We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of McLean House Inn

McLean House Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McLean House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Souris B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Went back again and we were greeted with fresh homemade gingerbread and ice cream for all.

Just love Barbara's guest house, hospitality and the wonderful cheer! Feels just like home.

We'll be back. Thanks again Barb!

Best fishes, Ethan and Team North East Tuna Club

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fissues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We thought the inn was great. The innkeeper was helpful with suggestions as to where to go and what to see, a great cook, attentive, friendly and genuinely concerned. The Inn was relaxing, easy going, very comfortable, allowed for freedom to come and go on our schedule. I just wish we had more than two days to stay and explore the island. The prices were very reasonable, better than others more toward the center of the island. If I was in the area, I would come back.

Room Tip: You can see the rooms on the website. The photos are quite accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arichat, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was my first time in PEI and when I asked for a place to stay which was close to the Isles de la Madeleine ferry, I was directed to The Rolo Inn. I went to Rolo and could not stay due to strong odors. I found , to my delight, this Inn within walking distant to the ferry with a view of the water and the ferry landing.
The McLean House Inn is underrated for all it has to offer. I could not have found a better place. It was clean and tastefully decorated in accordance to its age. I would strongly recommend this Inn to all. The owner lives close by and will come and make you breakfast, with a special touch, even though you are the sole occupant.

Room Tip: To be this close to thje ocean you should pick an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed one night this past August at McLean House. It was clean, charming and cozy and we had a very nice view of the harbour from our room. We enjoyed a late night dinner at the local eatery around the corner where the wait staff was great. When I returned a week later to Ontario and discovered that I had left 2 items of clothing back in a wardrobe at McLean House the proprietor kindly and promptly mailed me my clothing. All in all a very positive experience in Souris.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask for a room on the first floor as there is no elevator and there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Four of us stayed in 2 rooms for 7 nights while fishing for Giant Bluefin Tuna in North Harbour. Barb was really hospitable and made sure we were well catered for, even when we were leaving at 6.30am for fishing, encouraging us to use the kitchen whenever we wanted to. On the days we weren't fishing, the breakfasts were excellent - a cooked breakfast is now included in the deal by the way!
The rooms were spotlessly clean and it was very pleasant relaxing in the lounge and conservatory areas. Free w-fi and computer access is available too.
There are several good local eateries within walking distance and you can get a dozen fresh oysters just up the road for $10 - Barb has a shucking knife available - delicious!!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 202 is huge with ocean views - loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our stay at the Mclean House was for two nights. Booked by our biking agent and we are glad they chose the Mclean. Its steps away from a local eatery which is open for breakfast , lunch and dinner with local specials that did not break the bank and was very good.

Sitting on the several decks, that over look the bay and local dock, was very calming. and relaxing. The staff was helpful in every way. The rooms were clean and large. If you do not like stairs there are rooms on the first floor rooms. Most B&B's that we stayed in at PEI were second floor rooms.

Not much activity in the area so we took long walks around the local streets and talked to the folks working in there yards, met some very interesting people.

Breakfast was good, and the coffee and tea station with cookies was always available.

I would not hesitate to recomend the McLean House.

Room Tip: There is one room on the second floor that does not have a bathroom. The bathroom for this room is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnapoli321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff were very nice and helpful in recommending things to do, see and places to eat. The atmosphere was pleasantly comfortable & cozy and the rooms were newly renovated, historically decorated, and clean. Definitely would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Souris
7.0 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#3 of 3 in Souris
37 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Inn at Spry Point
The Inn at Spry Point
#1 of 1 in Annandale-Little Pond-Howe Bay
63 reviews
8.5 mi away
Johnson Shore Inn
Johnson Shore Inn
#1 of 1 in Hermanville
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
11.7 mi away
Points East Beach Motel
23.6 mi away
Shady Lane B&B
Shady Lane B&B
#1 of 3 in Morell
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLean House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLean House Inn

Property: McLean House Inn
Address: 16 Washington Street, Souris, Prince Edward Island C0A 2B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Souris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Souris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your McLean House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McLean House Inn Souris, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing