We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were expecting much more”
Review of Esterel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esterel Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We came to l'Esterel for a 3 night stay including the "Les retrouvailles romantiques" package. The room was huge and fairly well decorated with a fireplace in the wall, but the furniture was far from being confortable.

The hotel is in a remote location and unless you are willing to drive on a tortuous road for up to 30 minutes or have brought food, you are pretty much stuck at eating at the hotel restaurant where the prices are outrageously high for the quality and service. As an example, at one of the evening meal, they started to take away plates before we were both finished and even took away the desert spoon and fork before the end of the meal. You may get room service, but the price are usually higher than going to the dining room and they add a full room service charge to the bill (not indicated on the menu).

They completed a full refit of this hotel in the past year which was highly needed from some other reviews, but it definitely needs some general tweaking, but definitely a lot with regard to the restaurant service, including room service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aylmerois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 819 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

As a Valentine present ,I offered to my husband a 2 nite stay at this hotel. Must say I was a bit apprehensive after reading the comments of the last 2 reviewers. However, I was pleasantly surprised to see that most of the negative ones had been corrected.
Our suite, on the last floor, was facing the lake. Very design and comfortable with a stunning bathroom .. The hotel reopened a few months ago and everything is new and in perfect condition. We particularly enjoyed the large floor to ceiling windows and the fireplace with a face on both the living room and the bedroom.
Food is good but not outstanding.Too bad , they do not use local products .
I had a massage on the second evening and Mireille , the therapist, had fantastic hands. The waiting room at the spa is well done and relaxing.
We rented snowshoes for 24 hours not far from the hotel and enjoyed it so much that we both bought a pair when we got back home. The skating on both lakes looked quite inviting and we wished we had our skates with us.
My only complain is the elevator: so slow. A place of this size needs 2 .

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Stayed two night at L'esterel with my wife in January 2011.

The hotel was closed for a long time for renovation and reopened not too long ago. The premise are beautiful and our room was spacious and had an amazing view of the late. Everything is brand new and although the quality did not feel very high, the hotel was general comfortable with a trendy look. Our room was missing soap when we arrived which we had to ask for. Small oversight.

We had booked the package with inclusive dinner and breakfast and it was a breeze to get reservation set-up at the time we wanted for both nights. The food was ok but not spectacular and the menu were not up to date which a nunber of changes the waiter had to explain. The wine list is extremely limited with only a few decent choices. Service in the restaurant and bar was very sub par making you feel you were eating at dennys rather than a supposedly high end boutique hotel. The Maitre d' often left patron waiting for 10 minutes or more before welcoming them and seating them. Overall the experience was dissapointing.

We did use the hot tub outside which were nice and convenient but there was no bathrobe in the room which forced us to get keys for locker from the SPA. Also it means that when the SPA is closed, you can't really go and use the hot tub.

The activities seemed ok although you had to cross the lake to get to the cross country and racket center. Also at night it's hard to go walk around the premise as the area is very poorly lit.

Overall very dissapointed and can't really recommend the place for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n8fire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Gorgeous hotel in a beautiful location! Staff at front desk extremely friendly, especially Dominique. Spa is awesome. Now to the growing pains...Hotel opened way before it was ready. One evening we waited for over one hour to have supper. Staff was understanding and did give us a bottle of wine to compensate. Buffet breakfast staff was extremely slow in removing plates and cleaning tables. Restaurant aims to be high end but at this point falls short. Cleaning staff forgot to clean our room and seemed to generally be confused as to what they were supposed to be doing. The hotel has no pool! With three teenagers in tow it left a lot of free time to occupy. We brought our skates but ice on the lake was not cleaned properly for skating to be enjoyable. Also, there were no other activities on site...no cross country ski or snow shoe rental. Staff at front desk did not even know where to direct us even though such a service was available less than a 10 min walk away. We had a package deal so it was worth our stay but if we had paid full price we would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OttawaSoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Côté du lac idéalement.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, Responsable de la relation client at Esterel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterel
8.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
207 reviews
12.5 mi away
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
325 reviews
12.7 mi away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Alpine Inn
Hotel Alpine Inn
#4 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Viking Resort & Marina
Le Viking Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson
15 reviews
8.3 mi away
Excelsior Hotel Spa Sainte-Adele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esterel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esterel Resort

Address: 39 Boulevard Fridolin-Simard, Esterel, Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, Quebec J0T 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson > Esterel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Price Range: $154 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esterel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estérel Resort offers an exceptional nature experience. Bordered by three navigable lakes, lush Laurentian forest and a Nordic spa, Estérel Resort’s two hotels offer a magical Laurentian backdrop, the ideal setting for a romantic getaway. An impeccable panorama and welcoming facilities make Estérel Resort the obvious choice for events such as weddings, conferences and corporate events. The three gourmet restaurants, banquet halls, suites with a fireplace and outdoor activities during both the summer and winter seasons are guaranteed to provide unforgettable memories. Treat yourself to a unique Laurentian experience with a stay at Estérel Resort. Estérel Resort, exceptional destination 1 h from Montreal – 6 h from Toronto – 2 h 15 from Ottawa – 4 h from Kingston 3 h 30 from Burlington, VT – 6 h from Boston, MA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Esterel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esterel Suites Spa & Lac Hotel Esterel
Esterel Suites Spa And Lac
Esterel Resort Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing