We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ayer's Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

You know, there are some places (not too many though) in the world where you feel so good, where everything seems so perfect!
Ripplecove is one of them. The location is perfect, the rooms are awesome, the view on the lake and the mountains is amazing and the service is so great!!!
Not to mention the incredible marble and huge shower we had in our room!

The only downside (if there is one:)) is the costly dinner but it is fine cuisine in a chic country classic decor and I heard that they have one of the biggest wine cellar in Canada...

Thank you for your hospitality.
Look forward to go back!

Room Tip: no. 32 with the incredible shower :):)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Wawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 311 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Went to spend a week-end with my spouse. First evening, the dinner was very good. The second night, they must have brought in a different chef but our steaks were terrible!!! For the price you pay, you expect consistent quality...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank World_Traveler007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just spent the weekend at the Ripplecove to celebrate 30th anniversary.
A beautiful inn in a beautiful location. Staff friendly. Food is a dining experience, absolutely loved the 7-course gourmet supper with wine pairing. The little details tie the experience together....or break it. Communication was lacking between staff for my dream weekend away, which was a surprise for my husband.
We were shown to our room where sparkling wine and chocolates waited to greet us (part of the romantic getaway package), only the sparkling wine was not there. This was corrected immediately. We enjoyed the lake view from our balcony until supper then enjoyed a delicious meal.
Next morning at breakfast, we were not seated immediately - there were plenty of tables available - but instead were asked to wait for a table to be readied. OK, nice gesture to make sure we were seated at the window but would it not be better to ask? No explanation as to what was included in the package: cold buffet, hot plate or both?
At 15:30 arrived at the spa for scheduled treatments, my husband was taken on time, I had to wait 15 minutes.
At supper the second night, I had arranged in advance for the 7 course meal with wine pairing. I was taken by surprise when we were given menus and asked what type of beverage we wished to have to celebrate with: sparkling wine, wine, champagne? We asked for a few minutes, thinking there was a choice for the 7 course - there was not - and when the server returned indicated our choice for the 7 course with wine pairing. The meal, wine, presentation and wine explanations were a dining experience! My husband and I both enjoyed this very much and would recommend it. Then the bill came. Why a bill ? I had had this included in the package. When I mentioned my confusion on receiving a bill, they explained my package did not include the meal we just enjoyed and there was a surcharge. I explained I had this included when I made the reservations in August. I was then asked to accompany the server to the main desk to sort it out. Sigh.... We did however, get a tour of the wine cellar that my husband had requested during our supper. When checking out the next morning, it seemed a bill was missing.................
well the gates opened and all the little 'hiccups' of the weekend were listed - with the exception of being taken to the main desk after supper the night before - by now I just wanted to get out. The person handling my checkout apologized and mentioned the staff was only human. Yes, this is true however, because I am not a seasoned traveler, I researched inns and resorts before making my choice: confident my 'perfect' weekend was in reach with Ripplecove Inn, winner of 5 diamond awards. It was not to be and the price tag associated with the weekend, just way too high.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilsonDeGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We've just spent two nights at the beautiful Auberge Ripplecove - a marvelous setting, enhanced by the colourful fall foliage. It is actually the morning of our departure and the lake is mystically shrouded in fog, and laughingly punctuated by the sounds of Canadian Geese arguing about which way is south!

One can easily see the charm of this place, but unfortunately our visit coincided with a rather large, boisterous convention. If there were other guests besides the conventioneers registered they had the good sense to stay clear of the dining room! The cacophony of noise made for a very unpleasant meal - and there was not the slightest warning from the staff, or even a hint of an apology for our having to put up with this noisy invasion.

The food is good, but not great, and the menus themselves desperately cry out to be reprinted - they're a bit grimy from being well thumbed over their busy summer season. You would think by the end of September the kitchen would have naturally sought to change them - if only to reflect a fall menu.

We're presently off to the nearby Manoir Hovey and I'll be interested to see how they compare.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank persto-et-praesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Travelling from Ottawa to Maine, we spent one night at the Auberge Ripplecove. The room was beautiful, spotless and had a lovely view of the lake.
The front desk staff were tremendously helpful, extremely efficient and even recommended a terrific hike which we enjoyed before returning to the resort for a memorable dinner. Excellent food. We were just past the busy season so we had the restaurant pretty much to ourselves.
The grounds and amenities are great as well.
We would love to return and spend more time exploring this beautiful region of the Quebec Townships!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in suite #26 and was really beautiful. We had a large terrace facing the lake. The view was amazing. This suite is located in an annex building a few feet from the main building. So quiet, so peaceful, romantic, perfect for relaxing. The area near the annex is really beautiful with the chairs and the dock extending in the water. As for the dinner, we had the pleasure of eating dinner on the outside patio for 2 nights. The food was excellent and the view absolutely magical. The patio is located really close to the water which makes you feel connected with nature. The breakfast was also very good. You expect the food to be good as this is a four-diamond restaurant. The hotel is so charming and the service is very good. Friendly, professional staff without being stuffy. Room was expensive but well worth it. The 2 only drawbacks are related to the bed: only a queen bed which is rare for a suite, and there was no duvet, only blankets (not typical of a 5 star hotel). But again, nothing is perfect, we would definitely go back, can't wait!

Room Tip: Would definitely book suite #26 because of the view and the quietness. Being in the annex was great.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onetripamonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just came back from a 2 day stay at the Ripplecove. Just perfect. Food is excellent and the staff very attentive. Gorgeous wine cellar. Views of the lake are very relaxing.
I saw a review that says that the food is pretentious. Not sure what that means. I found it refined and inventive. We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealWhere_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayer's Cliff
6.6 mi away
Manoir Hovey
Manoir Hovey
#1 of 1 in North Hatley
1,179 reviews
10.5 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
11.9 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 16 in Sherbrooke
483 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
504 reviews
16.9 mi away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#4 of 16 in Sherbrooke
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa

Address: 700 Ripplecove, Ayer's Cliff, Quebec J0B 1C0, Canada (Formerly Auberge Ripplecove & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Ayer's Cliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ayer's Cliff
Price Range: $157 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 75 minutes from Montreal and 15 minutes from Vermont, Ripplecove Hotel & Spa enjoys the regions premier location on a private 12 acre peninsula on Lake Massawippi, Quebec. Established in 1945, the family run luxury resort has consistently been awarded top honours as one of Canada’s finest hotels. Currently rated as a 5 Star hotel by the Quebec Ministry of Tourism and recipient of a double 4 Diamond Award for both its refined cuisine and luxurious accommodations, Ripplecove Hotel & Spa is simply one of Canada’s finest lakeside resort hotels. This exceptional hotel offers 32 luxury rooms, suites and cottages, most with lake view, fireplace and private lakeside balcony. All accommodations are individually designer decorated and offer luxurious country estate comfort in a pristine rural lakeside setting. Choose from an array of outdoor activities no matter what the season. Tennis, boating, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, bicycles; snow shoeing, skating and ice fishing are all offered on site. Nearby activities include 12 golf courses, summer theatre, shopping and farmers markets, vineyards and the internationally acclaimed “Foresta Lumina” a night-illuminated pathway and pedestrian suspension bridge located nearby at the Coaticook Gorge. If total relaxation is the order of the day, escape to Ripplecove’s Arboressence Spa, for a full range of Spa services using the internationally renowned organic Eminence Spa products. Nestled under 200 year old pine trees on the shores of Lake Massawippi, the Arboressence Spa offers the perfect setting to de-stress, detox and relax surrounded by nature. We hope to have the pleasure of giving you a warm welcome soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Ripplecove And Spa
Auberge Ripplecove Hotel Ayer`s Cliff
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel And Spa Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing