We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spa Eastman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spa Eastman
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eastman
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My sister and I spent a week at Spa Eastman in early July. We both had been working hard and wanted to relax. Spa Eastman far exceeded our expectations The location and the settings were beautiful. The grounds are well maintained. We had lovely walks in the woods, massages, spa treatments. The food was wonderful, very healthy. We loved the emphasis on local food, We stayed in Kaufman and loved the short walk to the main house. We found the staff to be very professional yet friendly. We especially enjoyed our chats with the owner who was onsite every day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaEastman, Propriétaire at Spa Eastman, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Wow! Glad you loved your stay like this!

It was a pleasure for me to meet you. I hope we will see you again, maybe in winter, why not? :)

Jocelyna Dubuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    44
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
77
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great location and setting. They’ve done a good job at explaining the hydrotherapy. There’s just one big room for the relaxing part, feels a bit crowded at times.

Staff and service were excellent. I appreciate the fact that the food menu has been designed as part of the whole spa experience. Expect healthy food.

The only reason I’m not giving it a 5, is the accommodation I had. Frankly for the price I paid, and it’s not cheap going there, it’s a bit of a rip off. My room was literally in the basement of an older house with a tiny utility basement window. The room was very damp, they had commercial carpet directly on concrete with tiny beds not long enough. It just felt wrong to put guests there. I’m surprised it’s even allowed for their license. It truly felt like I was a kid visiting an old relative and you end up in that old smelly basement guest bedroom. Make sure you exactly know in advance what room you’ll get and maybe pay the extra for a better room. They should shut down these basement rooms.

Room Tip: Splurge on a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaEastman, Propriétaire at Spa Eastman, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your comment! We're glad you enjoyed Eastman-les-Bains Hydrotherapy zone!

Spa Eastman offers 43 rooms shared in 4 categories going from spacieuse(with fireplace, air jet bath, terrasse overlooking Mont Orford, etc.) to economic type of room. We have only 5 economic rooms; among them, 3 are located in semi-basement of our Canadian House pavillion and the 2 others are located in Bois cordé pavilion. We keep them available to clientele to accommodate those who want to get the complete destination spa experience, without spending too much money on the room. You obviously chose one of these 5 rooms. Upon reservation, our team have the obligation to advise the interested clientele about the exact description of the room, including that it is located in the basement, yet still lighted by high windows. We are sorry to learn that you had different expectations.

Because all our packages are offered on an all-inclusive basis, the cost per night may seem a bit more than just a room in another spa. At Spa Eastman, the price of a room for one night includes dinner, breakfast and lunch (and tips!), access to 3 fitness activities daily with personal trainers, and unlimited access to the Hydrotherapy zone, including indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs, polar bath, hammam, steam room, and igloo shower. It's not really only the price of the room itself.

For a next visit, you would probably appreciate much more the comfort of our regular rooms instead, all located on 1st or 2nd floors, most of them with nice King size bed. Over the phone, our team can guide you on the Web to see photos of each and every room and pavilion; never hesitate to ask.

I am happy that you like the menu in our Restaurant. As you maybe know by now, our Chef Kevin Bélisle was honored as ''Chef Santé'' by Société des chefs cuisiniers et pâtissiers du Québec. With his brigade, he really brings healthy food to a new (and delicious!) level.

Again, thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Jocelyna Dubuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My mom and I stayed at Spa Eastman in June 2014 for 5 days.

The grounds were beautifully kept and the food was VERY healthy and flavourful. We stayed in the Canadianne (sp) cottage and it was very cute. Our room was cleaned every day and we had ample supplies for soap and hair products (For new people - they do not have TV's or phones in the room) This goes with the whole quiet theme but by the third day you start missing TV a bit.
Our treatment's were great - I had the Dorsal Massage, Therapeutic Massage, Naturopath, Facial, and Sea Salt and Body Scrub.. all were excellent.


This is our second trip to Spa Eastman and we thoroughly enjoyed it but the main comments would be :

Everything is in French as the last review stated, and it can leave you very little to do in the evening when they have only French speaking seminars, as well all the exercise classes are generally offered in French... It would be nice if it was more bilingual.

The other thing.. Since our last visit the food has changed quiet a bit.. It is VERY healthy - we both lost weight on this trip! - we had to go to a restaurant on our last night and get something different because there was only a few options for dinner that they would rotate, so if you are staying for more than 2 days this can become problematic.

Overall the staff were very friendly, food was good, and treatments were great! I would recommend this Spa for people who want peace and quiet and to feel rejuvenated after their holidays!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahartnett87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaEastman, Owner at Spa Eastman, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
I am glad you and your mom enjoyed your stay! I thank you for taking the time to share your comments and appreciation.

We are aware that only 4 out of 7 of our daily activities are offered in french and english. Some English only activities will soon be included to our schedule as soon as we do have 5 or more English speaking guests on-site. We used to do it in the past, as soon as there were 3 english speaking guests at the spa, but as the activities are suggested and no-one is forced to attend, we often ended up with an extra speaker... with no attendee. As mentioned in our response to the previous comment, we are actually working on a way to increase english content.

Dinner menu offers a choice of 7 different dishes (2 meat, 2 fish, 2 vegan and 1 raw food menu), plus the ‘’Chef’s Choice of the Day’’ that bring a different touch to the menu on a daily basis. You are right when saying that our food is very healthy as our Chef Kevin Bélisle was honored last year as ''Chef Santé'' by the Société des chefs cuisiniers et pâtissiers du Québec, for creating a bold and tasty cuisine that highlights the most demanding principles of healthy food (gluten free, no dairy product, no grilled meat). This anti-inflammatory type of cuisine allows to eat regular quantities of food while still loosing weight.

We take good note of all your comments and thank you deeply for taking the time to share it with us.

We hope to see you again!

Jocelyna Dubuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustico, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My two friends and I spent 5 nights there last week. There was a lot to love about this place...the beauty of the natural setting, the peaceful atmosphere of the entire place, the spa treatments. One of our biggest complaints however was the disregard for making our time there anywhere near bilingual. If you don't speak French, don't come alone because you will not be able to communicate. While I was aware that the seminars were given in French, I didn't think the entire place was mostly French speaking. The first evening, the chef came out to 'present' the special, which was done of course in French. After listening to a 15 minute description of the meal,I asked if that could be translated in English. What I got as a response was " we are having beef". End of description. I understand that all the staff are not bilingual but having an English description typed out for distribution was all that was needed. We also approached the owner to see if we could get some info on the seminars, even if it was in French. We were prepared to get it translated ourselves. She indicated that it would be no problem but unfortunately didn't follow through. I felt like I missed out on a lot of what was offered simply because of the language issue and for that reason only would think twice about returning here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaEastman, Propriétaire at Spa Eastman, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Shelley C.,

We thank you for taking the time to let us know about your disappointment.

As you mention, most of our clientele and staff are french speaking. We do strive however to accommodate our English speaking guests. Though not all our employees are perfectly bilingual, they all get by with at least a broken English.

Most activities ( 4 out of 7, daily) are offered in both french and english, as soon as one person asks for english explanations. This rule applies to the 7:45 fitness walk, 9:30 meditation walk, 8:35 and 12:00 fitness activities. We will keep in mind your suggestion of having at least English copies of the documentation given at the workshops. Unfortunately, not all speakers do supply written documentation, even in french; this is why we could not give you any after your request. We must also add that when we know in advance that we will have 5 English speaking guests at a time, we do our best to offer a few English only workshops or movies, as evening activities.

We will also take under advisement your comment concerning the explanation of our menu.

Again, we thank you for sharing your comment.

Jocelyna Dubuc
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Spent the day at Eastman Spa last weekend. Service was great and stone massage was heavenly. Wanted to book more services but couldn't even get a manicure with 2 days notice. Lunch was great Overall great place. Needs a bit of an uplift in decor though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank FactChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaEastman, Propriétaire at Spa Eastman, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience. We take note of your comments and will use it to improve our offer.

Hoping to see you again,

Jocelyna Dubuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I came to relax with my boyfriend and took advantage of the 4 a 10 special. Basically we had access to the saunas, pool, and hot tubs from 4 pm to 10 pm which included dinner. The staff were all so nice and accommodating ensuring we had everything we needed. We had a fantastic time, it was so nice to get out of the city and enjoy a relaxing night looking at the stars while being in a hot tub. The food was absolutely delicious and my mouth is watering just thinking about it!! For $89 each, this definitely was a steal and I will be coming back more often!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miche03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I went with a friend last year over a long weekend to celebrate my birthday and it was a great experience, even though we drove through a blizzard to get there. I think we had one of the nicest rooms in the place, with a fireplace and balcony (though we mostly used the latter to chill our champagne in the snow since it was so cold outside). We had a mountain view and it was quite beautiful. The spa services were fantastic, though at times it was difficult to communicate with the staff because some spoke only French. The majority of guests (but not all) were French speaking as well. The food was healthy but surprisingly good and the dinner menu included wine (meals were part of the package rate, but alcohol was additional). My friend loved the sauna sequence and yoga. For me, the best part was the outdoor hot tub with lights that changed colors, near a fire pit. Sitting out there at night while it lightly snowed felt like a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francie413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastman
16.9 mi away
Manoir Hovey
Manoir Hovey
#1 of 1 in North Hatley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
#2 of 7 in Bromont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
6.2 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#2 of 7 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
8.3 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
20.3 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Eastman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Eastman

Property: Spa Eastman
Address: 895, chemin des Diligences, Eastman, Quebec J0E 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Eastman
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eastman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spa Eastman 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate health & wellness vacation!Spa Eastman was named one of America’s Healthiest Spas by Health Magazine. It was also named one of the best spas of the World, as part of Spa Finder’s Readers’ Choice Awards in the “Best Affordable Spa” category. If for you a vacation means shaping up, feeling well and relaxed, enjoying exceptional spa treatments, eating delicious healthful meals, then your perfect destination is Spa Eastman! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Spa Eastman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Eastman Hotel Eastman
Eastman Hotel Quebec
Eastman Spa Quebec
Spa Eastman Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing