We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hits and Misses” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riotel Bonaventure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riotel Bonaventure
Ranked #2 of 3 Bonaventure B&B and Inns
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hits and Misses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

In short, we would stay there again but not under the same conditions. We had issues, they made amends.

We booked several days in advance for one night (2 adults, 2 pre-teens). Booking agent was very helpful in discussing room options that would fit us (would we like a queen with foldout bed, or a King with cot? We booked the queen with foldout double).
We arrived at 2:30, room not ready but keys issue - no problem. We returned at 7pm. The room has one double bed, nothing else. No room for kids. We were told "sorry, sold out. Bus tour has checked in, we can't help you". Long story short, we accepted a room rate reduction of $60 and put two cots in our little room. Not ideal but better than sleeping in the car.

Dinner downstairs was a joy. Great waitress, good food.

Return to the room to discover A/C is broken (with a sign on it). Window opens but is very tiny.
An uncomfortable night, I see the manager in the morning. She is unhappy that our booking was changed, and was sorry about the A/C. She discounted our restaurant meal to apologize for the A/C issue. It wasn't great but the room discount and food discount made up for the issues - this time.

Note, even the double bed felt like a cot.

Location is excellent. Staff was friendly and they appreciated that what we went through was unreasonable.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor. It is inside the room and you end up with small rooms and the tiniest window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank seanrigbybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Sorry to see you have been disappointed by the quality of our accommodation while visiting the Riôtel Bonaventure. We do offer several types of rooms according to customer's requests and I'm sorry to hear that the room you stayed did not match the one you requested when booking. It is not in our practices to dislodge a guest and especially in a room of a lower quality than what was originally booked.
I am glad to see that you have appreciated your tourist experience in Bonaventure and appreciated the location of our hotel.
Thank you for choosing the Riôtel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
27
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel's main restaurant was very good and service was great. Our room was clean but needs to be renovated. The old portable air conditioning was making way too much noise.

Extra words because of silly 200 minimum character validation

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlaureti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear reviewer,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your review. We are glad to see that you have appreciated your tourist experience in our hotel of bonaventure.
We thank you for choosing the Riôtel Hospitality Group. Your comments are essential for us to continue to improve our services.
We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Highly Overpriced for the room

Clean room, nice staff, good restaurant, very small room with an extremely tiny washroom (shower only), room partially renovated, view of Main Street (nothing particular about the view and can be noisy because of traffic), no wi-fi in room as advertised with no attempt to solve problem

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for submitting your comment on tripadvisor. Regarding the accommodation, we constantly try to improve our rooms. We have 8 rooms completely renovated and we continue to enhance the hotel. Of course, we offer varied accommodation to suit all budgets and needs.
Moreover, Wifi is available and free in our three establishments in Gaspésie, including Riôtel Bonaventure.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It's not far away so it was good for an escape. Not super new but renovated. Had a room on the sea side a sunset,a bottle of red wine. The restaurant was good the food good and the staff was great. Like most of Quebec the service was very friendly and professional . Hey all you can eat lobster for $59!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom5car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear reviewer,
We appreciate that you took the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you appreciated the location and customer service. We will make sure to transmit your positive comments to our staff.
All you can eat lobster package will be back in 2014, from May 16 to July 11 !!
Thank you for choosing the Riotel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a nice room with a seaview which was really nice. The bed was comfortable which is always a plus. But the room was not all that clean (e.g., there was toothpaste residue on the bathroom door). We didn't try the supper but breakfast was definitely way overpriced for what they serve you (13$ for a reheated crepe, a mouthful of fruit and 2 teaspoons of yogurt!) Staffs were polite but nothing more. Next time, we'll probably go for a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JACH7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear reviewer,
We would like to thank you for the comments regarding your stay with us at Riôtel Bonaventure. We find it very disappointing that you found your room not cleaned to your satisfaction.
We work our best to keep up a high level of cleanliness in our different buildings.
We have forwarded your comments to the person who is in charge.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Without a doubt the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in!
We had a nice seaside room with a good view of the Rock. The concierge was extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. We did notice that they closed the lobby and locked up the front doors at 11:00 pm and there was no one to be found.
We were there before the official start of the tourist season, so this may not be their usual practice

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building, where they do not have an elevator, so carrying your bags up or down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanetmichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds. Note that it is possible to purchase a duvet mattress cover at our front desk in order to bring that same comfort into your bed at home. Our front desk is open until 23h00 every night during the entire season and a guardian is present on the site all night in case of late arrivals, for the overall security of the building and to provide constant customer service. There is a bell at the door in order to give notice of your presence and your need of his or her presence.
Thank you for choosing the Riotel Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed one night at Riotel in Bonaventure during our round trip to Gaspesie. While the hotel may look a bit shabby from the outside, the room was really nicely decorated and comfortable. We had a balcony with direct view on the sea and the beach: this was great to get to sleep with the sound of the sea.
The breakfast was included in the room rate and was delicious!
A nice hotel if you plan to stop in Bonaventure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonaventure
8.3 mi away
Manoir Hamilton
Manoir Hamilton
#1 of 2 in New Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel la Maison Blanche
Hotel la Maison Blanche
#2 of 2 in New Carlisle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Le Francis
Hotel Le Francis
#1 of 1 in New Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Grand-Pre
Motel Grand-Pre
#1 of 3 in Bonaventure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Chalets du Bioparc
Les Chalets du Bioparc
#1 of 5 in Bonaventure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
7.7 mi away
Gite La Maison Du Sheriff Sheppard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riotel Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riotel Bonaventure

Property: Riotel Bonaventure
Address: 98 Avenue Port Royal, Bonaventure, Quebec G0C 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Bonaventure
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bonaventure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riotel Bonaventure 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riotel Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riotel Bonaventure Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing