We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous winter weekend”
Review of Esterel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esterel Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous winter weekend”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend in January and we enjoyed it tremendously.
The staff was very friendly and courteous. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very cozy, love the fire places!
We savored an exquisite filet mignon dinner at the Roc Restaurant while enjoying the view of Lac Dupuis in front of us. They also have a great wine selection. We will certainly go back this summer to enjoy some of the activities on the lake.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    244
    104
    43
    27
See reviews for
117
450
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I was impressed with all the activities that you can do there ; snowmobiling, ice skating, snowshoeing, trapping, cross country skiing and the spa.The fact that they have 3 different restaurants is amazing, since we were there for 3 days. Every day we tried a different menu! The restaurant staff is great. Most of them are French, but they were making an effort to speak English. It was really appreciated.
The rooms are comfortable, spacious and intimates. The fire place and the view on the lac makes you want to stay forever. We went there to relax and enjoy a weekend away from home, mission accomplished!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We went for a company gala over a weekend. We are not spa people, so had we paid the package price for one night, supper and breakfast... the value would have been "very good" rather than excellent. On all other counts, this was an excellent venue, for service, décor, quiet.
ROOM: Contrary to what another reviewer said, the room is EXACTLY what you see on the photos. I purposely took photos as soon as we entered the room, after turning on the lights and fireplace. A very cozy suite and comfortable. Tasteful decor.
FOOD: gourmet presentation, delicious
SERVICE: in dining room, efficient

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twocardinals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Bruno, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice location, close to Montreal. Very nice room, excellent layout with a gaz fire place. All you need for your comfort. In fact it's all suite ao you have your little kitchen.
Restaurant: food is excelente, very good quality, fresh and lots of choices.
Bar: ask and you will received ! Samuel make the best Martini !
Staff: from the valet service, reception desk, waiter or even the maintenance personal, everyone welcome me, were nice and went out of there way to make sure everything was all right.
Free internet, close to town, excepcional view.
I really love the place and will be back for sure.
Outdoor: jacuzzi, ice ring, the view is exceptional on the lake.

Room Tip: Suite with lake view are fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

nothing else to add, except that yes, you can definitely talk in the Scandinavian baths outside, as opposed to some other establishments. For the 2nd year in a row, I went there, this time even with a friend with children, and nobody told the kids they can't talk and nobody was after us to tell us to shut up, as they did in the amerispa I reviewed previously.
4 Scandinavian baths outside, in Esterel, open space on one side of the hotel (a frozen lake with a bit of woods), but it is not in the wilderness, there's cottages in the other side of the lake. The rooms are amazingly decorated (modern, not old "rustique" style) w nice fireplaces. 3 restaurants, all nice, one more expensive than others but the other 2 are great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandaGRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We booked two nights December 24 and 25 our Christmas present to us a mini vacation. We drove 3 1/2 hours to get there only to be disappointed with the room it was nothing like the website showed the big thing they claim is the windows and the view only you can't leave the curtains open. Long story short after driving three and a half hours to the place and visiting our room we were disappointed with the accommodations the room was small and yrs the retractable wall ha ha better hope you don't need to use the washroom. I have more space in my bedroom at home then I had in the whole room they wanted me to stay in for two days (we booked the lake view upgraded room) I have bigger rooms at the holiday inn. When we told them we did not like the accommodations they showed is another room which was bigger and had a hot tub on the baloney nice you think yes it was only problem was they built the skating rink right outside our room where kids were playing hockey my husband joked about does the hot tub come with helmets!!! They answer was normally the rink is not her ok but it is now so so much for the hot tub and leaving the curtains open to see the view. We told them no thanks this is not what we expected or wanted and that we would not be staying. They said fine but we are keeping your deposit I said no we did not cancel we drove here three and a half hours and do not like the accommodations and now on Christmas Eve we have to drive back home three and a half hours. With nothing ready for Christmas celebration and no groceries because everything is now closed for two days. I am very disappointed with their attitude if I had stay home and called to cancel I would agree to pay the cancelation fee but driving there paying for gas and lunch and then driving home the same day 8 hour round trip on Christmas Eve and then not being able to buy groceries made for a disappointing Christmas vacation . I would say save your money or find a place that sells what they advertise. I am still waiting for my refund and I hope I won't have to use the consumer protection to get it back. Please acknowledge the difference between cancelling and not liking your accommodations and refund my deposit.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013tri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I were planning a one-night total relaxation package at Esterel Resort , on the night of December 30th. Reservation online was very easy and straightforward, no hassle. We had however to call the hotel to inquire about some details and they were very helpful on the phone, clarifying all our inquiries.

We chose the Emotion hotel with the lake-view king bed suite (although in winter time, you can only see the snow everywhere, but that was equally good and peaceful!). Check-in was very easy and quick, no surprises at all! The moment I walked into the room, I was very much impressed by the decoration, the set-up, the modern aspect and cleanliness of the suite! It was absolutely the same look as you can picture it on the hotel's website! I was impressed!

We went directly for our massage appointments at 1:30 pm at Amerispa. The personnel in the spa were very kind and we were well greeted and welcomed. Spa is clean and set-up very Zen and quite. We were invited to the massage rooms on time. When we booked, we asked for an extension of 30 min for the massage session and we paid the difference at the spa. The massotherapist who took care of my massage was very good and professional. That was super relaxing. After the massage is over, we walked out to the jaccuzzi and pool (temperature hovering around -20C), it was freezing out there, but we enjoyed the hot water for sometimes, then walked to the steam room then to the sauna. That was such a relaxing unique experience.

We had dinner at night at the Bistro 360 Resto. The atmosphere was nice and not too crowded and noisy (somehow busy for a monday night ). The staff were very welcoming and we were able to choose the table we like. Food was fantastic and very tasty (nachos, salmon etc...), However, the service was veryyyyyy slow!!!! We checked in at the restaurant at 8:10 pm, and we got the first nachos plate appetizer at 9:00 pm! we were craving.... But after waiting for so long, tasting the delicious well-presented food made us forget all about the late service!

The bed was very comfy and clean (that was super important for me- cleanliness). Carpets, towels, shower robes etc.... everything was just fantastic! The room was quite. No noise and nothing was disturbing at all!

The next morning breakfast buffet was good as well. May be not the very best and rich buffet, since there was not much varieties to choose from, but overall experience was good!

Checking out was very quick. We settled the difference in the bill and no uneventful surprises.

I am looking forward taking the kids in the summer and enjoy the beach side and the water activities. I am very happy mu husband and I had some time off to relax, and that was absolutely a TOTAL RELAXATION GATEAWAY that I would recommend to every couple.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WCheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterel
8.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
200 reviews
12.5 mi away
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
319 reviews
7.7 mi away
Auberge du Lac Morency
Auberge du Lac Morency
#1 of 2 in Saint Hippolyte
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Viking Resort & Marina
Le Viking Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson
10 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Le Chantecler
Hotel Le Chantecler
#8 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esterel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esterel Resort

Property: Esterel Resort
Address: 39 Boulevard Fridolin-Simard, Esterel, Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, Quebec J0T 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson > Esterel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esterel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estérel Resort offers an exceptional nature experience. Bordered by three navigable lakes, lush Laurentian forest and a Nordic spa, Estérel Resort’s two hotels offer a magical Laurentian backdrop, the ideal setting for a romantic getaway. An impeccable panorama and welcoming facilities make Estérel Resort the obvious choice for events such as weddings, conferences and corporate events. The three gourmet restaurants, banquet halls, suites with a fireplace and outdoor activities during both the summer and winter seasons are guaranteed to provide unforgettable memories. Treat yourself to a unique Laurentian experience with a stay at Estérel Resort. Estérel Resort, exceptional destination 1 h from Montreal – 6 h from Toronto – 2 h 15 from Ottawa – 4 h from Kingston 3 h 30 from Burlington, VT – 6 h from Boston, MA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Esterel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esterel Suites Spa & Lac Hotel Esterel
Esterel Suites Spa And Lac
Esterel Resort Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing