We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not average, but very good is a bit stretched”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ayer's Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The pros :

Quality of services
Architecture
Location near the lake
Very clean
Very nice wine list
Food is very good. Especially the breakfast.
Free wifi
Beautiful view

The cons :
Ambiance is very boring, mosty because of the generic-satellite-no-taste-music-channel
The Hotel is like a "buick". If you like buick its for you.
Massage at the spa were ordinary.
Its very pricy. Your tab can go up very quicky.
Room were ok but the mattress and pillow to heavy. I had hard time to sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aroundZEEEEworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripplecove, Manager at Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We have now changed our music since you have visited us and hope to welcome you back shortly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 333 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

I have stayed at the wonderful, amazing Auberge Ripplecove & Spa on several occasions, and they NEVER disappoint. The rooms are cozy, very well decorated and always immaculate! The owners Jeffrey & Debra must treat their employees very well, because EVERY employee I have ever met there has been friendly, helpful and a delight to deal with! So, obviously they are happy to work there! I travel for work 6 months out of the year, so I can say, I have plenty of hotels and Inns to compare to! And there spa services are incredible! Whenever I finish working on a big project, and I need to break away from it all, this is where I head to, no question!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripplecove, Manager at Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this and you are right, we are very happy to work here! I will be certain that Mr. and Mrs. Stafford read this, it will warm their hearts. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Enjoyed our 2011 Canadian Thanksgiving week end at the Ripple Cove property of the Staffords of Ayers Cliff Quebec.
This just has to be one of the best Inns in the country.Attention to service and details are first and foremost.
The rooms are decorated by Mrs Stafford (Debrah)and all is truly delightful.The view of lake Massawipi is absolutely majestic.
Our week end included perfect sunny weather.!!!
The rate at this Inn usually is based on MAP and the food is simply delicious,the desserts decadent.We did not use the Spa facility this time but have used it on previous occasions,it is highly recommended
Marcel & Andrea Lacoste
Otterburn Park QC
Canada

Room Tip: A room with balcony with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcelfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripplecove, Receptionist at Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Mr. and Mrs. Lacoste,

We very much appreciate your very special comments. Thank you for celebrating Thanksgiving with us and we look forward to spending many more with you in the futur.

The Team at Ripplecove Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We just spent 3 days at this beautiful lakeside resort and loved every minute of it. Our room was spotless, very well designed and had a stunning lake view with covered balcony. One morning we had early morning coffee and watched the fog lift and the sun rise with the sounds of waves on the shore and the call of a loon. How much better can it get!

Both breakfasts and dinners were excellent and the service was very professional with all staff seeming well informed about the menu. The house smoked salmon was the best I had ever had and all dishes were beautifully presented and delicious. Portions were not large but by the time we finished all 4 courses, we were satisfied without being stuffed.

The grounds are beautifully manicured and the gardens are amazing! We played tennis (they supply the rackets and balls) on a private court in the woods, and used their free bikes for a long ride on a local “rail to trail” bike path that goes all the way to Vermont!


We had a perfect escape and can’t wait to return.”

Don and Sonia Jacobs

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripplecove, Manager at Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Mr. and Mrs. Jacobs,

Thank you very much for this beautiful review. The lake is slowly starting to frost now, though the view remains spectacular! It was a great pleasure welcoming you at the Ripplecove Inn and look forward to it again in the futur.

Kind regards,
The Team at the Ripplecove Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I don't usually enjoy music as a background addition but the pianist who enhanced our dining experience was top-notch. Instead of being intrusive the music was subtle and relaxing. He is a professional who is as good as the best. Andre Gagnon would be the equivalent in style and quality and they are certainly equals. And this gentleman composes as he goes along and never makes a mistake! Add that to the wonderful setting and service and you achieve a dining moment which will be remembered fondly.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank leblanc_louise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have been going to the Ripplecove Inn for several years (for lunch and cocktails at their wonderful waterfront bars) but have never actually stayed there, that is until this past Labor Day! Unfortunately, my experience was a very negative one and it is quite regretful, but my experience there indicates that the Ripplecove is seriously over the hill, something like a Buick! We of a certain age, all loved Buicks for what they once were: state of the art, luxurious and loaded with all the amenities. But today, the Buick just has been surpassed; try as they may to revive it. Like the Buick, the Ripplecove is still living on its image, long gone and losing the battle big time!
When my wife and I arrived Monday afternoon in pouring rain, we had to park about 700 feet from the entrance and get drenched as the Ripplecove does not have any kind of shelter for check-in. You have to use a myriad of stairs (down and steep) to get to the front desk – all while carrying heavy luggage as the Ripplecove doesn’t offer any valet service! And if you happen to be physically challenged, forget it, this place is physically challenged unfriendly!
Once at the desk, dripping wet, we were met by a bureaucratic and uncaring attendant who cared much more about dictating Hotel policy to us than to actually make us feel comfortable! We could have done without his smart alek attitude!
When we were finally finished with his editorial, we then proceeded to our “Economy” room at $338 per night MAP!! When we actually saw the room, we were both severely taken aback by the lack of modern conveniences, old rickety furniture, lack of lighting and the ultimate insult was a 12 inch TV. No that is not a typo, there actually was a 12 inch TV as the main set, about 15 feet away from the bed! Unfortunately, binoculars were not supplied!!
I have traveled around quite a bit and I have never seen a hotel, no matter how cheap, insulting one with a 12 inch TV! Now, for the ridiculous price of $338 per night, you get the privilege of watching a 12 inch screen from 15 feet away!! That is what I call Ripplecove luxury or was that Ripplecoved-off luxury?
So when we protested, they moved us one class up and this time we had a 23 inch TV that could not be seen from the bed, only from a worn out canapé (like bucket seats). The Queen Size bed (up from a double) was as hard as a rock and and slanted inwards from wear (we both awoke with a sore back)! The desk had no lighting and no chair – just a small stool – and even the coffee machine was not working! And forget about a mini-bar, fridge, whirlpool bath etc. And oh yes, the toilet flushing caused a surge of water in the wash basin, very pleasant. And to put the cherry on the Sundae, when we departed, the woman behind the desk was busy speaking to a chamber maid and made us wait about 5 minutes (of course at the Ripplecove, employees are much more important than the dwindling customers…).
The restaurant and food were excellent, by contrast. And remember this is what attracted us there In the first place.
So, the owners (Jeffrey Stafford and family) should give themselves a dam good reality check, stop cutting corners and if they really want to get some people back who want to spend that kind of money, then they should OFFER the required amount of value instead of insulting savvy people’s intelligence with all this second and third rate treatment masquerading as a 5 star hotel.
The Ripplecove seriously needs an ownership change, or at the very least an extreme makeover and attitude change.
Bottom line, eat there just don’t stay there!

Gilles Larin
Brossard, Quebec .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank interclik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripplecove, Owner at Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Mr Larin,

I find your comments to be for the most part untrue, unfair and "over the top". A few details need to be clairified:

First, the price you stated to have paid for the room is incorrect. You neglected to mention that my staff applied a $100 credit to your room rate due to your insistance that I agreed to reinburse a forfeited deposit which you claimed to have been charged on a "no show" reservation back in 2008. My staff gave you this discount in the absence of my confirmation and any paper trail supporting your claim. I suggest that very few other hotels would be this trusting. Therefore, if we remove the $100 discount, 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts and gratuities on meals from your MAP package room rate, the real amount you paid for the room was only $51.00. As a result, you did recieve the one and only economy room, and yes, it did have a very small TV.

Second I find your review to be vindictive, personnally insulting and simply untrue. You should know that we continually renovate our rooms and that this year alone 10 rooms have been redone. All our rooms are individually designer decorated and have different rates depending on their size, view, and amenities. We have many rooms and suites available with private balcony, double whirlpools, king size beds, fireplace, large LCD TV's and much more.

Third, it was noted by ALL my staff that had contact with you that you appeared angry from the moment of arrival. Further, as you stayed with us on a rainy Monday evening, the Inn was not busy and I doubt you had to walk 700 feet to get to the front desk as the distance to the parking area is only 60 feet. As much as I would like to, I cannot control the weather. Most of your other comments are also either untrue or greatly exaggerated and are too numerous and tedious to review here.

On a positive note however, the agressive and personally vendictive nature of your comments has given me cause to reflect on the wisdom of having one "economy" room in a 5 star hotel. So, effective today, I have removed this room from inventory and our web site and scheduled it for a full makeover this fall, when it will be reborn as a Cadillac.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and the grounds are glorious though we thought it was overpriced for what it was. The food, however, was an abomination at inflated prices. I could have eaten a meal that was 10 times better in Montreal. In retrospect we should have saved that money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller5555_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripplecove, General Manager at Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

I was disappointed to learn about your dining experience with us and have done a full evaluation of the dishes you ordered. Your comments about us being overpriced leave me perplexed as we charge about $10 less for dinner than a neighbouring 4 diamond hotel.

Concerning our lunch portion, it is important to realise that the majority of our guests are registered with a meal plan including daily breakfast and dinner. Their preference is for a light lunch menu which is what we offer. This said, I noticed from your bill that you only had one course at lunch with 4 glasses of wine. Had you had a starter and or dessert, you would not have left the table hungry.

As for your comments about dinner which offers a four course table D'hote priced at $63.00 or a la carte items from $10, I can only say that most customers do not find this expensive for lakeside dining with linen and silver service and live piano music in a Four Diamond Award restaurant.

To investigate your review, we have taste tested all the dishes you ordered for dinner and found them all to be excellent with the exception of the polenta which we agree needed to be "kicked up a notch".

In recognition of your comments we will send you a gift certificate valued at $100 which we sincerely hope you will use at the earliest opportunity.

Best Regards,

Jeffrey Stafford
Innkeeper / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayer's Cliff
6.6 mi away
Manoir Hovey
Manoir Hovey
#1 of 1 in North Hatley
1,245 reviews
10.5 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
11.9 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#4 of 7 in Orford
255 reviews
15.8 mi away
OTL Gouverneur Sherbrooke
OTL Gouverneur Sherbrooke
#2 of 15 in Sherbrooke
56 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 15 in Sherbrooke
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa

Address: 700 Ripplecove, Ayer's Cliff, Quebec J0B 1C0, Canada (Formerly Auberge Ripplecove & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Ayer's Cliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ayer's Cliff
Price Range: $127 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 75 minutes from Montreal and 15 minutes from Vermont, Ripplecove Hotel & Spa enjoys the regions premier location on a private 12 acre peninsula on Lake Massawippi, Quebec. Established in 1945, the family run luxury resort has consistently been awarded top honours as one of Canada’s finest hotels. Currently rated as a 5 Star hotel by the Quebec Ministry of Tourism and recipient of a double 4 Diamond Award for both its refined cuisine and luxurious accommodations, Ripplecove Hotel & Spa is simply one of Canada’s finest lakeside resort hotels. This exceptional hotel offers 32 luxury rooms, suites and cottages, most with lake view, fireplace and private lakeside balcony. All accommodations are individually designer decorated and offer luxurious country estate comfort in a pristine rural lakeside setting. Choose from an array of outdoor activities no matter what the season. Tennis, boating, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, bicycles; snow shoeing, skating and ice fishing are all offered on site. Nearby activities include 12 golf courses, summer theatre, shopping and farmers markets, vineyards and the internationally acclaimed “Foresta Lumina” a night-illuminated pathway and pedestrian suspension bridge located nearby at the Coaticook Gorge. If total relaxation is the order of the day, escape to Ripplecove’s Arboressence Spa, for a full range of Spa services using the internationally renowned organic Eminence Spa products. Nestled under 200 year old pine trees on the shores of Lake Massawippi, the Arboressence Spa offers the perfect setting to de-stress, detox and relax surrounded by nature. We hope to have the pleasure of giving you a warm welcome soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Ripplecove Hotel Ayer`s Cliff
Auberge Ripplecove And Spa
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel And Spa Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing