We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect PEI location”
Review of The Orient Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Orient Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Victoria B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect PEI location”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

When we made our reservation, we picked what appeared to be a rickety old hotel because the price was right and it is located perfectly on the south shore of Prince Edward Island, near the bridge and about midway between Charlottetown and Summerside. The hotel turned out to be totally charming. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were very good, and the town itself was a good place to be, with lots of good restaurants and things to do. The room was small, and we had to steal chairs from the hallway. But there were shelves of good books waiting to be borrowed, a comfy lounge, and a deck that included a chess board. We would return any time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent one night here and really wished we had time to stay longer. Our hosts were accommodating and well informed about the area attractions.
Our one bedroom suite had a view to the lake and was well decorated with charm that reflected the driftwood theme.
The hotel has many period features and colorful Muskoka chairs on the veranda. Breakfast was excellent-home made muffins and jam,quiche served with fresh fruit,great tea and coffee.
There are several excellent restaurants for dinner just down the street-try the Landmark and the Lobster pub on the wharf.
This charming hotel is worth a return visit when the theatre is in operation.
Richard and Wendy are gracious innkeepers who made us feel like valued guests.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Acworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great place to stay. One block from the excellent Landmark restaurant and a very good playhouse. Made for a fun evening in a very small town.

Nice attention to detail in the Orient, excellent breakfast, good WiFi. Recommended.

Room Tip: We liked the Captain's room. Very nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

All in all, this hotel offers very good value. At less than $200 per couple we had a large quiet room with lots of character in a century+ old hotel, a small bottle of Cava on arrival, a $60 dinner voucher, 2 theatre tickets at the Playhouse (play was very good) and a hot breakfast (quiche). We were also able to sit outside with friends on the hotel's front step and enjoy the weather. Our entire stay was so enjoyable that we intend returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at The Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. Love listening to the laughter on the porch. We're looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

As first time Victoria by the sea visitors we found that the Orient's Dinner/Theater package provided us a way to have dinner and an evening at the theater that we might not have done otherwise. Our room #6 (really a suite) was very comfortable and quiet even though the Inn was full on our first night. Breakfasts were hot and filling, just what a B&B should serve. Take in the theater whether you are on the package or not.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSecretDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just stayed at this B&B for three nights. It is a great B&B in a wonderful small village. The B&B was really clean and comfortable, and the home-cooked breakfasts among the best I have had in a B&B (Make sure you try the homemade rhubarb jam). The Owners, Wendy and Richard were friendly and quite informative regarding local activities. A great stay in clean well run accomodations.

Room Tip: We had a suite which cost a little extra, but it gave us extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Room #5 was a good size with a very large bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The sitting room was okay for short periods.

Our room was up two flights of stairs at the end of June. It was warm and if you forgot air out the room at night and close the windows and blinds in the day, then the room got warm. In the evening, I could hear the conversation from the next room.

The best part was the breakfast. They made a special hot treat everyday.

Room Tip: #5 is a nice room. But check if they have air-conditioning if you are going to book in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
17.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
720 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
412 reviews
16.0 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
17.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
8.9 mi away
Carleton Motel & Coffee Shop
Carleton Motel & Coffee Shop
#1 of 1 in Borden-Carleton
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orient Hotel

Property: The Orient Hotel
Address: 34 Main St., Victoria, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orient Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Orient Hotel Victoria, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing