We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brehaut's Take out restaurant - CLOSED

Brehaut's Take out restaurant
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We were late in the afternoon as we ran in to Murray Harbor. In Brehauts we met a friend who was on a summer sailing cruise who had come in expressly for the chowder. We tried it and understood why they had sailed 15 miles off course. The lobster sandwich and cole slaw were equally tasty. This local diner is not haute cuisine , but is highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim155023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service Great Food Not What We Expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been going to this restaurant over the years. I would go out of my way for the fish and chips. They had always had fresh fish and chips. This past summer we went, our mouths were just watering for the fish and chips. Well we found out that there was onion in the batter. And it could not be altered. So one person did order the fish and chips and it turned out to be fish sticks like you would get from the grocery store and the french fries were like frozen ones. What happened to how it used to be. And we were told that they are famous for their fish and chips. I would have to agree but that would be 10 years ago. We were very disappointed. Won't go out of our way to go there again. Too Bad.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBYN999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"like being home!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Brehaut's is a down home, country restaurant with with great home-style cooking and a wonderful staff. Nothing fancy here, but a very pleasant atmosphere and the food is good and plentiful. Seafood Chowder, fish & chips, poutine, hot dogs, hamburgers, etc. All very good. The staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. Brehaut's is an old country house with a porch for just sitting and watching the world go by. All I can add is, you can't go wrong with lunch or dinner from Brehaut's. We'll be back on our next trip to beautiful PEI!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TFS37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good take out lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We had take Out from this restaurant today. They were able to alter dishes to accommodate a vegetarian. There were picnic tables outside so we would bring the dog along as well. Lovely location. All the food we ordered was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesPharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good home-cooked dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lunch was simply a pleasant experience. Nothing fancy on the menu for lunch. We had the fish and chips, both of which were nicely cooked and not greasy. Pleasant service. Fresh-baked rhubarb crumble for dessert was a real topper - delicious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiggerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brehaut's Take out restaurant also viewed

Murray Harbour, Prince Edward Island
Murray Harbour, Prince Edward Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing