We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioning”
Review of Chateau Madelinot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Madelinot
Reviewed September 5, 2013

While there is no air conditioning they do have fans which circulates the air , and it mus t be sais that the weather in the evening gets cooler. The restaurant and bar have great atmosphere and the food is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Basile43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Madelinot
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in August. Check in went well considering the limited English. We were given a room on the 3rd floor with an oceanview balcony. Our room was a fair walk from check in but worth it for the view. No air conditioning but it cools off at night so we just left balcony door partially opened and that did the job. Room had a small fridge and a ceiling fan. TV reception was spotty at times but wifi worked great considering our distance from the lobby. Bathroom was modern and clean. Room was also very clean. We walked into town for dinner most nights but it is about 1km with sidewalks so if you have mobility problems or no vehicle you are pretty much limited to the hotel restaurant. We ate there one night and it was fine. Restaurant had a nice view of the ocean. Hotel had a lot of bus tours staying there so restaurant was busy in the mornings. Hotel is central to touring the islands which are beautiful. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub every evening. One night the hot tub was out of order but that may have been for cleaning. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to other people.

Room Tip: If you stay 7 nights your last night is free. Nice perk! Get an oceanview with balcony. Its worth...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRAFTY CRUISER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Disclaimer: Americans... LEARN FRENCH if you are staying here. It's not just the hotel, most of the island doesn't speak English, so its not an isolated thing. If you have food allergies especially, print a card in advance with them translated into French so you can communicate that for meals.

We came in March for the harp seal tours which were fantastic. If you come in March, know that nearly all restaurants are closed for the season, so Tim Hortons or the hotel restaurant are virtually your only options (also, rooms do not have microwaves for eating in). The food is pretty good, but know that the restaurant staff do not speak any English at all and I mean zero. Twice in a seven day stay, I did not get the plate I ordered for dinner due to the language barrier. With food allergies, that meant going to bed hungry since I couldn't communicate effectively that I could not eat it safely.

The hotel day staff however can understand you, but not necessarily respond in English which was helpful. They were charming and attentive. If you need anything, just ask at the front desk. The owners and day staff were fantastic. Anything from helping to rebook flights or arrange tours, they would genuinely try to help with a compassion that seems lost in society today. I would encourage anyone staying here to go with an open mind. If you're looking for a 5 star, high tech, marble shower kinda decadence, you won't find it here. What you will find is a friendly family style atmosphere full of local culture and adventure all its own. Hotel is dated decor wise but quaint in a lovely way. We had wifi in our room, but I heard from other patrons that its hit or miss. Our rooms were also ridiculously clean during our entire stay, so don't let the decor scare you off, they have it right where it counts.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel, but like I said to really get the most out of the experience, check-in with an open mind.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the center of the hotel. They have balconies which can be used for refrigeration in...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tired_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of the baby harp seal pup birthing so after being closed since the summer months, it was re-opened for this special activity. The helicopters were parked on the property to take us out, but unfortunately due to poor weather we only went our once in our 4 day program, which lasted more than a week due to the weather.

As for the hotel, the lobby was bright and cheery with a very small gift area showcasing island made products. There was also a very small area for books, t-shirts and memorabilia. Stock was low since it was off season.
Also to the side of the registration desk were beautiful, comfortable leather couches and an internet desk with one computer, and a large flat screen TV.
Registering was easy and the personnel did struggle with English, but easily understood. There was a woman named Mayumi that spoke English, Japanese, and French and couldn't do enough to make the stay pleasant. She apparently works this hotel only for this two week period.
Our room(357) was two double beds, Simple TV with many channels, a great window to view the water and helicopters, adequate clean bathroom. Initially the room was very cold but within a reasonable period of time the heat worked well. The room was clean and comfortable...but simple. We had chairs, a table, new carpeting--nothing shabby as noted in previous reviews.
The dining room upstairs had a great view and we were able to see foxes roam the property. As for service, well it was a bit slow, but the three women --Micheline, Louise and Dorin had wonderful, friendly personalities--but they spoke very limited English. They were able to take down orders from the menu and get them correct. They are locals from the island. Food was
consistently good and nutritious and these women wonderful.

The facility offers special suits and boots for the seals; has an auditorium for presentations as well as movies; a pool and a jacuzzi.

This is a small, charming island with charming, warm people. The hotel is not a 5 star facility and rated as 3 star via the Canadian Govt ratings. I would rate it more like a 4 from a personal perspective.

We fell in love with the hotel, it's personnel and the island and plan on returning during their peak summer months.

I would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earladybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

To be fair, the hotel opened up for us after it had shut for the winter - our group needed accommodation fast as our cruise ship had lost power and we had to disembark.
That said, the rooms were as the same as they are in season- so it is fair to comment on them - and they were bad! The decor is in a time warp - with tired and horribly old fashioned bed covers, worn out chairs and the whole decor theme locked back in the 70's.
Although there was a temp gauge on the wall, this seemed to be only to heat up the baseboard heater - and there was no way to cool the room other than opening the outside door. I can't imagine how unpleasant the rooms must be in hot weather. Both the rooms we had smelt of cigarette smoke, despite saying they were 'non smoking rooms' -perhaps the cleaner smokes in them?
There was an awful light arrangement above the bed in both of the bedrooms we had over the two nights - bare bulbs that just got hotter and hotter and were far too bright to have as reading lights - and there was no separate light for one of us to read by if the other wanted to sleep.
The bathroom was awful - preformed plastic shower and tub surround, minimal toiletries and again, all so tired and needing updating. The shower was dangerous - we could not get the temp to stay set - and it veered from stone cold to scalding hot - and I mean - really scalding!
There was an in-room coffee maker and a TV with a wide range of channels, a table and various grubby and worn chairs and although we had two sep bedrooms on two nights - on each night the bed had only one bedside table, so one of us never had anywhere for a book, drink, etc....
Considering that it is a legal requirement in Canada to advertise all services and goods in both French and English, to have check in staff in a tourist hotel that do not speak a word of English is a bit rich. The common areas were dated and tired (lilac PVC sofas...........), a cold and unpleasant ambience.
The best I could say about this hotel, other than at least they put us up at short notice was that it was clean and the rooms had fantastic views.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Good for a short-term stay. Large basic room, comfortable beds, out-dated bathroom, thin walls, great hot tub, sauna, and in-door pool, friendly and helpful staff, restaurant on-site, close to ferry terminal and centrally located. An improvement would be to offer complementary breakfast to guests, have a mini-fridge and possibly a small microwave in the room, but none are available at this hotel - slight let down. Definitely, not a wow factor when it came to price either. Unfortnately, I found a few creapy crawlies in the bathroom and in the main room, could have been due to the damp weather? It was the hot tub, sauna and in-door pool that we were in search of, and the hotel did not disappoint us in this area. If you are looking for a centrally located hotel with bare-bone rooms this place is for you. Obviously, the few amenities are the attraction, not the rooms itself.

Room Tip: Good for the over-night traveler.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon_Gallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We chose this hotel since all the smaller inns we tried calling were full when making reservations. We were very happy we found the Chateau and have no regrets about it. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet, not to mention the amazing view we had from our balcony! The front desk was very kind and welcoming. We were also happy with the location since it was 5 minutes away from the ferry that we needed to take to get to (and get off) the island. I do recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit les Îles de la Madeleine.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank DavidAL04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ile du Cap aux Meules
20.2 mi away
Auberge la Salicorne
Auberge la Salicorne
#1 of 1 in Ile de la Grande Entree
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Madeli Inn
Auberge Madeli Inn
#1 of 3 in Ile du Cap aux Meules
49 reviews
1.8 mi away
Motel L'Archipel
Motel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in L'Etang-du-Nord
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Havre-sur-Mer Inn
Havre-sur-Mer Inn
#1 of 3 in Ile du Havre Aubert
56 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aux Vents des iles
Aux Vents des iles
#1 of 2 in Fatima
42 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gite La Maison Chez J.P.
Gite La Maison Chez J.P.
#4 of 7 in Ile du Havre aux Maisons
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Madelinot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Madelinot

Address: 323 chemin Principal | Route 199, Quebec G4T 1E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Iles de la Madeleine > Ile du Cap aux Meules
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ile du Cap aux Meules
Price Range: $100 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Madelinot 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau Madelinot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Madelinot Ile Du Cap Aux Meules, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing