom products were very original, there is a lot of attention to detail in this B&B. The breakfasts were excellent; we had never experienced anything like that before. Sylvain was a very entertaining front of house and the thought that went into the conception of the 3 course breakfast was just amazing. Overall we liked the fact that the place manages to remain unpretentious despite the very high standards of everything that is offered... excellent value for money too! We certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillandmanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Auberge des eaux vives is a perfect little B&B located in cap à l'aigle, about a 10 minute drive from most of the action in La Malbaie. It's situated right on the water, where you can take a nice walk along the beach or sit by the marina.
The house itself is beautifully decorated and well maintained. It has several outdoor sitting areas with great views. Inside, you have a large flatscreen with bluray (and popcorn!), espresso maker, and lots of books or movies at your disposal.
Sylvain was incredibly nice... He made us dinner reservations, booked us whale watching tours, etc and was always available while also giving us our privacy.
The breakfasts were amazing, and VERY generous portions (not sure what some of the other reviewers were talking about). You can tell he knows his way around the kitchen (the owners of the B&B also run a restaurant down the street).

We had the luxury of having the entire house to ourselves (off season) so I had the chance to check out all three rooms. Here is a bit of a rundown:
1) La brunante: We stayed in this room. By far the best view of the water. It has a tiny balcony. Huge king bed, flatscreen TV with DVD, ipod dock etc, and bathroom with a large shower and bath. It's the largest room in the house.
2) La rondouillette: This is a bit smaller room with partial view of the water from the balcony, but it has a jacuzzi bath IN the room, right beside the round bed (the round bed seems awkward to me, but anyway...) There is an ensuite bathroom with small shower.
3) La petite ourse: Very very small room, with queen bed and separate little area with couch and TV. The bathroom is across the hall. Compared to the other two rooms, this one was a bit of a letdown.

Overall, an amazing experience and exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boomboompowww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We went to the "Auberge des Eaux Vives" just for one night. The B&B has a beautiful view on the St Lawrence and nice setting. We had the "Brunante" room which is very large and tastefully decorated with a huge and very comfortable bed as well a nice balcony. The bathroom is very large and luxurious equipped with a bath AND a shower. The view from the room is a bit marred by power poles and cables outside the house. Available spaces for guests include a terrace overlooking the river, canopy, lounges with fireplaces, television room, kitchen with drinks available (not tested), all decorated with taste and care. Breakfast was very good, although less generous than in most B&Bs we stayed in Canada.

Unfortunately, we were woken up at 7am by a truck doing as a pendulum in a 32ft road in front of the house for about 1.5h. Besides, a neighbor was mowing his grass what disturbed the tranquility of our breakfast, yet morning (8am) has been compromised.

We really appreciate the humor, service and friendliness of Sylvain even if we found Johanne a little bit cold, despite her politely welcome. Upon arrival, the kitchen corner were presented. Although we are not coffee drinkers, no proposition were made about latte or cappuccino (as indicated on the website), what we would have liked to. Thus, we thought there were not and we asked if it was possible to have a hot chocolate. We got an affirmative answer but no details. We changed the subject, then she disappeared into their private area. Apparently she forgot and we did not want to disturb again… Misunderstanding?!

The B&B is quite far from La Malbaie downtown if you do not have a car (at least we do not have information about public transportation). Perhaps due to our lack of information we did not find much to do in La Malbaie except go to a restaurant, btw very expensive.

Last, the B&B is near to the "Parc National des Grand Jardins" that could be an excellent opportunity to have a trekking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivianeVagante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Auberge des Eaux Vives, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your comment, we take good note and appreciate your observations.
Thank you very much for your appreciation of our little Inn

I apologize if you did not feel comfortable at your arrival, Sylvain does it very well, it is true, but we all have our strenght and weaknesses.

I am also sorry for the misunderstanding but as we say in our website, the Nespresso machine is available 24h a day and our guests use it as they please. We do not do the service outside breakfast time. Since you told me you were not coffee drinkers, I did not insist on explainning the machine. It is also true that there was no hot chocolate left in the kitchen, since you were back in your room, i did not want to disturb you and brought it back to the kitchen. Maybe I should have told you so when I got the chance.

We try to be discreet after the arrival of our guests to ensure privacy but we are available at all time to answer any questions or demands and satisfy you during the stay, a simple knock on our door is sufficient.

As for your comment on breakfast, I thank you and take good note of it since it is the first time someone find it insufficient, we most often have the opposite comment.

We do our best everyday to make our guests comfortable and try to pay attention to the details we can control. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Charlevoix despite the misunderstandings and inconvenients.


Johanne St-Onge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamcook
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at this fine establishment. What a treat. We had just spent nights in Quebec City and Ile d'Orleans at top ranked bed and breakfasts, but this one exceeded even those excellent spots. The host, Sylvain, provided wonderful breakfasts as everyone described but also provided great insights into the Malbaie area including recommendations for great places to eat. The cleanliness of the units was top notch, and I loved the big soaker tub in the room overlooking the St. Lawrence. Great after a long day hiking. A nice touch was the espresso machine as well!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiphias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2012

If you are looking for a 5 star place to stay in Charlevoix that has personality and really want to experience the regional charm, then you need to come here: Auberge des eaux vives. Just fabulous! Sylvain the host is attentive to every details, makes you feel very special. Best breakfasts I have ever had anywhere (and I'm quite an experienced traveler). Rooms are superb and the view is breathtaking. Overall the best value I have experienced in travelling and I had the best romantic weekend ever thanks to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Malbaie
3.6 mi away
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
2.8 mi away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.1 mi away
Auberge des Falaises
Auberge des Falaises
#3 of 13 in La Malbaie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge des Peupliers
Auberge des Peupliers
#5 of 13 in La Malbaie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
24.6 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
#1 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Eaux Vives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Eaux Vives

Property: Auberge des Eaux Vives
Address: 39 rue de la Greve | Secteur Cap-à-l'Aigle, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in La Malbaie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge des Eaux Vives 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge des Eaux Vives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Eaux Vives La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing