We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic place, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Pinsons des Rives
Ranked #7 of 40 La Malbaie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place was actually screaming to us we should stay longer! The view from the marine room was great, overlooking the St. Lawrence. We were actually a bit late checking in, but a call to the owners was enough and they stayed up a little longer for us. There's ample parking space near this cosy B&B. The room was very nice and homely! It's well decorated. It's great to have a private bathroom. On the hallway there's a little fridge. We even found a little present for each of us! The breakfast was really good, with the owner preparing it freshly and a lot of food to choose from. The owners are very friendly - I wouldn't have minded staying another night!

Room Tip: The marine room has a great view and the sofa is comfortable as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PietPost33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane G, Propriétaire at Les Pinsons des Rives, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thanks very much for your review. It's encouraging for us. We hope to see you again in a near future.

See you soon.

Christelle et Stéphane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 99 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our room was very small, but there were others much larger. The breakfast was not a hot cooked breakfast but was very good and had fresh pastries from one of the best bakeries in town as well as all the other cold breakfast items you could want. The hours for breakfast were very good starting at 7:00 so that you could get a good start on the day and extended late for those looking for a sleep in. It is a bit noisy at night, being on the main street but has the advantage of being within walking distance of many restaurants..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob3998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane G, Owner at Les Pinsons des Rives, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks a lot for have passed your stay in my establishment, and thanks for your witty remark. We have took in notes your observations. See you in a next future.
Christelle et Stéphane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel/B&B is run by a french couple who are very friendly and helpful. They are very supportive and give very good advise (in french and english) for activities in the area or restaurants and bars... We had two rooms, which were very different, but both were nice and fully equipped. One room was very small with a small bathroom with shower, whereas the other room as very large, with couches, large TV and a spacious bathroom. Both rooms also had amazing views over the river and were very quit and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and one of the best breakfasts we had in our trip through Canada. They offered a large variety of different things, including croissants, self made crepes and fruit salad and very good coffee. The house also offers private parking in the back of the house and a nice balcony with nice views.

Room Tip: The rooms differ in size but not in comfort and quality. Rooms facing the river offer fantastics vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane G, Owner at Les Pinsons des Rives, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thanks a lot for have taken a time to write a commentary. We will take account for your comments and we will hope to see you in a next future. Thanks again for have pass you stay in our establishment.

Your hosts Christelle and Stéphane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My room was small, but contained everything necessary for feeling at ease- even self-knittted woolen scuffs. The reception by the young French family owners was extremely friendly, and the breakfast almost overwhelming: I still dream of the fresh crispy baguettes, the home-made delicious bread and the great pancakes. Rue Richilieu is full with nice restaurants, especially a western style grill restaurant with music, where you can spend the evening. There is a private parking place for your car.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebuphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane G, Owner at Les Pinsons des Rives, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thanks a lot for your commentary. Hoping to see you soon. Sincerely Stéphane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great stay in a charming B&B run by a French couple. They are attentive, full of good advice on the area (nice places to eat, nice spots to stop for pictures, attractions and visits in the area).

The place is an old wooden house fully decorated with great taste. The view on the Saint Laurent is beautiful (but the road on that side is a little noisy), and the rooms on the other side are very quiet (and big!).

Small but functional showers in every room, with all the needed comfort. The place has a private parking for absolute comfort (although not needed, street is very calm). Plus an extra door for 24/7 access (with room key) for independence.

The breakfast is delicious (French style!) and gigantic.

It was one of our best stays in the area!

Room Tip: Rooms with the beautiful room are a little more noisy because of the road along the coast. Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane G, Owner at Les Pinsons des Rives, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thanks a lot and see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I was visiting Charlevoix and have decided to stop at this friendly bed and breakfast
The house is family run and people are very friendly and you are very well received by them.
The rooms are basic but comfortable and the breakfast that is served is excellent.
Well located in Pointe au Pic (Malbaie), there are plenty of restaurant for a good dinner.
We are also only a few minutes from the Casino du Manoir Richelieu.
Moreover, they even booked me my whale watching and for a horseback ride.
In conclusion a very good deal for the price !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love_To_Travel_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane G, Owner at Les Pinsons des Rives, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thanks a lot for your observations. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This restaurant has opened at this hotel this year (2011), but has no listing. I had the night special and it was excellent. A very decent price for an excellent meal including several choices of appetizer, main dish, and dessert (this evening it was a fabulous chocolate cake). The menu had other items as well if you wished. The house wine (red) was very good as well. Service was very friendly. Superb really.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Malbaie hotels
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
#9 of 13 in La Malbaie
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
2.7 mi away
Auberge Petite Plaisance
Auberge Petite Plaisance
#12 of 40 in La Malbaie
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel Le Point de Vue
Motel Le Point de Vue
#6 of 13 in La Malbaie
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Pinsons des Rives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Pinsons des Rives

Address: 830, rue Richelieu, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2X3, Canada (Formerly La Maison des Rives)
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in La Malbaie
Price Range: $62 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Les Pinsons des Rives 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm in a old house located along the St Lawrence River in Pointe au Pic. Eight traditionnally furnished rooms, all with private bathroom, four of them with a view of the St Lawrence River. After a good night, a continental breakfast with homemade ingredients is waiting for you. Television, wireless network and bicycles are offered free. Located along the "Route du Fleuve", it's a must stop if you want to have a change of scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Les Pinsons des Rives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Pinsons Des Rives La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing