We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed by dinner... but breakfast made up for it!”
Review of Sheltered Harbour Cafe - CLOSED

Sheltered Harbour Cafe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Not impressed by dinner... but breakfast made up for it!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

During a recent weekend break in the area, we ended up having both supper and breakfast at this restaurant. There is a very extensive menu, but that is not always a good thing. For supper I opted for the roast turkey dinner and sadly it did have the taste of a processed meal. The turkey was a strange texture, the gravy thick and heavy and tasting 'instant' more than homemade, and the stuffing tasting like it was out of a box. The meal had the feel of just a standard 'pub meal' and not the loving homecooked meal that the reviews promised.

However, breakfast was a different matter entirely! I had the Western Omelette on toast and it was amazing! As were the breakfast potatoes that came with it. And the baked beans I ordered on the side. Best breakfast I think I have ever had!

Having stopped into the restaurant a couple of times throughout the day to use the washroom or pick up brochures (we had parked the car here before setting off exploring), it was impossible to notice that there seemed to *always* be a line-up. It's worth trying to visit outside of normal times - e.g. we had a late supper on Saturday night (8ish) and it was not busy at all.

The restaurant has lots of seating and a lovely patio overlooking the Harbour, but they seem a a little understaffed and therefore seem to condense their seating. And despite the lovely weather this weekend, they didn't seem to be using the patio, which was disappointing.

Regardless, for that breakfast alone, we will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    62
    24
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clam were not good !!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I hate to say it,but....the clams were not good....they tasted like they were frozen.Me and my wife eat half of our clams,and couldn't finish the rest of them....The clams tasted strange...the batter on them was awful.....the service was awful too,and they weren't that busy.When in town again we will be going some place else....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peiman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Loved this restaurant. Was recommended by the landlady from the house we are staying at. All of the meals were decent sizes, freshly made and delicious taste. I devoured the Atlantic haddoc fish and poutine on the side with coleslaw. I just got the one piece and it was plenty. A home style atmosphere and friendly staff. Mary says our server and she was really sweet. Joked around with our family and stayed after hours while the restaurant was closing. I would recommend to a family with children, young couples and anyone who enjoys a nice dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, terrible service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited the restaurant under a reservation for 7 people tonight. Servers were run off their feet and they didnt have anyone bussing tables. We waited forever for drinks and started to eat without utensils. We couldn't get attention to even get water and the app and main course plates were still on the table when we left. Extremely disappointed with the quality of service. Management should consider additional staffing as the three servers were obviously run ragged and under a great deal of stress.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teacher321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Food made with care and attention”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I read the good reviews and expected large portions of well-cooked homestyle food.

The portions are indeed large but that is not the real bonus of eating here.

Each plate is carefully put together with care and attention to quality, presentation and detail. The short winelist is as well chosen and the beers as well. Desserts followed the same attention to quality. No, this is not high-brow fine dining but simple, excellent food, drink and service. The prices are very fair. All in all an excellent experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissand_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheltered Harbour Cafe also viewed

Souris, Prince Edward Island
Souris, Prince Edward Island
 
Souris, Prince Edward Island
Souris, Prince Edward Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing