We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family dinner”

Lobster Barn Pub and Eatery
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A casual restaurant and pub located in the small town of Victoria, Prince Edward Island.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great family dinner”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We showed up at 5:30 and asked to get a table for 10, with no reservations. They managed to squeeze us in (as the whole restaurant was booked at 7pm). Very thankful, as we had driven 20 minutes. They had a great selection of seafood and typical items (chicken fingers, burgers, salads), as well as pub-styled appetizers. For the kids (of which we had 3 under the age of 4) they offered to half the portions (and the price), which was a perfect option. I find kid menus limiting, as my kid (of almost 3) eats almost everything (he enjoyed the scallops and fried haddock). All the mains come with a choice of sides; the house salad was very good according to another guest. The regular and sweet potato fries were also very good sides. A family of 10 (with have drinking alcohol) had dinner for $200 + tip, an excellent price. The portions were perfect, and they got the meal together quickly, and we were out the door by 6:30.

Even better... there is ice cream down the wharf for dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    67
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“How do you say Lobster Roll?”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our choice for our last night in Victoria by the Sea and we chose well. We both had their highly rated Lobster Rolls. The past comments by others are right on. Coconut cream cheese cake for dessert disappeared faster than a "Loonie" in a casino. A couple of scotches and a glass of wine for $57.00 is a great value. Reservations are a must since this is a small and very popular place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSecretDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Region, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, big portions.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stopped in here on the recommendation of a friend (and Tripadvisor). We were very pleased with the service and the food. The portions are very large so do not order too much (like we did) We had clam chowder, Staff Salad, sweet potato fries and the lobster mango salad. All very yummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RevJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not happy at all”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just stopped to eat here. It was 3:56 and they were open but closed from 3-4pm for food. So we went in and asked if we could sit and wait the 4 min to 4 (asking very politely) and one of the waitresses said no. There was a bar there with people sitting at it and they didnt even offer us to sit there. So they lost our business and we went across to Water St. Take out and got some friendly service and delicious sea food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Lobster Rolls”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Casual ambiance in this quaint location, but the star of the afternoon was the lobster roll! Fresh chunks of lobster on a buttered, toasted roll with lettuce and excellent home-made mayo combined to make a top notch lobster roll. The house salad was amazing as well with seasonal berries, nuts, and apples with mixed greens in a balsamic dressing. Wish that I had room for dessert because the coconut cheesecake sounded good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Barn Pub and Eatery also viewed

Rustico, Prince Edward Island
Stanhope, Prince Edward Island
 
Victoria, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Lobster Barn Pub and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing