We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a great place to stay! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest and Stream Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest and Stream Cottages
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a lovely place to stay, we will def be coming back next year! Maybe even again this year, at the end of summer. The cottages have eveything you need plus some. The beds are comfortable and there is plenty of room inside the cottage. The screened in porch is a bonus! I loved watching the bluejays and chipmunks at the feeder every day. There was also a lovley river outside the cottage. Singing Sands Beach (Basin Head) when you walk on the sand it makes a noise like no other beach, glass hunting, & going to see the Buffalos is a must! The cottages are very peacful being away from city life and what not. Although Charlottetown is not to far away. Also the cottages are very clean, which is a must for me! There is also lots of room in the back of the cottages to play frisbee. The only thing that I would change is the size of the showers, they are very small and you can hardley bend down if you have to shave your legs.

All and all myself & my Fiance had a wonderful stay and we cant wait to come visit once again. The Island makes you feel so peacful, free, and welcomed :)

Thank you guys for such great hospitality!

PS. The price of this place is great compared to other places that don't even compare. I would def rate this place 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyciaAnneMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Forest and Stream Cottages for the May long-weekend on PEI. Our hosts were so accommodating, Glenn helped us plan our itinerary for the three days, and gave us some great recommendations for both restaurants and things to do. Having a knowledgeable host on this sort of trip makes everything better. The cottage we rented was very reasonably priced, and gave us a cozy place to BBQ and just chill. The star of the show however was the property itself. Walking trails, huge beautifully mowed lawn and as the name suggests, a forest and stream. There is a lake on the property and I took my wife out for a romantic row (BEAUTIFUL). They offer use of the rowboat, canoe or paddle boat free of charge :) The free WiFi was useful in booking our return Ferry tickets, and there's a satellite & TV, though we never even hit the power switch (way to beautiful a setting). One of our favorite moments was when we were visited by a red fox. He cam right up to our picnic site (very friendly).

If we go back to Eastern PEI, there is no question we will stay here again!

Room Tip: There's also a B&B on site, but I thought the cottage was more romantic :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed in a cottage (2 kids, 2 adults) for one week. Nicely tucked away among trees, and a nice stream nearby equiped with a row boat, paddle boat and life jackets. The hosts, Glen and Joan were superb! Glen gave us a map of Kings County (East side of the Island) and indicated various spots for the family to visit. We went to almost each spot, and were never dissapointed. By far the best trip we've been on! Fave locale was Greenwich National Park.

Room Tip: If 4 people or less, one bedroom cottage is sufficient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in a cottage and were very comfortable. It has a very usable kitchen: apt. sized fridge, small four burner stove with oven and microwave plus all the cookware, utensils and tableware you will need. The bathroom is very small, but clean and bright, the bedroom is large with 2 queen beds and there is cable television. There is no a/c but it's not really needed, there are windows on all sides offering plenty of cross breezes. There's also a screened in porch overlooking the stream. The owner, Glenn, is very knowledgable about the area and is happy to make recommendations. Glenn is also an avid birder and can organize birding expeditions and has some fantastic photos he's taken of birds in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbccfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spent several days here in the off season. We stayed in the rustic cabins, not the B&B. The cabin we were in (I think they are all similar) seems to be a vintage shack that has been nicely upgraded; the floor, bathroom, and kitchen seemed relatively new. It is nestled among trees, has a screened in porch, small but clean and renovated bathroom with lots of hot water, a 1-room combined kitchen / living room / dining room with table and couch, and a separate sleeping room with 2 double beds. The cabin was comfortable and nicely appointed, but it IS a cabin, so if you are expecting luxury, stay in the B&B. We did not see the B&B rooms but we went into the house and it was clean, and of course, very nice. The cabin is rustic but you still get satellite TV, hot water, and wireless internet. I felt guilty doing some work from the cabin via internet. The only real complaint I can come up with about the cabin is that the TV is on top of the fridge, so you have to look up into the corner to watch TV. I am not sure where else they could put the TV, and splurging for a flat screen to bolt to the wall seems excessive in the low-rate cabin. The cabin was perfect for 2 but might feel a bit cramped with 4 or more. It rained while we were there and we did lots of beach walking and there were many mosquitoes so we really appreciated the screened-in porch as a place to change shoes and dump our gear. The view from the porch is of a lawn, trees, and the lake/pond. The cabins are all side by side, separated by a few trees, so I imagine that if the place were fully booked then you might hear more noise from the other guests, but we were alone so it was like our own private cottage. Some have complained about the mosquitoes but if you stay in the woods near a lake in the shade, what do you expect? We covered up and enjoyed paddling the canoe up and down the little lake with its crystal clear reflections and views of the forest. It is small so this is not an expedition but a 30-45 minute run-about. They provide life jackets, which is a nice feature. The owners of the B&B were very helpful in suggesting things to do and providing maps, and were always around to meet our needs. We saw a fox and other wildlife during our stay, and spent some time walking the nature trails (I call them that b/c they are not really hiking in the climbing sense, but strolling through a mowed path through the forest and open meadows). It was very pleasant but bring bug spray if you are there in mosquito season. When we were there it rained all week and had been raining a lot before we arrived and was cool so the bugs were out. We still enjoyed it immensely. This place is a bit off the beaten path but PEI is so small that you are still just a short scenic drive from many key sites/ beaches / views. I can imagine that during the busy season this place feels like a refuge from the crowds. If you need anything there is a small town just down the road, and a bit further up the road there are more towns with grocery stores, etc.

Room Tip: The cabin is a good way to save money b/c you can make your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yolci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I just spent 3 days at Forest and Stream Cottages.. we were seeking a quiet friendly peaceful spot yet close to golfing and beaches and sightseeing...that is what we experienced here...I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a country environment without the noises and stresses of our hectic busy lives..We were sooooo close to everything yet in the midst of the quiet wilderness...so tranquil...We will be putting this on of top 10 list.
Chris & Bob

Room Tip: soooo clean....with EVERTHING from the hook on the bathroom door to hang you pjs to the TV with all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEACE36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

The location of Forest and Stream is excellent for touring the eastern shore of PEI. Glenn did all he could to tailor his recommendations of the island for our interests. He was always there when we had questions yet never intruded on our privacy. He even helped us solve a computer problem.
The Kozy Cottage was just that, a bit small for a stay longer than a couple of days. The porch was not really appealing to use and the closeness of the 5 cabins didn't afford much outside privacy although there was a row of conifers between each cabin. However, the beds were very comfortable, the kitchen was adequate for cooking and the woodland trails that led to the Confederation Trail was a big plus. Although we didn't take advantage of the lake and the use of the boats, I could see that it would be a good feature for some.
We had no problem with insects, the weather for the week was about ideal with only one day of real rain, and the people of PEI were the nicest and friendliest we've run across.
The produce from the local farm stands was excellent, as was the real food at the restaurant in Murray Harbour. If you are looking for lots of touristy glitz, then this part of PEI is not for you. Come for the people and nature and you won't be disappointed.
I'd stay at Forest and Stream again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melonhead555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray Harbour
14.0 mi away
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
12.4 mi away
Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
0.0 mi away
Country Charm Bed & Breakfast
Country Charm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Murray Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Inn at Spry Point
The Inn at Spry Point
#1 of 1 in Annandale-Little Pond-Howe Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
12.5 mi away
Georgetown Historic Inn
Georgetown Historic Inn
#1 of 1 in Georgetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Inn at Bay Fortune
The Inn at Bay Fortune
#1 of 1 in Bay Fortune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest and Stream Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest and Stream Cottages

Property: Forest and Stream Cottages
Address: 446 Fox River Rd, Murray Harbour, Prince Edward Island C0A 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Murray Harbour
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Murray Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest and Stream Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to provide our guests with a surrounding that offers relaxation, closeness to nature, comforts of home with an abundance of activities either on-site or very close by. Our six, one and two bedroom cottages have a secluded, quiet and attractive setting snuggled amongst the pines and birch trees just off our private lake. Explore PEI's many beautiful beaches, lighthouses, or spend time on our trails or fishing from one of our boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Forest and Stream Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest And Stream Cottages Murray Harbour, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing