We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but worth every penny”
Review of Esterel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esterel Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 night at the beinning of the month. We did splurged (had the kobe beef at dinner, ordered great bottles of wine, had sparkling wine delivered to us at night in the room), but even if we wouldnt have, the quality of customer service , the view and the many amneties make it that even if u don't splurge, you cannot, not have a great time.

We've travelled before and have been in contact with many customer representatives, but i have to asmit that their Maitre D and Helene in the restaurants as well as girl who checked us in (Joelle i think) and managed to get us a table at 7:30 when we had forgotten to reserve are top notch

It was expensive, very expensive for a 2 day w-e (if u include the splurging) but when you get that kind of quality, i dont mind paying for it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hourray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterel39, Assistant General Manager at Esterel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Hourray,
I am writing you a quick note to let you know how your comment is greatly appreciated.

You splurged yourself with our best products that we are proud to have for those who seek to spoil themselves. Our variety of products is one of our key of success to satisfy everyone in every context.

I am very pleased that our staffs went over your expectation and note that your comment went to their director in order to encourage the continuity of their good work.

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again,

Maude Y.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 835 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Esterel is an old hotel that has been entirely gutted and redone. It is ultra-contemporary and sits right at the lake. The setting is beautiful. All the rooms are suites. They are very comfortable if not always practical. There is no door between the bedroom area and living room area so if some of your party are sleeping on the Murphy bed in the living room there is no privacy. Similarly, the bathroom door is thin frosted glass and so no privacy there. The windows facing the lake are wall to wall and ceiling to floor and so the views are amazing. We had a corner top-floor suite and the panorama from two walls is breath-taking.
What you have to know is that Esterel is condo rentals and very good food. It is not really a full service hotel. When you arrive, there is a very poorly designed entrance that is not only unimpressive, but hard to navigate with a trolley of luggage. There is no doorman nor valet staff to help. If the entrance was well-designed the lack of a doorman or valets would not be an issue. Someone who does not design hotels designed this entrance. The building is beautiful but the entrance is so cheap, it’s out of character. Also the lobby floor is covered in ugly dust and dirt runners and makes the lobby seem worse than it is. The staff at the front desk range from mostly no skill, no interest in you, to very pleasant. There is no evidence that anyone has had hotel training, except one woman whom I believe is the manager. She was lovely but you are not dealing with her on a daily basis. Unlike a regular hotel, no one is really interested in your comfort or enjoyment. If you complain they listen but don't understand what the role of a front desk person is. Most of the restaurant staff are excellent. However service is often slow which I assume is the kitchen and not the servers. They have the best crab cake you have ever tasted. Actually, the food is very good.
They are constructing a second building next door which promises to meet all your needs. The current building has no pool and the new one will have a four seasons outdoor pool. The new building has a proper hotel entrance which will be easier to navigate. The construction means that dump trucks run all day every five minutes. If facing the lake, it's not much of a problem, but outside in front of the hotel it is not a calm quiet country experience. If you complain about it, the staff are in denial and pretend that everything is normal. This construction will soon be over so the future looks fine.

Room Tip: Waterside rooms have amazing views. It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterel39, General Assistant Manager at Esterel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Ron S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to see you found your room comfortable and that you loved the view. Probably the suite you chose may not answer the best your needs, as you probably noticed they are more oriented for a couple or for a small family. For your next stay, we suggest you choose one of our fifteen suites featuring a closed room. We are surprised to read that you do not consider we are a full service hotel. Estérel Suites, Spa & Lac is an all-suites four stars hotel offering three restaurants, a health and beauty center, a gym, ten meeting rooms, a marina and a golf. We take good note of your complain regarding the service at the front desk. We had some new employees during the summer that were still in training. With the opening of the new hotel emotion, we are planning to have a valet service. In the mean time, customers may ask the front desk for help with their luggage.

Very soon, we will offer a brand new Nordic spa featuring a panoramic 4-season pool, a summer pool, three huge outdoor hot tubs, dry sauna, steam sauna, lounging areas and natural beach. Beside the Nordic spa, we are building a brand new hotel featuring 105 suites, which is almost done, and will enhance even more our product. We hope to have the opportunity to see in our new hotel called emotion.

Best regards,

Isadora Lacourse
General Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A calm and beautiful setting, close to Montreal. Wife and I booked here for 2 days on a last minute whim. We got the last available room in the hotel which was a "garden view" ground level.

The view was pretty much of nothing and some ground underconstruction, but that was fine with us. The room was spacious, comfortable and felt very stylish. And, because it was on the ground floor, it came with its own hot tub.

We got a package that included a meal at "le rok" and breakfast and buffet. All the food was terrific and the service was excellent. I think if we were there for more time we would have ventured to the nearby town, but for a weekend, everything onsite was more than enough.
Our reservation also included tennis and boats, which was nice. We didn't play tennis, but used the paddle boat one day and a canoe the next.

Once they finish the other wing of the building and pool complex, it'll be a flawless place. It's a wonderful way to experience the laurentians without "roughing it"

Some tips: bring drinks and snacks. You'll get a fridge in the room and have almost a full kitchen (no oven or stove, but there is a toaster oven and a microwave). If travelling with little ones (or childish grownups), consider floaty toys for the lake.

Room Tip: Decide what's more important: a lake view or a personal hot tub. Then pursue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dothereo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterel39, General Assistant Manager at Esterel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Dothereo,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are happy to know that you found the room comfortable and that you loved it. Your good comments about the food and service have been forwarded to our staff who is always motivated to have feedback from clients.
Also,concerning your suggestion for bringing floating toys for the lake, we already have some of them at the marina.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Regards,

Isadora Lacourse
Genarel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was a wonderful couple of days spent with my Mom for some much needed relaxation. The Hotel itself was very nice and spacious. Our room had a wonderful view of the lack. The room could have been somewhat more spacious since every night we had to rearrange the living room to pull down the Murphy bed. The bathroom is very large and the bathtub nice and deep. Coffee machine made wonderful individual cups of coffee! Could have used more then one cup each!!

Dined at the Bistro two nights and had breakfast every morning. The food was great and the service very attentive. All in all the staff is very professional and welcoming throughout this establishment.

So here is my only big complaint. We arrived in front of the hotel to find all kinds of construction going on. Big trucks, lots of men working and all kind of noise. It was rather astonishing that nothing was said on their website or mentioned when making the reservation. We were disappointed at first but made the best of it. Also one night we went to St. Adele for diner and came back to the hotel after dark. The walk from the parking lot back to the Hotel was difficult. It was dark, no lights and lots of puddles and mud to walk in. Someone could have gotten hurt.

I gave an average overall score because of the construction and lack of notification. This place must be awesome when no construction is going on.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterel39, General Asssitant Manager at Esterel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hello Valerie T,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are happy to know that you loved our Nespresso coffee machine with the two prenium blend who are offered in the room.
We also communicate your good comment to our staff concerning the food and the service.

For the construction, we are sorry that you have been not advised of it. Because it is the city who manage the construction, we were not warns of how long this would last. At this time, the asphalt is done and there is lights for the evening. The construction in front of the rooms is over and the peat is almost finished.

We hope to welcome you again to show you how is the hotel without construction. You will also certainly enjoy our new hotel emotion and the scandinavian baths too.

Best regards,

Isadora Lacourse
General Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We checked in past midnight (I called the hotel to tell them) but when we arrived we waited over 15 minutes at the desk for the woman to come and check us in. I had to go searching through the hotel to find someone to help us. Very unprofessional!

Everything looks nice decor wise; the room was a good size and the beds were comfortable but many of the improvements are really not functional. For instance, the faucet has such a large overhang into the sink that it makes it difficult to wash your hands. There is no space between the end of the faucet and the sink - my hands barely fit underneath the faucet. It sounds trivial but it is very inconvenient.

The water pressure in the shower was terrible. The murphy bed (which we needed to use) couldn't be pulled out of the wall until we re-arranged the furniture (ourselves). I shouldn't have to move a couch and side tables to be able to go to sleep.

The fitness room was a real disappointment - not much equipment in there and the pool was not yet opened which was a surprise. The breakfast buffet was average and there was no multi grain or brown bread. Only white bread, white bagels, white pancakes etc...

I won't go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTLMOntreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterel39, General Assistant Manager at Esterel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear MTLMOntreal,

Thank you for sharing your opinion, it help us provide a better service and quality of product.

We are sorry to know that you had to search in the hotel to find our night auditor, we have put in place a policy that the night auditor need to have a replacement to quit the reception. For our shower we have a control of pressure , so it is a standard pressure. In the room, we use the space in a utility way to offer to our customers most of the amenities they needs, this is why the furniture must be moved if the murphy bed is used.
At the end of november, our scandinavian baths will be complete, so we will provide two pools, four hot tub, two cold showers, a humid sauna and a dry sauna.
Usually, our breakfast buffet always offer brown bread, we probably had a problem with our supplier and we are sorry about that.

We hope that you will come back to see what is the real Estérel Suites, Spa & Lac experience.

Best regards,

Isadora Lacourse
General Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked a lakeview suite on a higher floor to avoid the noise concerns some have mentioned as we also have a 5 year old. Despite some of the negative comments, for us the excellent quality of food, the spectacular views, the modern decor and well laid out suites more than make up for the issues that need improvement.

Our suite was intelligently laid out with the sleeping area divided from the living area by a three sided fireplace. Our son had a pullout murphy bed. The kitchen area had a handy espresso maker, as well as the mini fridge, microwave etc. I enjoyed my espresso sitting on the balcony soaking in the sun and the view of the lake. The bathroon area was spa like, with deep soaking tub, separate glassed shower, Tons of space with very cool blues and greys. Very tranquil. The room was spotless. I had a great sleep and whatever they used to launder the towels I loved.

The sandy beach area had plenty of seating and a great gradual sandy entry for the little ones.

We ate dinner in the Bistro. If you are hungry, the signature dish is the jumbo short rib. it was awesome. Highly recommned. I would make a side trip just to eat that piece of meat again.

I agree with what others have noted, the service was spotty. Apologies were made because my order was forgotten and when I was served my wife and son were half way through their meal.

We noted the inconsistency at breakfast too. The check in and check out process was unduly cumbersome. To ease the pressures here, the hotel should allow you to check out from your room and skip the process at the front desk altogether.

Some have complained about the kayak rental charges. My thoughts on it are this. There is free wi-fi and free parking, which benefits just about everyone. Charging extra for the kayaks means the room rates aren't jacked up to absorb that cost. You don't pay for what you don't use. I paid for the extra. On the other hand my expectation is that the equpment will be properly maintained and treated like the "extra" that it is.


Clearly the service is not as streamlined as it should be. I suspect they are working to improve this, as it does not align with and does not meet the lofty objectives of this establishment are. The service does not line up with the quality of the rooms, or the quality of the food which are both to a high standard. Clearly the demographic being targeted is the "upscale" set. The parking lot is a luxury car ad. Expectations in this set are high. No doubt the wrinkles will be sorted out in time. The hotel is expanding and their is construction on site. When we left, a bulldozer was in the front yard.

This is definitely worth another visit again. I hope they succeed in their mission and will be curious to see how they are doing a year from now.

Room Tip: Request a lakeview room! Chilling on the balcony with a view of the lake and it's all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank familyexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterel39, General Assistant Manager at Esterel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Familyexplore,

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room and the food excellent.
We are sorry that the service was not as it should be during your meals. We take in note your comment and your suggestion about the front desk. As you write in your comment, we are always working to improve our offer and to have a constant product and service.

We hope to see you earlier than next year to show you how our service will be!

Regards,

Isadora Lacourse
General Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We just completed a 3 day stay over at L'Esterel. Our week end could have been perfect, but really fell short of our expectations. The view from lake front side is just amazing. the food was excellent, they also offer a very nice variety of wines & spirits.

We somehow were not that impressed with the lack of organization of the services offered, especially from the "Bistro" restaurant. The average time between each services on the first & last night was around 60-90 minutes, without any news or explanations from our waiter. Many mistakes were made in the orders. After complaining about the long wait & mistakes, the management offered us a selection from the "ROK" restaurant on the last night. Tasted great, but service was still slow.

There were also a few errors with the invoice process - they double charged us for the massages we had at the Amerispa (for which we paid up front) - they also charged the "included" meals for my 5y/o daughter).

We also experienced the "wedding weekend" as reviewed by IMADUDEADAM, with all the patio door shaking grooves & beats until past midnight. Not that nice when you have an over tired 5y/o who wants to sleep.

So the benefits of the amazing room with the even more magnificent view of the lake was nilled by the amount of problems we encountered during our three day stay. This was our last stay there, we will greatly miss the room & the view.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterel39, Directeur général at Esterel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Patrick T,

Thank you for your comments, this is what helps us to improve our product.
The experience you describe is not reflecting our regular offer and we are very sorry about that.
We have already make the follow up with our differents departements to be sure that this kind of disagreement will not occur again.
Please accept our apologize.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again to show what is normally our service.

Best regards,

Isadora Lacourse
General Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterel
8.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
215 reviews
12.5 mi away
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
334 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel St-Sauveur
Hotel St-Sauveur
#1 of 5 in Piedmont
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Relais St. Denis
Relais St. Denis
#2 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
177 reviews
12.7 mi away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
386 reviews
7.6 mi away
Auberge du Lac Morency
Auberge du Lac Morency
#1 of 2 in Saint Hippolyte
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esterel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esterel Resort

Address: 39 Boulevard Fridolin-Simard, Esterel, Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, Quebec J0T 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson > Esterel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Price Range: $154 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esterel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estérel Resort offers an exceptional nature experience. Bordered by three navigable lakes, lush Laurentian forest and a Nordic spa, Estérel Resort’s two hotels offer a magical Laurentian backdrop, the ideal setting for a romantic getaway. An impeccable panorama and welcoming facilities make Estérel Resort the obvious choice for events such as weddings, conferences and corporate events. The three gourmet restaurants, banquet halls, suites with a fireplace and outdoor activities during both the summer and winter seasons are guaranteed to provide unforgettable memories. Treat yourself to a unique Laurentian experience with a stay at Estérel Resort. Estérel Resort, exceptional destination 1 h from Montreal – 6 h from Toronto – 2 h 15 from Ottawa – 4 h from Kingston 3 h 30 from Burlington, VT – 6 h from Boston, MA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Esterel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esterel Suites Spa & Lac Hotel Esterel
Esterel Suites Spa And Lac
Esterel Resort Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing