We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forest and Stream Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Rodd Brudenell River Resort(Georgetown)(Great Value!)
$130
$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lionstone Inn(Pictou)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$210
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$255
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Winsloe House(Murray Harbour)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
34
7
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
7
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 43 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a lovely place to stay, we will def be coming back next year! Maybe even again this year, at the end of summer. The cottages have eveything you need plus some. The beds are comfortable and there is plenty of room inside the cottage. The screened in porch is a bonus! I loved watching the bluejays and chipmunks at the feeder every day. There was also a lovley river outside the cottage. Singing Sands Beach (Basin Head) when you walk on the sand it makes a noise like no other beach, glass hunting, & going to see the Buffalos is a must! The cottages are very peacful being away from city life and what not. Although Charlottetown is not to far away. Also the cottages are very clean, which is a must for me! There is also lots of room in the back of the cottages to play frisbee. The only thing that I would change is the size of the showers, they are very small and you can hardley bend down if you have to shave your legs.

All and all myself & my Fiance had a wonderful stay and we cant wait to come visit once again. The Island makes you feel so peacful, free, and welcomed :)

Thank you guys for such great hospitality!

PS. The price of this place is great compared to other places that don't even compare. I would def rate this place 5 stars!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlyciaAnneMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Forest and Stream Cottages for the May long-weekend on PEI. Our hosts were so accommodating, Glenn helped us plan our itinerary for the three days, and gave us some great recommendations for both restaurants and things to do. Having a knowledgeable host on this sort of trip makes everything better. The cottage we rented was very reasonably priced, and gave us a cozy place to BBQ and just chill. The star of the show however was the property itself. Walking trails, huge beautifully mowed lawn and as the name suggests, a forest and stream. There is a lake on the property and I took my wife out for a romantic row (BEAUTIFUL). They offer use of the rowboat, canoe or paddle boat free of charge :) The free WiFi was useful in booking our return Ferry tickets, and there's a satellite & TV, though we never even hit the power switch (way to beautiful a setting). One of our favorite moments was when we were visited by a red fox. He cam right up to our picnic site (very friendly).

If we go back to Eastern PEI, there is no question we will stay here again!

Room Tip: There's also a B&B on site, but I thought the cottage was more romantic :)
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed in a cottage (2 kids, 2 adults) for one week. Nicely tucked away among trees, and a nice stream nearby equiped with a row boat, paddle boat and life jackets. The hosts, Glen and Joan were superb! Glen gave us a map of Kings County (East side of the Island) and indicated various spots for the family to visit. We went to almost each spot, and were never dissapointed. By far the best trip we've been on! Fave locale was Greenwich National Park.

Room Tip: If 4 people or less, one bedroom cottage is sufficient!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in a cottage and were very comfortable. It has a very usable kitchen: apt. sized fridge, small four burner stove with oven and microwave plus all the cookware, utensils and tableware you will need. The bathroom is very small, but clean and bright, the bedroom is large with 2 queen beds and there is cable television. There is no a/c but it's not really needed, there are windows on all sides offering plenty of cross breezes. There's also a screened in porch overlooking the stream. The owner, Glenn, is very knowledgable about the area and is happy to make recommendations. Glenn is also an avid birder and can organize birding expeditions and has some fantastic photos he's taken of birds in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spent several days here in the off season. We stayed in the rustic cabins, not the B&B. The cabin we were in (I think they are all similar) seems to be a vintage shack that has been nicely upgraded; the floor, bathroom, and kitchen seemed relatively new. It is nestled among trees, has a screened in porch, small but clean and renovated bathroom with lots of hot water, a 1-room combined kitchen / living room / dining room with table and couch, and a separate sleeping room with 2 double beds. The cabin was comfortable and nicely appointed, but it IS a cabin, so if you are expecting luxury, stay in the B&B. We did not see the B&B rooms but we went into the house and it was clean, and of course, very nice. The cabin is rustic but you still get satellite TV, hot water, and wireless internet. I felt guilty doing some work from the cabin via internet. The only real complaint I can come up with about the cabin is that the TV is on top of the fridge, so you have to look up into the corner to watch TV. I am not sure where else they could put the TV, and splurging for a flat screen to bolt to the wall seems excessive in the low-rate cabin. The cabin was perfect for 2 but might feel a bit cramped with 4 or more. It rained while we were there and we did lots of beach walking and there were many mosquitoes so we really appreciated the screened-in porch as a place to change shoes and dump our gear. The view from the porch is of a lawn, trees, and the lake/pond. The cabins are all side by side, separated by a few trees, so I imagine that if the place were fully booked then you might hear more noise from the other guests, but we were alone so it was like our own private cottage. Some have complained about the mosquitoes but if you stay in the woods near a lake in the shade, what do you expect? We covered up and enjoyed paddling the canoe up and down the little lake with its crystal clear reflections and views of the forest. It is small so this is not an expedition but a 30-45 minute run-about. They provide life jackets, which is a nice feature. The owners of the B&B were very helpful in suggesting things to do and providing maps, and were always around to meet our needs. We saw a fox and other wildlife during our stay, and spent some time walking the nature trails (I call them that b/c they are not really hiking in the climbing sense, but strolling through a mowed path through the forest and open meadows). It was very pleasant but bring bug spray if you are there in mosquito season. When we were there it rained all week and had been raining a lot before we arrived and was cool so the bugs were out. We still enjoyed it immensely. This place is a bit off the beaten path but PEI is so small that you are still just a short scenic drive from many key sites/ beaches / views. I can imagine that during the busy season this place feels like a refuge from the crowds. If you need anything there is a small town just down the road, and a bit further up the road there are more towns with grocery stores, etc.

Room Tip: The cabin is a good way to save money b/c you can make your own meals.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yolci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews