We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lighthouse and Beach Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Souris
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Inn at St. Peters(Saint Peters Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Great George(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delta Hotels Prince Edward(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
8
9
7
8
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
9
7
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice beachcontinental breakfast includedde laview of the waterbeautiful viewanneamenitiesmotelbbqkitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 45 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The pillows were flat and hard, bring your own if that matters to you. The tv was 12" - hard to see from the bed and the furniture is totally outdated. The beds were just okay but had nice spreads. There is no a/c, just a ceiling fan, it was cool enough at night so that wasn't an issue for us this trip. If you want a trip back to the 50s and don't want to go online or make a local call, than this is the place for you. No phones in the room, and the wifi never worked in the room even though they said it should. Had to take the laptop to the main office to use it at all. Bathroom totally out of date but showers had great water pressure and were a pleasantly nice surprise. There is a nice beach a short ride down from the motel.

Owner family members were hanging around the office and while they were friendly, we thought at times that we were intruding on their space. There are no "extra" at this motel. If you want to get away from it all including creature comforts give it a try. We stayed here as there wasn't anything else available in the area, I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Maybe the lighthouse room is better?
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aslan50mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in the lighthouse itself so I cannot speak for the motel.
We chose to stay in the lighthouse because.... well because it's a lighthouse.
It was fine but I doubt we would elect to do the same thing again.
In terms of cleanlinessa and amenities it was just ok.
However, if you've got kids and the idea of staying in an actual lighthouse appeals don't hesitate unless you are a high end type.
There is a nice little beach within walking distance so that is a plus.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Okay,
If you had the choice of going to a place where a couple and their boys ran the motel, I would chose the Lighthouse And Beach Motel. Anne and Danny have really good information about the Island itself, the rooms might be behind the "fashion" trend, but it's the best during the summer.
I went out there in mid-June to mid-August for my summer job and this was the place I love to go back again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AriannaHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This secluded corner of Prince Edward Island was once a lodge for duck hunters, and is worlds away from the Disney-hustle of the main tourist areas. It is an important way-point for travelers en route to Isles De La Madeleine, a popular destination for those seeking French village flavor and end-of-the-world isolation.
The owner is himself French: He fell in love with the spot while on holiday and bought it from the aging hunt-lodge operator.
Accommodations have improved since those days, with the addition of amenities like satellite t.v. and big, comfortable beds, but they retain a rustic charm that will remind you of the family cottage as opposed to a cookie-cutter Howard Johnson's. Also notable was the exquisite water-pressure--we appreciated a serious hot shower after a few days of camping!
The very reasonable nightly rate included a well-stocked breakfast bar.
The surrounding area is a great example of unspoiled PEI: stunning beach, river mouth fishing (no license!), crafts and food direct from the locals, and the quiet village of Souris, where you can find a good restaurant and pub.
We went for the dog-friendly accommodation, and stayed several extra nights because of the warm treatment from the proprietors and the nice people we met in this off-the-beaten-track oasis.If you book ahead, you can stay in the original lighthouse on the property!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobandirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this motel. We had our dog, a German Shepherd, with us. We had a great time. Souris is beautiful, the beach down the street from the motel was fabulous. Our hosts were really welcoming, accomodating and helpful. And the free continental breakfast was great. We stayed in a regular motel room. Next time we go we'll reserve the lighthouse suite.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilovemydog17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews