We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading back soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Crest Cottages
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I found Blue Crest in 2005 after the location I normally stayed at closed and sold the cottages. I had not seen the Blue Crest Cottages interiors but knew the view that they held so booked my stay that year. This summer will make year 9 staying at Blue Crest Cottages and it's no longer a vacation rental, it's like going home to family. Thelma and Michelle, our hosts, keep the cottages and the gounds in beautiful condition. I usually book a 2 bedroom cottage but all are well equipped for anything you need in the kitchen with many creature comforts: cable tv (for those rainy, indoor days), air conditioning, wifi for those that want to stay connected and a super bonus of a National Park Pass (I used this everyday over my 10 day stay which was a HUGE savings!). Of course, the one pup welcoming committee named Blue makes sure you know that Blue Crest is pet friendly!
Over the years, I have recommended Blue Crest to other friends who have come away delighted with their experience. Only 4 months til I return to my Blue Crest "home".

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank love4PEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 34 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

I happened upon these cottages while driving around in PEI and that was the day best ever.(that was years ago) I have tried to get back every year since then. The most relaxing place, the view is amazing the cottages are very comfortable and extremely clean, the owners I'm happy to say are friends now. You will not be disappointed at these cottages. Thelma and michele are the best of hosts. The atmosphere here is so easy going and just the best place to hang your hat and call home for how ever long you stay.All you need is food and enjoy.

Room Tip: all the cottages are great cannot pick a bad one. And now they offer a summer home very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weinertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Cottages are located just outside of Rustico, on PEI's north shore. Quiet area, lovely views from cottages towards the bay and town, and conveniently located to visit nearby Cavendish and beautiful PEI National Park. Two-bedroom cottage was great - nice sitting area, well-equipped full kitchen with all necessary kitchen tools (and a lobster pot to borrow), bedrooms nicely sized. Bikes were available to borrow, pool on site, canoe also available, lots of nice little extras. We would definitely stay here again on a future visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

You could not ask for anything better. Thelma, the owner, is wonderful. She is always available for questions or for anything extra you may want, although with everything she supplies there is nothing extra to ask for. The two bedroom is beautiful, all in real wood. The kitchen utensils are abundant and replicate what you would have in your home plus more. The setting is wonderful with lots of open area, and a path to the water with a spot to sit along the way. The cottage is spotless. The bed is a pillow top and extremely comfortable. There are many games, DVD's , movies, CD's , bikes, etc. offered as extra amusement and entertainment. We would come back here in a snap.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toronto_CanadaSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed one night in the last cottage, number 12. We were very happy with the size of the rooms, the living room had an electric fireplace with couch and lounge chair. The kitchen was very well equipped, the only thing I needed was an apron. I brought my own frying pan for making breakfast and it turned out the two in the cottage were nicer than mine! The view behind the cottages is great and you can walk down to the shore, don't expect a beach, it is a mud shore for clams. There is a firepit area down at the bottom on the knoll that you can use. The only thing was that the smoke detectors kept going off when I was cooking and during showers - they were very sensitive. The bbq worked great and although the kitchen stove is small it does have 4 burners and an oven that would fit 1 pizza. We will definitely stay here again and will be recommending this to friends. It is about 40 minutes from Charlottetown and 40 minutes to Summerside so it is centrally located between the two.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_sage77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at Blue Crest for six nights recently. The rates had just changed to shoulder season, so the place was a terrific value. We had a one bedroom cottage. It was small, but plenty of room for the two of us. Most cottages at Blue Crest were two bedrooms and they were all separate buildings. There were only two one bedroom units and they were semi detached. We were fairly lucky with our neighbours. But had we realized that the one bedrooms units were semis we might have paid the ten dollars extra to get one that was detached and that had a much larger living room/kitchen area.
The place was spotlessly clean. And it had every pot/pan/utensil that you could possibly want. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well during our stay. The cottages all have AC, but we did not need it at night as things really cooled off. But it was nice to know it was there, just in case!! We did not use the pool or hot tub. There were laundry facilities, and free books/magazines/movies were available in the main building. There were bikes that kids could borrow and a playground. We found the location of the cottages to be terrific. We traveled the entire island easily as we were so centrally located. There was one thing that we did not like about our cottage. We had terrible internet speed. It was much slower than dialup!! At times it would take 5 minutes to change a page. This was really annoying to us. But just because our cottage (#10) had terrible internet does not mean that the other cottages did as well. We had other family members in a cottage closer to the office, and they had excellent internet speed. We ended up going up to their cottage and sitting on their deck when we could not stand it anymore. So if internet is important to you, then merely ask for a cabin close to the office.
We have already referred friends to Blue Crest Cottages. If you are looking for a comfortable cottage, that are spotlessly clean and at a good price, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJPToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Crest Cottages for three nights and wished that we had allowed more time on Prince Edward Island because our stay here was so enjoyable. The cottages are extremely clean and comfortable. The description of the cottages and amenities on their website is very accurate. I've stayed at cottages where there were the bare minimum of pots, pans, etc., but that wasn't the case here--the kitchen was well-stocked and well arranged so cooking was quite easy. The view from the cottages is simply magnificent and they are very close to Cavendish and PEI National Park.
Part of what made our stay so enjoyable was the friendliness of the owner and also the friendliness of the people in the community. We were there at the beginning of the season so there wasn't much traffic on the island, but I would think that later in the summer it would be much less crowded here than in the Cavendish area. There is a playground area, pool, and large grassy area behind the cabins it would be a good place for families traveling with children.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpstateSCRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustico
4.7 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
0.9 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
1.6 mi away
North Rustico Harbour Inn
North Rustico Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in North Rustico
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#2 of 9 in Rustico
72 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cavendish Maples Cottages
Cavendish Maples Cottages
#1 of 21 in Cavendish
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Crest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Crest Cottages

Address: RR 2 Hunter River, Rustico, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Rustico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Rustico
Price Range: $82 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Crest Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Blue Crest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Crest Cottages Rustico, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing