We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Pontiac”
Review of Spruceholme Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spruceholme Inn
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Pontiac”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The only disappointment we had—due to time constraints—is that we could only stay one night! The rooms were wonderful—you have to love the twelve foot ceilings. Spruceholme is a look back in time, but with all the modern conveniences. The staff are down to earth and its owner Jane is engaging. After a short tour we were invited to the dining room where we enjoyed a locally sourced dinner prepared by the inns dedicated top notch chef. My traveling companion enjoyed the Roasted Chicken, and I the Pontiac Pork Ribs. We each sampled the other's dinner and agreed that both were excellent, and the mashed potatoes were just as our mother had prepared them.


EVENT PLANNERS TAKE NOTE: Spruceholme has just added a Conference Centre attached to its spacious post and beam repurposed hay barn in a beautiful setting. Call Jane for details
PJH

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJH911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were driving in the Pontiac on a Sunday afternoon and were looking for a good place to eat (i.e. a place that didn't serve chicken fingers and wings). We came across the Spruceholme Inn (Bryson's Bistro Du Bucheron) and had an unbelievable culinary experience. The food was excellent. My girlfriend ordered the salmon wellington and according to her it was the, "best meal I've ever had." Not only was the food excellent but we were also pleasantly surprised to be greeted by the owner, Jane Pitfield, a political celebrity of sorts who is breathing new life into the Ottawa Valley by opening the Inn and adjoining restaurant. I can't say enough good things about our experience! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

There is no other choice than staying here whenever I find myself in the area again. This B&B is steeped in history and family run for generations. The house is full of charm and class, just like it's owner!! It is fabulous to see and feel so many aspects of the past yet with the comforts of a modern times. With a bistro now connected, a hot tube, large yard and wonderfully spacious cozy suites, this place is a must stay. As a bonus, Jane grew up in this same house and can share so many wonderful stories. She is as precious as the home!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great food great service. We had been invited for the pre opener of teh Bistro. The story behind th ehistory of the building that was relocated to the site. A building that had been in the Owner of Spruceholme's family at one time during th elogging years. A great job in the restoration takes you back to a time where you wish you could have experienced.
The food was amazing. We had samples of what was to come. The service was great. We will return for a proper evening out. Can't wait to try an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fdlrptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a wonderful spot in the Pontiac region! Along with the beautiful antique decor, the owner and host, Jane Pitfield makes the difference in this peaceful historic region in the Pontiac region of Quebec.

We felt so at home at this charming B&B.. we will definitely be back - the host and staff made us feel very welcome, and the addition of the new Bryson Bistro was a bonus in the little quaint town that has little to offer in terms of fine dining --- The wines are reasonably priced, and the meal we had was simply delicious!

For those who enjoy a relaxing after a long day cycling on the PPJ trail.. a brand new hot tub was added to the offering at the beginning of September.

Will we be back? Most definitely :)

Room Tip: Book directly with the B&B and not through an online booking service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank planetseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Coming home to a place you grew up in can be a little emotional sometimes (good and bad)....expectations of what has been and the sometime disappointment of what could be?

Well I am from Fort Coulonge and I have always remembered the Bryson/Toler home as a centre pointe of this beautiful place...and, our recent stay only fortified that opinion.

The home is back in the most capable hand of a family member whom has a real grasp of the history and the feeling of this special place...Jane thank you for a wonderful and very memorable stay. Wonderful, elegant and oh so real...Merci beaucoup.

Jeff and Marg
Edelweiss, Wakefield, QC

Room Tip: Bryson or the room across the hall...splendid decor and room to stretch and relax....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice big property with such a beautiful historic home with a gracious and accommodating host Jane as a new owner. Jane is also the relative of the original owner of the house so this place is dear to her. Went there because my husband cycled the PPJ trail. Stayed in a big room on the 3rd floor with sloping ceilings, and a big bathroom. Had lunch at the quaint Bryson House which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rocky1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Coulonge
18.3 mi away
Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke
16.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Pembroke
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
16.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Pembroke
Econo Lodge Pembroke
#6 of 11 in Pembroke
87 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Motel Du Vieux Pont
#1 of 1 in Mansfield-et-Pontefract
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruceholme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruceholme Inn

Property: Spruceholme Inn
Address: 204, rue Principale, Fort Coulonge, Quebec J0X 1V0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Fort Coulonge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Coulonge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spruceholme Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spruceholme Inn! Proudly under the new ownership of Jane Toller (Pitfield), great-granddaughter of the original owner of Spruceholme - George Bryson Jr.Once you have been greeted by your hosts, you will be treated to a walk through history, through the time of the great lumber barons and of the opening of the Ottawa River Valley. The rich heritage, the luxury and the stories all come to life as you meander through a mansion that has been meticulously restored to its original splendour. When you enter Spruceholme you are immediately transported to another time and place. In every room you will find pieces of the past, and of George Bryson's legacy. Look for his roll top desk and an autographed photo of Sir Wilfrid Laurier, a frequent visitor to his fellow statesman's home in Pontiac back in Fort-Coulonge's heyday. No matter which room you choose to stay in, you will find Bryson family heirlooms, exquisite comfort and peace. We invite you to share this living museum with us, any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Spruceholme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruceholme Inn Fort Coulonge, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing